We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“splendid time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Lisle, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“splendid time”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Pleasant front desk staff. Nice touch that i havent seen at any motel/hotel, is FREE food from 6 AM- 10PM and not just snack foods, food just has to be eaten there. You and the family can get a nice full free meal any time of day!
Rooms are a bit small, had 3 adults in a 2 full-bed room and felt if any more, would have been cramped.
Nice small mini-fridge & microwave, plus newer LCD TV which was nice.
Visited the area for Boyne mtn for Friday & Saturday ski days, about a 20 minute car ride (without snow storm).
Definitely a cost effective place to stay for a nice Northern Michigan ski weekend!

Room Tip: first floor rooms are right in front of parking lot/cars, we were on the 2nd floor, so have to use t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    237
    103
    30
    42
See reviews for
227
289
41
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

You can't beat the value of the Days Inn Petoskey with its Cyber Cafe: free food 6 am to 10 pm, continuously. You can get all the calories you need through their wide selection of hot and cold food, assuming you can bring yourself to eat it in the Cafe (no takeouts!) The food was good and plentiful, and you wonder how local competitors can charge >$15/night MORE and not offer chow. The room was clean, the HVAC worked well, and the staff very helpful.
1 night stay Jan 27, 2012

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Nice clean room, very close to the Boyne skiing areas. Nothing fancy, but it definitely met our needs. The room had a small refrigerator and microwave and we even managed to set up a game of Monopoly on the (small) table. The fan on the heater was quite noisy, though. The hotel offers free breakfast, lunch, and dinner - cereal, waffles, hardboiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, hot dogs, soups, cheese, various pastries... it's actually quite a nice variety, but EVERYTHING is packaged in plastic and/or styrofoam. We ate one breakfast there and saw enough garbage generated to make quite the dent in a landfill. I realize this won't be much of an issue for many people, but it bothered us enough that we didn't eat there again. It's such a great service, it seems like it wouldn't take much to make it even a tiny bit more environmentally friendly. Which would make this hotel a really great value in my opinion.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

i had an impromptu 2 night stay at the days inn while my uncle was in the hospital there. the hotel not only discounted the room due to the circumstances of our stay (hospital patient) but they had a cafe with all food free of charge and open 6a-10p. i did have to change rooms since the first one i was given smelled of smoke (the rooms all state they are "smoke free" but also note that smoking will be permitted for an additional fee???) but the second was satisfactory. that's the only reason they didn't get an "excellent" rating from me.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Conveniently located on the way to skiing at Boyne Highlands. Price was about right for the value- similarly priced for other hotels in the area. Rooms were clean- albeit a bit small- but with only two of us it was manageable. The cyber cafe is a nice addition- although for a one night stay we didn't get a chance to use it very much since we got back late from night skiing.
Another plus- is that they sold discounted lift tickets for Boyne right on site- saving some time and money. I also would have liked a bit larger fitness center- as this location only has a small weight machine; treadmill; and recumbent stationary bike.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hankmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, Mi
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I hadn't read their website first, so I was surprised upon arriving to learn they offer meals not only for breakfast, but from 6am - 10pm! You can choose between several soups, cottage cheese, fruits, vegetables, yogurts, puddings, frozen pizzas, the list is quite long. This is a wonderful addition to the Days Inn - it can save customers a lot of money! Our room including the bathroom was very clean, although I swear the showerhead was built for someone only 5' tall - it could definitely be higher! The walls and floors were quite thin - you could hear people talking in the room next door, and feel people walking on the floors. Nice place to stay, but I guess a lot depends on what you've paid for your room. I've read recent reviews where people paid $135 a night, I didn't pay that much but I'm sure a lot depends on the room size, how many people in the room, the night of the week, etc. We paid $85 plus tax booking 24 hrs in advance - 2 people with two double beds. Not an ideal bed size for a couple, but then again, I only paid $85... I'll stay again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
By the lake in Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We just needed a place to crash overnight on our way to Mackinac Island and we picked this from prior reviews. We wanted the Apple Tree Inn, but their prices were too high just to stay a quick overnight, so we tried Days Inn. We were not disappointed. It was clean, comfortable, easy check in and check out. The desk people were friendly, they offer ALL kinds of food in their cafeteria, all free - dinners, snacks, breakfast, you name it. There was a huge crowd there - must have been a high school tourney or something in the area so the cafeteria was crowded. It's an older hotel you can tell they have tried to update - it's not anything fancy, but clean and very comfortable, very conveniently located and easy to find.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antiquelover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
0.7 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#4 of 15 in Petoskey
451 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
683 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#13 of 15 in Petoskey
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to @ Michigan Inn & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about @ Michigan Inn & Lodge

Property: @ Michigan Inn & Lodge
Address: 1420 S US Highway 131, (Spring St.), Petoskey, MI 49770-8731 (Formerly Days Inn Petoskey)
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Petoskey
#5 Business Hotel in Petoskey
#7 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — @ Michigan Inn & Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the "World’s First Free Cyber Cafe." All you can eat” cafeteria style food from 6 am in the morning till 10 pm at night! Our new hair salon offers free haircuts to all of our registered guests. "Your restaurant and salon savings could pay for your stay!" We now the only hotel in the world with adjustable massaging beds in every room. Our Reverie adjustable massaging beds are arguably the finest beds made in the world! Enjoy parking near your room with our 72 free "first come first serve" carport parking spots. The carports are also great for motorcycles & small trailers. All 132 rooms include: Large wall-mounted TVs with over 60 HDTV cable channels and a WIFI enabled Blu-ray Player, Refrigerator, Microwave, Free Safe, Coffee/Tea Machine, Hairdryer, Iron/Board, and Clock Radios. Our WIFI enabled Sony Blu-ray players turn our large wall mounted LCD TVs into smart TVs. We have two vending rooms with Pop, Ice, and Guest Laundry Machines. Our vending prices are low and we allow you to fill a cooler with free ice. Our WIFI service is throughout the property and is free. We have two large HP Laptops in our lobby which you may use at no additional charge. If you find you have some free time we also offer 99 cent new release movies with all the popcorn and cookies you can eat! Still looking for more to do? Try our new free championship horseshoe pits. "Come hungry and with long hair, that's what we recommend!" Our hotel is at the top of the Spring Street hill with a beautiful view of the bay. Get a Free Bay View Split King upgrade based on availability at arrival. We are centrally located near the casino, restaurants, shopping, parks, the hospital, the Gaslight District, ski resorts, and the Petoskey theater is across the street. Also for your convenience we offer Odawa Shuttle Service to the Odawa Casino. Centrally located, Free Meals, Free Haircuts, Adjustable Massaging Beds, and great discounts, that's why we feel we are the best value in Petoskey and one of the most unique hotels in the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your @ Michigan Inn & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Petoskey Hotel Petoskey
Petoskey Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing