We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid value, good location, clean, noisy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2011

First the good... This hotel has very friendly staff, was extremely clean, has free parking and a nice view of the bay from certain rooms. The free breakfast/lunch/dinner "cafeteria" was a nice addition. We only used it for breakfast, but I can see how it would be a real money saver for a family. I really like the fresh "make your own" waffles.

The hotel is close to the casino and a short drive to the beach or downtown Petoskey.

Upon check-in, we asked for the advertised "free upgrade" to a King room - however none were available in the right category. However, for only $10 additional per night they upgraded us to a "premium king". When I asked what made it premium, the response was "newer room, better linens, desk & chair, bigger TV, bay view." Fine - we took it and indeed it was a decent room with a view of the bay. Worth the money.

The bad - the walls are thin and you can hear every door slam both in the hotel and in the adjacent parking lot. Also, in our room near the stairs, we could hear each and every footstep on the stairs as they reverberated throughout the building. Weird - I've never experienced anything quite like it -- and very annoying. Since there' s no elevator to the second floor (only a two story hotel) everyone took the stairs and made the noise.

Overall, this hotel is a good value in a great vacation town and fine if you're on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for the Premium King with the Bay View - 2nd floor on the "lower" building is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S4Snowflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

713 - 719 of 756 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

We were on a motorcycle trip around Lake Michigan and arrived in Petoskey just before sundown. Not wanting to travel after dark we looked for a clean inexpensive hotel for the night. The Days Inn fit the bill. We asked for a king room and being on a motorcycle we received a 20% sportsman discount and an upgrade to the preferred king room. The room was large, clean, quiet and comfortable. In addition, this hotel has a serve yourself cafe that is included with your stay that is open 6:00am to 10:00pm that provides a large variety of foods that are hot, cold and microwaveable. If you're looking for a 5 star hotel and restaurant, this probably in not for you, but if you want an overnight stay that is a great value with clean rooms and meals at a modest price, you'ld be wrong in passing this place up.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trocket3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

It’s tough to find a good deal in Petoskey. This might be one to remember. They were offering free upgrades to bay view rooms, when available (none available when I was there) but the bay is pretty far away so the view can’t be that great.

There was a slight musty smell in my room, probably due to the leaky toilet. But the rest of the accommodations were okay plus. Fridge and microwave in room. Wi-fi was somewhat slow, but at least it stayed up. I got a really good deal with a RoomSaver coupon.

They have free food from 6am to 10pm. Lots of variety, from hotdogs, frozen pizza, and generic Hot Pockets, to microwavable scrambled eggs, French toast, muffins, potato salad, etc. Several pots of soup, chili, and stew. The beef stew and broccoli cheese soup were actually pretty good. The rest was only so-so, but tastes a lot better when you remember it’s free.

If you’re on a budget, this is the place to stay. Find a good rate and save money on food, although you’ll be missing some of what the town has to offer hungry tourists. Next time I’m in Petoskey I may stay here for the good rate, but not just for the food.

Room Tip: Ask for a complimentary upgrade to a bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BJDealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We made a reservation here in early July over the holiday wkend. We found the hotel staff to be helpful. Check in was a breeze and they were able to check us in early! YEAH! The room was spacious, clean and had a large flat screen tv. Free breakfast is included with your stay, its nothing special and finding a seat in the smaller dining room is a bit challenging (be prepared you may have to stand). The beds were average for a hotel. Over all it was just what we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NurseJen97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This place is the worst! After a 4-hour flight, 4-hour drive, and a heavy lunch, a Days Inn employee (in a wrinkled uniform) told me that we would be charged $9 for a one hour early check in! So much for small town hospitality! We're definitely not going broke with $9, but it's just sooo annoying to be charged just because they know all travelers coming to Petoskey have been traveling. We have stayed at 4 and 5 -star hotels all over the country and have never been charged for an early check in. You definitely get what you pay for! Also - paper thin walls allow you to hear trashy 6 am conversations right outside your door. Don't let the pretty yellow flowers fool you.....keep on driving.....

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank PierceFunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichiganderMan, Manager at @ Michigan Inn & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2011

I'm sorry you were offended by our $9.00 early check in fee. We are the only hotel in the world with a free all you can eat cafeteria from 6 am till 10 pm. Many of our guests come hungry and check in early to take advantage of our cafeteria. We do not charge an early check in fee if you're checking in less than one hour early. We have concrete walls and concrete ceiling but you can hear people standing in front of your room. You should always contact the front desk if other guests are causing you any discomfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My family and me were pleased staying there during 4th of July holidays. Free meal is very handy when you come with kids. They like big flat TVs also. Staff are friendly. Rooms are clean. Each has a fridge, a microwave and a safe - it is nice when you stay for a few days. I would advice to check this place out. They have a small Petoskey Stone shop at the office if you want to bring someone a present.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherbakov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We were extremely pleased with our stay. The all-day free cafe made the value unbeatable! We had a lovely view of the bay. Rooms were clean and up to date. The staff was great too. We will seriously stay here anytime we are in the area and will recommend it to our family and friends.

Room Tip: We paik $53 plus taxes ($63 total) thru Pricelind
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisdiehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
0.7 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#5 of 15 in Petoskey
465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
AmericInn Petoskey
AmericInn Petoskey
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
688 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
823 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to @ Michigan Inn & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about @ Michigan Inn & Lodge

Address: 1420 S US Highway 131, (Spring St.), Petoskey, MI 49770-8731 (Formerly Days Inn Petoskey)
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Petoskey
#5 Family Hotel in Petoskey
#7 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range: $68 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — @ Michigan Inn & Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the "World’s First Free Cyber Cafe." All you can eat” cafeteria style food from 6 am in the morning till 10 pm at night! Our new hair salon offers free haircuts to all of our registered guests. "Your restaurant and salon savings could pay for your stay!" We now the only hotel in the world with adjustable massaging beds in every room. Our Reverie adjustable massaging beds are arguably the finest beds made in the world! Enjoy parking near your room with our 72 free "first come first serve" carport parking spots. The carports are also great for motorcycles & small trailers. All 132 rooms include: Large wall-mounted TVs with over 60 HDTV cable channels and a WIFI enabled Blu-ray Player, Refrigerator, Microwave, Free Safe, Coffee/Tea Machine, Hairdryer, Iron/Board, and Clock Radios. Our WIFI enabled Sony Blu-ray players turn our large wall mounted LCD TVs into smart TVs. We have two vending rooms with Pop, Ice, and Guest Laundry Machines. Our vending prices are low and we allow you to fill a cooler with free ice. Our WIFI service is throughout the property and is free. We have two large HP Laptops in our lobby which you may use at no additional charge. If you find you have some free time we also offer 99 cent new release movies with all the popcorn and cookies you can eat! Still looking for more to do? Try our new free championship horseshoe pits. "Come hungry and with long hair, that's what we recommend!" Our hotel is at the top of the Spring Street hill with a beautiful view of the bay. Get a Free Bay View Split King upgrade based on availability at arrival. We are centrally located near the casino, restaurants, shopping, parks, the hospital, the Gaslight District, ski resorts, and the Petoskey theater is across the street. Also for your convenience we offer Odawa Shuttle Service to the Odawa Casino. Centrally located, Free Meals, Free Haircuts, Adjustable Massaging Beds, and great discounts, that's why we feel we are the best value in Petoskey and one of the most unique hotels in the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your @ Michigan Inn & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Petoskey Hotel Petoskey
Petoskey Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing