We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Julienne Tomatoes

Julienne Tomatoes
Ranked #1 of 102 Restaurants in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Can't go wrong! Organic and healthy fare that is made with farm fresh and local farms.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank PLT72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    66
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
313 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Local and HomeMade!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Julienne Tomatoes is for Tom and Julie. When Julie suffered an injury, the restaurant never missed a beat. There is often a line but it moves fast. At peak lunch time a table may be difficult to get. One of your party should grab one and let the other do the ordering. No waiters- you order at the counter. The soups, salads and sandwiches are all good and made to order. The items will be brought to your table. It is in an old building with a lot of the original furnishings.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, South Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Prople”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We had a great breakfast on a slow morning. You order at the counter and the deliver you food to your table. Seating is limited but interesting. The staff are friendly and the food is fresh and tasty. A great stop if you are in town.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dtboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, service, and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I absolutely love the overall environment of this restaurant. It has become one of our favorites in the area because it is family-owned and operated and has a family-friendly atmosphere. The decor has a very creative yet country feel to it and it's located in one of the oldest building in the city- which adds history and character. They use products that are local and Michigan made! This makes their food top quality. The pricing is a little bit higher than you'd expect- but the quality of the food is definitely worth it.

One of my favorite things about this place is that it is a "local favorite" and everyone is extremely friendly. The owners walk around talking to everyone and treating me like a local with a very warm greeting.

The bread and bacon are my favorite but the eggs are the only "over-hard" eggs that I like. I'm not sure what brand is used or if they cook it a special/certain way but they are very thick and tasty unlike most eggs I've made or ate at other places-tend to be thin and lack "denseness. I hope that makes sense. I've even considered asking them, so I can purchase them for myself. If I had to guess- it's probably a local farmer.

I've ate during breakfast time, and lunch! If you are new to the city or just visiting- you should definitely make it one of your stops. You have the opportunity to try a local favorite with local produce and product.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenferosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is a great place to eat lunch. Walk into the 100 year old store front with interior to match. Wood floors and tin ceiling. Expect delicious food and friendly owners/staff. Had a sandwich wrap that could have fed both of us, but it was so good, I ate it all!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rmodor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julienne Tomatoes also viewed

Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
 

Been to Julienne Tomatoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing