We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel, nice swimming pool and hot tub, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Petoskey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Days Inn Petoskey
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, nice swimming pool and hot tub, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We went to this hotel in June. They were in the middle of renovations. This did not bother us. It is nicely located close to beaches and some rooms have very nice view. The hotel staff was very friendly. It has a nice breakfast area as well.

We are planning to go back next summer. By that time all renovations should be completed and we are looking forward to another great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichiganPerson1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    59
    69
    54
    31
See reviews for
120
91
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
270 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Very attractive on the outside, beautifully furnished lobby with couches, fireplace and big TV.
The desk clerk was very pleasant. But when we entered the hallway to go to our room the smell was terrible. Musty with dirty old carpeting, and the walls were bare and unfinished. The stink
made my eyes water. The room had old furniture, one lamp was broken and the bed was hard.
We were told they started renovating last April and it appears to have come to a halt for some
reason. Will definitely never stay at this place again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine3844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Petoskey hotels

Bloomfield HIlls, Mich USA
Level Contributor
205 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Room was OK in every way, but nothing special. We are travellers who don't spend much time in the room, so decor doesn't matter to us.They are renovating so it's hard to tell what it will be when finished. The pool was large and we would have enjoyed it (all to ourselves) except we didn't bring suits.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank MissShoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Level Contributor
124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Can't recommend this motel for any reason, unless just over $100/night is an economic "sweet" spot. I didn't make the reservation, nor did I survey prices of other motels/hotels in the area. I was "along for the ride" with some buds for a golf trip. The wallpaper has been stripped in all the common areas and the carpets are worn and stained (probably a combo of age and the construction). The place has a musty smell in the common areas and the rooms (you can cure it in the room by blasting the below window a/c). It looks like they may have upgraded the bathroom in the rooms as it seemed a bit more modern and clean. They've put flat screens in the rooms as well. So it looks like they are trying to upgrade, but certainly aren't there yet. I've never understood how/why motels/hotels charge their standard rates while they give you substandard accomodations. I can't recommend this place at this time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregfromDTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I made reservations way back in february for our room for July. We needed a room for the night before our wedding and this was reasonably priced. When I called, I was told that they were remodeling in may and everything would be completely done and brand new before our arrival (since i was looking for a place for the majority of our guests, i thought this sounded great). When we arrived Friday afternoon at 4pm (check in is at 3pm), we were told our room wasn't ready and wouldn't be for a while. Friends of ours had just arrived also and were told the same thing. Our room was not ready until 7pm. My first impression of this hotel was not good at all. It smelled horrible, the carpet was stained and dirty, and the walls were all tore up. The rooms were not clean at all and we didn't even have a bath tub. A couple of our guests had to switch rooms due to bugs and one guest was put in a room with an unmade bed and urine in the toilet, and were then told they couldn't change rooms. I spoke with the lady at the front desk to explain my situation to her and let her know that I would be having about 60 people arriving the following afternoon, all of which had reservations, and that they needed to have their rooms ready by the check ini time (3pm) as my guests needed to be ready for my 6pm wedding. I was told that the rooms were on a first come first serve basis and they couldn't guarantee when they would be ready. Thankfully, all of my guests were able to get in their rooms, although not all of them had towels in their rooms and were told that the hotel did not have enough towels for all of the rooms. All in all, the experience was awful for everyone and just added unneeded stress on my wedding day. The only nice thing about this place was the front porch, which was were most people spent their time since inside was so disgusting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed up there recently on a children's sports trip to the area. Location is great. Rooms were clean. Nothing spectacular. They were doing some remodeling while we were there which could bode well for the future. Pool was nice but the hot tub was not in service while we were there. Breakfast was great for our needs. Cereal, waffles, Clif and Balance bars, breads, english muffins, etc. Great breakfast location right across the street if you desire more than that. The gentleman who was the front desk man was very courteous and went above and beyond to help us out. Overall, good value. Low price. And met those expectations.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CadillacCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainwell, Michigan
Level Contributor
143 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

We had to travel at the last minute for a funeral, so we weren't terribly picky about where we landed on the New Years Eve weekend - we were thankful to find a hotel. However, we're never going back to the Bay Winds. The room was surprisingly small. The "two queen size beds" were really two full size beds - we could barely fit on them - and they were NOT comfortable. I'm not sure if they cleaned the room regularly because it was kind of dank and I was pulling threads and hair off of the bedspread (yuck!).
The "free breakfast" was pathetic - we ate out, instead. Though the water pressure in the shower was noticeable, there wasn't much water VOLUME to clean off with - and there was no bathtub - to the dismay of our daughter who still likes taking baths. The walls are paper thin (my husband almost went over to knock on the door of our neighbors who were rather loud in their New Years "celebration" - that, or they had a yapping poodle over there).
The pool was fine. The parking lot moderately well maintained for the 3-4" of snow we were walking in. The hallway carpets and stairs were stained and dingy, which didn't inspire faith in the room's cleanliness, either. There are plenty of other places in Petoskey to stay - we thought we might be saving money by staying at the Bay Winds Inn - we'd rather pay the extra $10-20 a night to stay someplace clean and not so run down.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessInArmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
0.1 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
0.7 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#5 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Petoskey
Super 8 Petoskey
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Petoskey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Petoskey

Property: Days Inn Petoskey
Address: 909 Spring St, US 131 South, Petoskey, MI 49770-2854 (Formerly Hotel Petoskey)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Petoskey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Days Inn Petoskey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baywinds Inn Of Petoskey Hotel Petoskey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing