We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Suprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Spring Arbor
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Suprised”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Let me start out by saying that for a two star Motel I was pleasantly surprised.
I have never been to a Motel or many big name Hotels that offers soft water. That makes a big difference when taking a shower. The other thing that sets this motel apart from the pack is that it offers 16 hours (6am to 10pm) a very wide variety of food and snacks to eat for absolutely no charge. Granted that this is not a restaurant and the food is not spectacular by any means, except for maybe the soups, but you can't go wrong with free. I did see some things that might make a health inspector cringe, but it may be because the staff is not properly trained.
One strange fact: the flat screen TV in the room is a Vizio and for some reason the motel has placed a "Samsung" name plate over the Visio logo.
Another strange fact: The motel offers free hair cuts! Yeah you read right. I don't know anyone that would be wiling to get one at a motel, but they will give you one if you want. Strange but true.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Resseguie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    232
    102
    28
    40
See reviews for
221
283
40
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Inkster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We have been going to this motel for almost 15 years and have never been treated so rudely.
Rooms were clean and adequate (except for the bathroom) really should have a safety bar by the toilet. We expected a happy get away because of the three of us - one has cancer, one has cronic kidney desease and the third was a disabled vet. Night crew was excellent, but the girls working the desk during the day were ill informed and not at all helpful. Too bad - we will have to stay else where in our trips to Petoskey due to the rudeness of these "two snippy clerks"

Room Tip: lower rooms are larger and have a better view of the bay -
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichiganderMan, Front Office Manager at @ Michigan Inn & Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
I called and spoke to you the day you arrived because my employees informed me you were berating them with unreasonable demands and personal insults. You said because of health issues you wanted a room on the ground floor. We can't guarantee ground floor rooms or early check-in but we do our best to accommodate our guests. Even though you were extremely rude to our employees they did their best to get a ground floor room two hours before our standard 3:00 pm check-in. You refused the ground floor room that was prepared for you because you specifically wanted room number 308. After speaking to you and the front desk room 308 became available and it was still a little before 3:00 pm. I than watched you on camera harass our front desk clerks even after getting the one room out of 132 you wanted. I came very close to refusing you service and maybe I should have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was a very economical choice in the middle of the summer busy season. The exterior was well maintained. Our room - 1 king bed - was also clean and appeared to be freshly painted etc. The carpet and the chairs were a little older but not too bad. We had a very large flat screen tv with a good selection of chanels which was nice. The best thing was the bed had about 8 great pillows and very fresh, soft sheets; nothing scratchy or really bleached feeling. There was food in the cafe but that was in another building so we didn't make use of it. It was all self serve food, frozen meals, salads, typical breakfast foods, all free all day. We left the hotel in the morning and didn't return until late so didn't have a need for it but I could see how for some it was a nice perk! We used the wifi and didn't have any issues. If you are looking for value, this is it.

Room Tip: The Bayside rooms offer a view of the lake, a bit distant but you can still see it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Okay, so I've reviewed this hotel before and couldn't resist reviewing it again. Let me say that since the ownership has changed the quality has remained the same. We were very pleased with our stay and the updated were well noted. There were new televisions in the guest rooms and the customer service was good as always. The one expection was that the wifi service was the pitts, as always. We told the clerk at the desk and she said that the management was aware and that they were trying to see what could be done about it.

Room Tip: Choose are room in the second building with a bay view. There was more road noise than before, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationQueen96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I was skeptical of the place when my wife booked it and even when we arrived. But she got a good deal on it and I realized that we actually got a darned good deal. The room wasn't fancy but it was clean and decent. The bed was comfortable. And the biggest surprise was that the food I had in their free cafe was pretty darned good. And as my wife pointed out to me, when you combine the rate we paid and what we would have spent out at restaurants, it was a very good deal for the money. If you want fancy and romantic, go elsewhere... although the view towards the lake is nice. But if you plan on eating there, it's a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Poorly rehabed Days Inn. Carpets were nasty! Didnt take flip flops off the entire time. Light on nite stand didnt work (blown outlet) light over vanity was like a strobe and not what you need/want at 7am. Sadly, there was nothing good but the covered parking.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Noodle3113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here for a night and enjoyed it. Free food is offered in the office from 6AM to 10PM and is basic frozen heat it yourself type of food but is a nice touch and great for snacking. They also offer 99 cent movie rentals as well as free popcorn and cookies. Wifi is available - not the greatest but adequate. The bed was very comfortable. The view from the property is very pretty. Mini fridge and microwave are included in each room. Staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
0.7 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
1.6 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Odawa Hotel
Odawa Hotel
#10 of 15 in Petoskey
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to @ Michigan Inn & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about @ Michigan Inn & Lodge

Property: @ Michigan Inn & Lodge
Address: 1420 S US Highway 131, (Spring St.), Petoskey, MI 49770-8731 (Formerly Days Inn Petoskey)
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Petoskey
#5 Business Hotel in Petoskey
#7 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — @ Michigan Inn & Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the "World’s First Free Cyber Cafe." All you can eat” cafeteria style food from 6 am in the morning till 10 pm at night! Our new hair salon offers free haircuts to all of our registered guests. "Your restaurant and salon savings could pay for your stay!" We now the only hotel in the world with adjustable massaging beds in every room. Our Reverie adjustable massaging beds are arguably the finest beds made in the world! Enjoy parking near your room with our 72 free "first come first serve" carport parking spots. The carports are also great for motorcycles & small trailers. All 132 rooms include: Large wall-mounted TVs with over 60 HDTV cable channels and a WIFI enabled Blu-ray Player, Refrigerator, Microwave, Free Safe, Coffee/Tea Machine, Hairdryer, Iron/Board, and Clock Radios. Our WIFI enabled Sony Blu-ray players turn our large wall mounted LCD TVs into smart TVs. We have two vending rooms with Pop, Ice, and Guest Laundry Machines. Our vending prices are low and we allow you to fill a cooler with free ice. Our WIFI service is throughout the property and is free. We have two large HP Laptops in our lobby which you may use at no additional charge. If you find you have some free time we also offer 99 cent new release movies with all the popcorn and cookies you can eat! Still looking for more to do? Try our new free championship horseshoe pits. "Come hungry and with long hair, that's what we recommend!" Our hotel is at the top of the Spring Street hill with a beautiful view of the bay. Get a Free Bay View Split King upgrade based on availability at arrival. We are centrally located near the casino, restaurants, shopping, parks, the hospital, the Gaslight District, ski resorts, and the Petoskey theater is across the street. Also for your convenience we offer Odawa Shuttle Service to the Odawa Casino. Centrally located, Free Meals, Free Haircuts, Adjustable Massaging Beds, and great discounts, that's why we feel we are the best value in Petoskey and one of the most unique hotels in the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your @ Michigan Inn & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Petoskey Hotel Petoskey
Petoskey Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing