We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful of cxl policies if driving in winter weather!You will pay!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Avon Lake
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Be careful of cxl policies if driving in winter weather!You will pay!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I booked a reservation here two weeks ago. It was the weekend of one of the massive
ice storms that impacted travel from Ohio all the way up through Michigan.
Due to a delay because of the ice and road conditions we did not make it to the hotel
for our one night stay enroute to a meeting further north. I called both Priorty Club service and
the Manager and neither were willing to refund our full one night deposit. The most they would
offer is a credit to stay at the hotel in the "reasonable future". I live 7 hours away and do not have reason to travel anywhere near this area on a regular or future basis. I get that there is a policy but given the extreme icey weather and multi-car pile-ups that week in that state and nearby - you'd think they could be a little more reasonable. I was only asking for my one night deposit back! This helps me make a final decision about whether to patronize any Holiday Inn property in the future. A general Holiday Inn credit for anywhere in the US would have been reasonable!!!

Room Tip: If you're travelling in the winter weather and will only be there for one night, don't book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bonevoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear bonevoyage,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Petoskey.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    103
    31
    19
    13
See reviews for
158
159
19
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nancy Dingman made our day. We visited several hotels in Petoskey then stopped at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. We were greeted by Nancy that had all the right answers to questions that were on our minds about where to stay, what to do in town, etc. My wife and I chuckled about the fact that she could say what we were thinking. Oh yes one more thing...we realized it was snowy out side and as we left the HIE Nancy asked: "Do I need you to call me when you get home safely?" We laughed all the way to our next destination. She is so funny.
The room was excellent. The jacuzzi was nice and warm on that cold winter day, as we enjoyed our mini honeymoon and winter get-a-way!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

It is hard to find a good room in Petoskey, unless you like old style Bed and Breakfasts or cottages. Most hotels are older and have twin beds. Skiers also are hard on hotel rooms because of their equipment, I guess. This is a New hotel about a mile out of town on the main drag of fast food places and strip malls. That sounds bad but it is on a hill overlooking a beautiful valley vista. From the rear rooms you would never know all that stuff is out front It has King bed rooms and feels new and clean , which a lot of places in Petoskey do not. The newest Casino is right there and they give you vouchers, at the check in, for food and wagers. This is a Holiday Inn, so its not a vacation experience but if you are looking for a clean affordable room for the night, this hotel is the best non-beach type place I have staid at in this town.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the Hotel have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank douglascraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

My sincerest compliments to the extra service granted to my family by Nancy Dingman, Donna Howard & Megan. We received top notch service even before we had a family emergency. All these fine women did was kick it up a notch and help us get through a difficult situation. Would like to thank you again and just say there is no better place to stay in Petoskey.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool and elevators are quiter when high school ski teams are training.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rural michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed one night on a business trip and had a very good experience. As others have written the outside is beautiful and the room was nice as well. The things that are important to me are cleanliness, comfort and convenience. This hotel provided all of those. The room was immaculate with plenty of good sized towel, not those tiny thin ones you sometimes see. The bed and pillows were comfortable, although my personal preference is a slightly softer mattress. There is an in room refrigerator and coffee maker. Had I needed them, it would have been great. So often I'm staying for a couple nights somewhere and want a refrigerator for drinks, etc. I used the pool and spa and they were also clean. The water was nice and the spa wasn't too hot. The floor around the pool was quite slick however, and I nearly fell. My only complaint is that the fan in the bathroom made a clicking noise while in the off position. I mentioned it before going to the pool and they said he would look at it while I was there. When I got back to the room, I did hear it click once then fell asleep. I woke later and heard it clicking again which was mildly disturbing.

Some other things I liked about the hotel was the complimentary limo service you could use to go anywhere in a 3 or so mile radius. I didn't use it, but was nice if you needed it. They also would deliver your breakfast to you if you desired. I didn't see any cost involved, but again, didn't use it. Oh.. and I felt breakfast was over too soon - 9:30 a.m.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for anyone whether business or pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galenight01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have nothing but good things to say regarding this stay. The staff was excellent, very helpful with recommendations. Room was clean and up to date. Bed was very comfortable. The view overlooking the valley was gorgeous. Only complaint is I listened to the person in the room next to us snore all night,,,,the walls are pretty thin.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheesynurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed for three nights in a two bedroom presidential suite. It must have been named for one of our worst presidents. The outside of the hotel looks great. It is relatively new and impressive. The rooms are marginal at best. Our suite had a tiny common area with a mini-kitchenette. There was not even a table, so I am puzzled as to why they bothered with a kitchenette. All of the finishes were constructed from the cheapest materials possible. The plaid carpet from 1979 was a particularly tacky touch. The one redeeming quality was the enormous master suite bath. It was almost too large.The workout room was hot and consisted of three pieces of equipment.The breafast area in the lobby was decent size and the free breafast was okay. There is NO sound insulation so be prepared to hear every noise all night long. The staff was friendly. It is right across from the casino, so prepare to share the hotel with busloads of only the classiest people. There is no Petoskey charm for this overly-priced motel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
0.9 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#5 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Petoskey
Super 8 Petoskey
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Address: 1751 S US Highway 131, Petoskey, MI 49770-8374
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
#1 Business Hotel in Petoskey
#3 Family Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Petoskey, MI Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites near Little Traverse Bay.This new hotel is conveniently located off Hwy 131 and offers easy access to ski resorts, golf courses, casino, wineries and beautiful Petoskey beaches: home to Michigan's state gem, the Petoskey stone. Your family can enjoy a stay at our Petoskey accommodations with an ideal location near the Bay Harbor Marina, Kilwin's Quality Confections Tours, Raven Hill Discovery Center and Michigan's largest indoor water park, Avalanche Bay. Petoskey is also home to the Gaslight Shopping District and the Odawa Casino.Business travelers enjoy our hotel in Petoskey because of its convenient location near businesses such as Manthei, H&D, Wal-Mart and Northern Michigan Hospital. Several world-class golfing venues, like Crooked Tree and Bay Harbor, are within six miles of our hotel in Petoskey, MI. Free high-speed Internet access and faxing services are offered for your convenience.Our excellent Petoskey hotel facilities offer you upscale amenities including private balconies, a fitness center, a heated indoor pool, whirlpool & dry sauna and a free stretch-limousine shuttle from 3 - 11 PM, with service to all area attractions within a 10-minute radius. Wake up to the fabulous views of Bear River Valley and Little Traverse Bay. Book your stay in Petoskey, MI today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Petoskey
Holiday Inn Petoskey
Holiday Inn Express Petoskey
Petoskey Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing