We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local/fresh food, with extremely friendly owners”
Review of Julienne Tomatoes

Julienne Tomatoes
Ranked #2 of 102 Restaurants in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Northville, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great local/fresh food, with extremely friendly owners”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I had the pleasure of spending 3 separate weekend up in Petoskey as part of a clinical experience and I soon became addicted to JT's. Our group of 6 went here just about every morning for breakfast and a few times for lunch. One of the owners, Tom was extremely friendly, helping to bring food to the table, buss our table, give us free coffee refills and have genuine concern that we found everything delicious. The ambiance is fun, with one wall showcasing authentically original brick work and the tables are all cute miss-matched antiques with equally cute matching antique chairs. The place is on the smaller side, but adds to the feeling that you are a house guest and not just a customer. You can tell it is a local favorite. It was very obviously that the owners take great care and pride in their restaurant and the food they serve. In my opinion, probably one of the best places to dine in town.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank watkin91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    72
    13
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flint, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the typical deli menu.”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

They had a very unique menu...unique in a good way. It was a little pricey, but it is Petoskey. Will go again next time I'm in town.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank up-to-u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We loved this restaurant. Wonderful experience food was excellent.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, good food, but not a great value”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We visited JT early Sat. afternoon, and it was fairly busy. The employees were friendly, and a couple who appeared to be the owners were present and interacting with the customers (one of them bussed tables near us!). The atmosphere was casual and like a coffee house, with some comfy chairs and coffee table, in addition to several sets of tables and chairs; there were barely enough tables to fit the customers (one party of about 8 walked in, saw there was little-to-no room, and walked out). Letters of appreciation and recognition for the restaurant line the walls, including one next to us written by a girl about 8 years old (it was sweet!). We both had the turkey and avocado sandwich; it was tasty, cost $7.50, but was small for the price; adding chips and drink our lunch cost $22.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peterw389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fresh, clean and quaint.”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

This deli epitomizes fresh ingredients, from the bread to the, uhhh, tomatoes! Excellent cucumber salad! The owners are hands-on, too, which usually leads to a good thing. We will be back every time we come to town.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reggaewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julienne Tomatoes also viewed

Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 

Been to Julienne Tomatoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing