We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for a meal in an older building. GREAT ROLLS!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Park Grill

City Park Grill
Ranked #4 of 102 Restaurants in Petoskey
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: City Park Grill, one of Petoskey’s oldest buildings, was originally constructed in 1875. McCarty Hall, as it was then known was a malesonly billiard parlor that offered cigars and “intoxicating beverages.” Today, City Park Grill maintains a loyal clientele with house-made cuisine, focusing on locally procured produce, meats and lake fish, an awardwinning wine collection and house-made biscuits straight from the oven
Detroit
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place for a meal in an older building. GREAT ROLLS!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We ate at the City Park based on reviews that we had seen. This is a great little place in a very old building. Tons of cool woodwork. They have both a bar and dining area. Good place for both family dinners and going out for a few drinks.

Right when you sit down they take your drink order and then there is someone walking around serving fresh bakes rooms that are just too good to describe. They also have a very extensive beer and wine list. I have a chicken breast that was very good but a bit on the small side. Others in my party had lasagna that was just so/so, and a turkey sandwich that was very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    223
    79
    33
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birch Run, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful bar!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stopped in on a Friday around 7, don't make that mistake. We were seated rather quickly, in the large dining room area, much to our dissatisfaction a very large, VERY loud group was also in this room. There was a curtain up to give them privacy, however I think it was false, as I could hear everything they were yelling. The waitstaff was forced to yell to greet tables, and we had to yell back to place an order. Our food was above average, but only slightly for the price. Do yourself a favor if you go here, get a steak...that is one thing they appear to have written the book on.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Connie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
127 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice setting, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is our 2nd time to CPG - I had pistachio encrusted walleye. It wasn't my favorite, nothing wrong with the dish, but I will choose something different next time, something with less coating. My husband had the stuffed boneless pork chops - he loved it, juicy, flavorful, tender, etc. Our server was efficient and friendly, attentive but not intrusive. Something funny - my husband did not get their biscuits, which they are known for. Between our server and the manager there were 3 apologies, plus fresh hot flavorful mouthwatering biscuits. We will be back.
Side note: While they accept reservations, technically it is call ahead seating. Not a specific reserved time/table etc.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
“Steeped in history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great staff, good food and wonderful atmosphere. The tin ceiling was original and in excellent condition. Our server was informative about the history of this establishment.


wonderful old

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank brenderart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
114 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice menu. Ambience acceptable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We ate there for a late lunch thinking it would be quieter. Unfortunately there was an "after-wedding" party which made it too loud to easily converse. Mentioned this to our server who, of course, was unable to do anything, so we said little until they left. Not the restaurants fault. Spinach salad was excellent. The gumbo was ok, but watery. The Chicago burger was worth reordering next time, but way more than a person could eat in a sitting. I took off the top bun and still,was stuffed.
Location is good except the city of Petoskey prefers less tourism as they have no free parking within 3-4 blocks of down town. But they are "thoughtful" enough to have a system when, if you are out of change, you can call in a credit card. (I don't think so!)
We'll go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Welshman42256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Park Grill also viewed

Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
 

Been to City Park Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing