We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
80 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Incredible Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

Booked this hotel for a weekend ski trip to Nubs Nob. First of all it is a very good looking 5 story hotel (with balconies on every room). We were given a 3rd floor room on the back side of the hotel and all I can say is that the view is incredible. The room was very clean and roomy with a microwave, fridge, LCD TV and modern furnishings. We were also given a gift bag of snacks for being Priority Club members. After a long day of skiing we did enjoy the hot tub in the pool area. We also tried the sauna, but it wasn't hot enough to get a sweat going so we gave up on it after 10 minutes. The free breakfast has the standard HIX fare, good mix of hot and cold items. The one amenity that puts this hotel over the top is the COMPLIMENTARY stretched limousine that will take you anywhere in town you may want to go. Overall a great hotel for the money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodnwine2522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    105
    32
    19
    13
See reviews for
173
166
19
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

My husband is a Holiday Inn Priority Card holder. We picked this hotel because of that.
Staff at front desk check-in can only be described as indifferent. Very cool welcome. We found that our suite was on the road side. When I called the front desk, staff attitude now escalated to arrogant. I was dealt with rudely. When I mentioned my husband was a Priority card holder I was told, "I don't care what he is."

I paid extra for the valley side of hotel. I liked our suite. Common areas not great. Staff not great. Breakfast - messy. So - probably not again. Too bad we treated coolly - because I enjoyed the view, the fireplace, the suite in general. First person you talk to in a hotel really sets the tone. Hotel management should be very aware of that.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tella66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2010

Rooms are very nice. Plenty of room and well maintained. All rooms have microwave and decent sized refrigerator. Had one lamp that didn't work and the extra blanket had some stains on it (was afraid to think to hard on what it might be from - thought about what a CSI black light might indicate). Stayed on the back side which has a nice valley view (of course you pay extra for this). The front side probably would not be too noisy.

My only real negative is the price. I know you get a decent breakfast included but seems high. Other than that, feel comfortable making a reservation here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyTravelerOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

Stayed here with my family of 5 for 2 nights over President's weekend. The hotel is on a busy road on the outskirts of town, but had great views from our room on the 5th floor. The king mini suite was great - a separate bedroom with a very comfortable king bed with nice bedding and a studio living room area with sofa bed, desk & chair, side chair and kitchenette with full size fridge. The electric fireplace was a nice touch and we loved having real dishes, dishwasher and fridge. We didn't cook at all, but enjoyed the breakfast and used the kitchen to pack lunches for our days at the ski hill. It is about a 10 min drive to either Boyne Highlands or Nubs Nob. We didn't use the pool because it was overrun with people the entire time we were there. I found out when we checked out that the hotel sells passes to the pool and exercise room, so don't plan on having it to yourself. The kids loved taking a ride in the complimentary limo to dinner. The only cons were the cost ($170 is the weekend rate for a suite), pillows were lumpy synthetic and our room only came with 2 bath towels. I had to go down to the front desk for towels each morning. Staff was friendly and the hotel is fresh and clean. I'll be back again for our next ski trip.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsClean76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Lake,IN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

This is a great hotel. It is on the south side of town so it is good if you would like to go to Boyne Mountain or Boyne Highlands. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We got a suite and it had a full size fridge and a kitchenette. Our suite had a little electric fireplace which felt good after being out in the cold. The hotels also provides complimentary limo service and they took us out to dinner in it. Overall it was a very nice place to stay and I would stay here again. Also, the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moeman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

This is a very nice hotel. It is fairly new and the staff is just amazing. Everyone is very friendly and the free limo service is a great perk. My only complaint is the walls and floors must be thin as you hear just about everyone going on all night long. Also, we had a non-smoking room on a non-smoking floor, but the floor below was smoking and we might as well have been sleeping in a bar it was so bad. The smoking floors should be the top floors.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebarnmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

When I first went to book this room the hotel wanted $200 and more for my reservation. We got the military rate and even at that low price I would stay at the hotel. The hotel is not worth the $200 and more rate.

That's my opinion

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ester999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
0.9 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
1.8 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Petoskey
Super 8 Petoskey
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Address: 1751 S US Highway 131, Petoskey, MI 49770-8374
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
#1 Business Hotel in Petoskey
#3 Family Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Petoskey, MI Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites near Little Traverse Bay.This new hotel is conveniently located off Hwy 131 and offers easy access to ski resorts, golf courses, casino, wineries and beautiful Petoskey beaches: home to Michigan's state gem, the Petoskey stone. Your family can enjoy a stay at our Petoskey accommodations with an ideal location near the Bay Harbor Marina, Kilwin's Quality Confections Tours, Raven Hill Discovery Center and Michigan's largest indoor water park, Avalanche Bay. Petoskey is also home to the Gaslight Shopping District and the Odawa Casino.Business travelers enjoy our hotel in Petoskey because of its convenient location near businesses such as Manthei, H&D, Wal-Mart and Northern Michigan Hospital. Several world-class golfing venues, like Crooked Tree and Bay Harbor, are within six miles of our hotel in Petoskey, MI. Free high-speed Internet access and faxing services are offered for your convenience.Our excellent Petoskey hotel facilities offer you upscale amenities including private balconies, a fitness center, a heated indoor pool, whirlpool & dry sauna and a free stretch-limousine shuttle from 3 - 11 PM, with service to all area attractions within a 10-minute radius. Wake up to the fabulous views of Bear River Valley and Little Traverse Bay. Book your stay in Petoskey, MI today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Petoskey
Holiday Inn Petoskey
Holiday Inn Express Petoskey
Petoskey Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing