We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and Affordable”
Review of The Apple Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Apple Tree Inn
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit
1 review
“Pleasant and Affordable”
Reviewed March 31, 2010

We stayed at the Apple Tree Inn in March 2010 for a long weekend with our little one. Rather than paying $$$ for a not-so-great room at Boyne, we decided to try the Apple Tree Inn and drive over to the waterpark. The owners were very friendly, the hotel was clean and comfortable, and it was SO nice having the pool pretty much all to ourselves the entire weekend. Actually, I enjoyed the pool at the hotel more than Avalanche Bay at Boyne. We are regulars in the Petoskey area, so we knew the lay of the land and where to go - and had seen this hotel driving by many times. The continental breakfast was pretty good, the BEST part about it was the waffles. In fact, the waffles were so good I had to order the same waffle mix online when we got home. Like other reviewers said, the breakfast area was a bit small, and was rather crowded on the Sunday we were there - had to wait a bit for the waffle maker. Not too bad on Saturday, plus we were down a bit earlier. The rooms were decent enough - bedding could have been a little better, and the TV's are a bit dated (they have a VHS library, if that tells you anything). For the money, it was a good value - but my biggest complaint would probably be the noise at night. You could hear people in the room next to you pretty well, and seemed like a lot of kids were given free reign to roam and run through the halls at night. The front office/lobby pretty much closes down at 11pm, so there wasn't anyone around to monitor the area for noise or disruption. We had no issues our first night, but the second night we heard kids until after midnight. Not much sleep was had that night! Overall though, this was a good alternative to the over-priced Boyne properties (which would have had similar quality at 2-3 times the cost per night on a peak weekend). And the waffles were good enough that we ate in both mornings rather than going out for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrbclb04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    115
    40
    13
    12
See reviews for
106
204
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We traveled to the Apple Tree Inn from San Diego in December for a family ski trip. The inn keepers were amazing, friendly and catered to our every need. We had our 11 month old daughter with us and they re-opened their breakfast bar in order to provide us some apple juice for her late morning snack. The inn was clean and the rooms were quite spacious. We had four different families (all with small children) plus our parents staying in the inn and not one complaint. This will be where my family stays everytime we come to Petoskey.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murkna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2010

We based our decision to stay here on price -- figured it would be so-so. This family owned hotel turned out to be one the best stays I've ever had. The staff is so friendly, they work very hard and have a lot of pride in their hotel. I will be staying again!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faicb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sault ste. marie
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2010

I'm a great believer that you don't have to pay for advertizing, people will do that for you. If this place was bad I would be the first one to tell you. I want to tell everyone what an awesome place this is! The Apple Tree Inn is family owned and operated. When you go there they are very eager to accommodate you with what ever needs you have. They treat you like your family, and it doesn't get any better than that! I can't wait to go back and it's because of the wonderful people that where there to make my stay the best ever! Thank you Apple Tree Inn .....your number .....ONE !!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this Inn one night. It was a very positive experience and would reccommend this place. Clean, quiet comfortable. Loved the Bath and Body Works products. Towels were nice and fluffy. Owner ver helpful with directions getting around town.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duotravelersonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We always make a point to stay here when we are in the northern part of Michigan. It is priced right, great location, pleasant clean rooms, quiet and friendly staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonnyStryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Stayed here w/colleagues for a business trip - we had excellent service - they were very accommodating. I would stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RASadowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
1.1 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
648 reviews
0.7 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Odawa Hotel
Odawa Hotel
#10 of 15 in Petoskey
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Apple Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apple Tree Inn

Property: The Apple Tree Inn
Address: 915 Spring St, Petoskey, MI 49770-2854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
#6 Business Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Apple Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Apple Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apple Tree Hotel Petoskey
Apple Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing