We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant, relaxing stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A pleasant, relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Everyone was friendly, our room was clean, and the view was beautiful. The pool/hot tub area was large, open and inviting. The breakfast was typical, but good, and well kept. All in all, we had a pleasant relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a valley view.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank njs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    105
    32
    19
    13
See reviews for
170
164
19
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis MO.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and I went to visit Petoskey Michigan in June 4-6th, 2011 and had a great time! The staff was very helpful with we enjoyed a clean comfortable room with a great view of little traverse bay. The morning treat was the pancake maker that made them perfect every time. We will return!

Room Tip: Be sure to get your priority club points through Holiday Inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanoinStLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

What else can I say about this HIE other than it's fabulous. The service is fantastic and Rose and Marjorie at the front desk are the epitome of what excellent customer service is all about. Rooms are spotless, the complimentary limo is an added plus - and Ken, the driver is a history of the Petoskey area. Don't be afraid to use this complimentary service! The hotel provides free room service for breakfast items which really makes the suites more user friendly, and allows the residents to stay in the relaxation of their room instead of "dressing" for breakfast. Untra modern, ultra fantastic, and one of the two best HIE properties ever (the other is Lewisburg, WV). Stay here, stay here, stay here! You will not be disappointed and the facility and service will more than exceed your expectations.

Room Tip: Call and ask for Rose
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigivy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

My sis and I took my two granddaughters to Petoskey. We reserved two seperate rooms but when we arrived the desk person took it upon himself to give us a two-bedroom suite connected with a living space, three balconies and a wonderful view. We all enjoyed the free limo service into town, just a few minutes drive.

All the rooms to the back have a lovely view. This hotel is fresh, clean and the staff very nice. The baked cookies on the counter are a nice touch too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mvdhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Everything was ok up until we checked out. We had a pull out couch so we had asked for three extra pillows to accommodate the hideabed. No problem, we got the pillows and went to bed. After we checked out we were enjoying the rest of our labor day weekend, we were eating dinner with friends that live when we were so rudely interrupted: "Hi this is Nancy from the Holiday Inn.. We show you have checked out 3 blankets (not pillows) and they are nowhere to be found. We're going to have to charge you." I let her know that they were pillows and not blankets and they were left on the sofabed. Usually this would be the end of the confrontation, but she said she will have to continue "investigate" and will get back to us. Please private-eye, we're guests and we certainly did not book a room just to steal blankets OR pillows that thousands of strangers have slept with. The phone calls about this situation did not end there. Outcome was we told her to never call us again about this matter, and that the person that put down "blankets" instead of "pillows" shall be held accountable. I have never been hassled like this before, but I have also never stayed at a Holiday Inn ever and now I associate Nancy the manager with the Holiday Inn experience.

Do yourself a favor, Hampton Inn is closer to downtown, has nicer rooms and way better service. Believe me, we're not demanding people, we vacation a lot.. but I don't believe a guest should ever be treated like this. Its the upnorth life, easy going and relaxing...

We also booked with a wedding block, but when the reservation was made they failed to book it at the correct rate of 159. When we brought this to the front desk's attention we had to point out that it wasn't our fault that the reservation was put in incorrectly. Generally when you call to book a room and ask what the wedding block rate is, you don't ask "please put us down for a more expensive rate."

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaycay3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here as a family of six in a three room presidential suite. Two bedrooms with king size beds, one living room with pull out couch. Each room had a fireplace, two full bathrooms, each roo. Had a balcony. Had a great view from 5th floor. Good free breakfast with ability to sit outside and enjoy the view. We would definitely stay here again. Free limo service to anywhere in Petoskey. Much cheaper than getting two separate rooms and a great experience. Pillows marked firm or soft to suit your needs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GRtraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed here August 7 and 8, 2011. Got a good deal through itravel2000, so booked through them - which may have turned out to be a mistake. We booked a room with 1 bed and got 2 double beds. When we called down to enquire about changing rooms (hotel wasn't full) they said they could not accomodate us as we booked through a third party and therefore get their "worst" room....

We had room 208, just off the elevator, a handicap + adjoining room. Room had 2 double beds, a small table, dresser, nightstand, fridage, microwave, and coffee maker. Clean room, furnishings a little out of date, good housekeeping service. The worst thing was the shower. only a hand-held wand placed pretty low on the wall (remember it's a handicap accessible room) and terrible water pressure. Showers lasted a fairly long time just to ensure my hair was rinsed out.

Complimentary breakfast was great: pancakes, bagels, toast, pastries, warm cinnamon rolls, ceral, yogurt, eggs, english muffins, sausage, grits, fruit.

I liked the location, not in the heart of downtown, but the closest hotel to the casino. Nothing is very far away in Petoskey :)

Didn't use the pool or hot tub (indoors), but it looked pretty busy.

Room Tip: Book direct with hotel to get choice of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zimmyNorthBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
0.9 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
1.7 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#5 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Petoskey
Super 8 Petoskey
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Address: 1751 S US Highway 131, Petoskey, MI 49770-8374
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Petoskey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
#3 Family Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Petoskey, MI Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites near Little Traverse Bay.This new hotel is conveniently located off Hwy 131 and offers easy access to ski resorts, golf courses, casino, wineries and beautiful Petoskey beaches: home to Michigan's state gem, the Petoskey stone. Your family can enjoy a stay at our Petoskey accommodations with an ideal location near the Bay Harbor Marina, Kilwin's Quality Confections Tours, Raven Hill Discovery Center and Michigan's largest indoor water park, Avalanche Bay. Petoskey is also home to the Gaslight Shopping District and the Odawa Casino.Business travelers enjoy our hotel in Petoskey because of its convenient location near businesses such as Manthei, H&D, Wal-Mart and Northern Michigan Hospital. Several world-class golfing venues, like Crooked Tree and Bay Harbor, are within six miles of our hotel in Petoskey, MI. Free high-speed Internet access and faxing services are offered for your convenience.Our excellent Petoskey hotel facilities offer you upscale amenities including private balconies, a fitness center, a heated indoor pool, whirlpool & dry sauna and a free stretch-limousine shuttle from 3 - 11 PM, with service to all area attractions within a 10-minute radius. Wake up to the fabulous views of Bear River Valley and Little Traverse Bay. Book your stay in Petoskey, MI today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Petoskey
Holiday Inn Petoskey
Holiday Inn Express Petoskey
Petoskey Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing