We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“acceptable but not as good as I had hoped”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The room was very clean and comfortable, and the location of the hotel is good (close to downtown). However, the pool area was not pleasant - the water in the pool was cloudy, the sauna smelled strongly of body odor, and the hot tub looked dirty. :( I was really looking forward to relaxing in the pool area, so this was a disappointment. Also: do not pay more for the room with the "spa-jet bathtub." The tub is just a standard (i.e., small) tub, and the jets were sooooooo loud and "clanky-sounding" that I didn't want to use them before bed for fear of disturbing my neighbors. The continental breakfast was also disappointing: very "white-carb" heavy (no whole-wheat bread or bagels, no "healthy" cereals), although at least they had boiled eggs and apples.

I paid almost $150 for one night and frankly I expected better - although I suppose you can't expect a lot for that price on a weekend night in the summer in Petoskey.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank triplover01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 93 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here July 7-10 the rooms were very well kept staff was very attentive ,the walkway needs some attention but am of the understanding that this is to be redone. .Nice pool area typical continental breakfast of the basic needs just wish they had bananas glad there was a grocery store across the street. It is very good location not far from anything. For the price and convenience this was a very pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natrull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel is not well kept; it needs paint, cleaned sidewalk and general repairs. Our room was clean but very outdated. The best thing about our room was the Jacuzzi; it was huge and we enjoyed it.

Breakfast is included and is average as well; nothing special. The staff was adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hrpamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Clean, spacious roomms wiyh amenities such as an iron and ironing board, hair dryer, microwave and fridge .Excellent continental breakfast . Outdoor patio. Attentive ,helpful staff. Shuttle provided to the Owego Casino.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slpma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a fairly nice hotel in a great location near the center of town and within walking distance of restaurants and shopping areas. The outside of the hotel was unimpressive, but the rooms were updated, clean and pleasant. Linens were bright and crisp and the pillows were a good quality. There was a small fridge and a microwave in the room. The indoor pool was a good size and the hot tub was a nice treat, but since all the rooms exited to the great outdoors, we had to wear our coats to get to it. Breakfast was the usual extended continental fare but the seating area was very small unless you wanted to go outside onto the deck. Got a AAA discount online which made it a little cheaper than some of the bigger chains nearby. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theoccasionaltourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great hotel with a great location. Very clean room with a nice refrig and microwave. The pool was very nice...9 feet deep...the hottub and sauna were very relaxing. The breakfast nook was very good with waffles, donuts, bagels, pastries, cereal, oatmeal, eggs, yogurt and fresh fruit. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Check in took seconds. They also had a deck with a big grill and we grilled on Memorial Day...grocery store was right across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Persophonepb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The "Charlie Brown" of Inns. The "posts" need painting or re-siding. The cement work is rusty and cracked. However, the inside is most sincere. The rooms are very clean and bright. The mattress is firm and the pillows are "plump". Good basic cable w. HBO. Many amenities: Nice furniture, newer refrig. and microwave, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, in-room coffee maker (looks unused). Even an in-room safe! A full pool and spa. A decent (not great) free continental breakfast. Free coffee and free computer w. Internet and printer in the lobby. Friendly desk staff (manned until late evening). Still, somewhat dated, as the entrance to the pool is in a separate building and motel-like access to the rooms. Drawbacks: no elevator for handicapped access and the bathtubs are too small (even for short people). Since most people are not 6'4" the rooms do not seem "low" and the ceilings are not "low" at all. It looks pretty-good for a 40 year old property. Too bad the outside doesn't look as good as the inside. A very good value, often $20-$30 less than the "chains" in town. AAA and AARP discount. Formerly the "Best Western of Petoskey." Great location near grocery stores and restaurants. Only a mile or so from the Casino.

Room Tip: Turn up the heat! It's baseboard hot-water radiators so at first it takes a bit of time to get u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_48128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
0.4 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
758 reviews
1.1 mi away
AmericInn Petoskey
AmericInn Petoskey
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
690 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#5 of 15 in Petoskey
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1300 Spring St, Petoskey, MI 49770-8786
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Price Range: $59 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Petoskey. Less than 2 miles from Odawa Casino. 81 rooms. Free continental breakfast, wireless internet, local calls. All rooms equipped with coffee makers, iron & board, and hairdryers. Microfridge available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn Of Petoskey Hotel Petoskey
Best Western Petoskey
Petoskey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing