We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place was packed”

The Side Door Saloon
Ranked #13 of 101 Restaurants in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Pub, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We provide great service, food and beverages delivering a quality experience comfortable for families, friends and sports fans in a friendly environment.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
166 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The place was packed”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I am sure there has to be something wonderful to eat there as the place was packed...What we had was just average..i had chicken fettuccine which was ok but did not even come with bread and just an average portion...others in my group had cauliflower soup which the loved..My husband was pleased his burger was fresh ground not frozen patty and my Aunt's chicken salad was less than average to her..I would try it again if i were up north.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marianng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    74
    27
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dexter, Michigan
Level Contributor
383 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good food, good value for comfort food.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very comfortable setting for comfort food, two of our party had the fresh white fish which they really enjoyed. The third swears by their burgers, My Greek chicken wrap was good but not outstanding. Prices are reasonable

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Where the Locals Go”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Always a good meal from the salads to the entrees. Its best described as a local hangout. The staff is always friendly and prices are reasonable. Get there early.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, excellent food & service and entertaining for the children!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

By the looks of this place you wouldn't expect much, but it was really great all-around. There are lots of games to entertain the children while you wait for your food. We visited at 5:30pm on a Saturday and there was no wait. The menu is a catch-all with everything from sandwiches to pasta to prime rib. The atmosphere is that of a Saloon and decorated very interestingly. I had the raspberry chutney chicken wrap and it was one of the best wraps I've ever had! Unique and flavorful. My husband had the meatloaf sandwich and raved about it. We also had the dessert brownie and it disappeared very fast, to say the least. Our server was excellent despite having 3 large tables and a 2-top. She never missed a beat. We will definitely come again on our next visit to Petoskey.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meghan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
98 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great olive burgers”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is our go to meeting spot. Good selection of craft beers and the best olive burgers.Also love the smoked whitefish quesadilla.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Side Door Saloon also viewed

Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 

Been to The Side Door Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing