We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Apple Tree Inn
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey(Petoskey)(Great Value!)
$169
$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Inn Petoskey(Petoskey)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge(Petoskey)(Great Value!)
$89
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stafford's Perry Hotel(Petoskey)(Great Value!)
$179
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
$159
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Petoskey)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn Petoskey(Petoskey)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Odawa Hotel(Petoskey)
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$248
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveler rating
279
120
43
15
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
279
120
43
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswafflesview of the baya king spa roomrooms facethe breakfast arealittle traverse bayspa tubcontinental breakfastwaffle makerhot tublimo servicefamily suitefourth floorhard boiled eggsfridge and microwavewould stay here againfloor room
Filter
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 471 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Following a bad experience, treated disrespectfully by front desk person. Also, no coffee available after 10:00 am in the lobby. Too bad, won't be back because of it. There are other good choices with better locations in Petoskey.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonoerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our room had a balcony with a view of Little Traverse Bay - and it seems that all rooms at this hotel have some sort of a view of the Bay. The room was spacious and clean and had a fridge (which wasn't cold when we arrived because it was unplugged), microwave, and coffeemaker. There was also a VCR in the room, and you could borrow movies from the video library in the main lobby area. There was an indoor pool and hot tub and you could access an outdoor patio area from the pool as well as from the breakfast room. Breakfast was provided - cereals, fruit, bread/bagels for toasting, danishes/muffins, and you could make waffles. Keuring coffee and tea was available 24/7. The interior hallways were well lit in the evening. Much of the décor had an apple theme, which was very suitable given the hotel name, and it gave the place a country charm! The only negative for us, which wasn't a huge deal, was that we arrived at 2 p.m. to check in. We knew we were early but thought that our room might be ready; we were told that it wasn't quite ready but that it should be in half an hour...and certainly no later than 3 p.m., which was the advertised check-in time. We came back at 3:30 and our room still wasn't ready but it didn't take much longer, and it really wasn't an issue for us. The staff was great, and they were very helpful in providing information about Petoskey. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickelcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a great hotel, with one particular negative that keeps me from giving this location 5 stars. The hotel didn't have chain locks above the doors, which was a huge problem for me and my family. We felt completely safe in this hotel and the area, but we have a two year old son who could pull on the handle and get out of the hotel room. The only way we could keep him in was to put a chair in front of the door to block it. So if you have small children this is a huge negative.
Other negatives were that this hotel is older so there are some updates that haven't been made such as a VCR and old alarm clock in the room. However, there is a VCR library in the lobby. The rooms have an old air conditioning unit and it didn't have a thermostat so you had to move the dial from cooler to warmer and guess at a temperature. It also smelled musty so we had to keep spraying air freshener.

The positives for this hotel are as follows. First, this hotel is in a prime location. It is right in the middle of everything! Even though it was close to everything it was easier to park in downtown Petoskey then walk around then town. However, all the streets we saw have parking meters. For .25 you got 30 minutes on the meter. Another positive, was that the hotel was spotless! We didn't see dirt or dust anywhere, which is huge deal to me. We even stayed an extra night due to how clean the hotel was. All the staff we encountered were very friendly! Third, the pool was a decent size and it was spotless. Our family enjoyed it while we were there. Fourth, they had a free continental breakfast which included, waffles, cereal, fruits, bagels, breads, muffins, danishes, and sweet breads. They also had coffee and tea 24/7 in the lobby. Lastly, each room had their own balcony which you could see the lake.

All in all this was a good hotel. We would stay here again once our child gets a little older and doesn't open the doors.

Room Tip: All rooms have a private balcony that over look the lake. We had two queen beds and had plenty of room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great location, service, pool, breakfast, view of the bay from each room, etc. Yummy breakfast with make yourself waffles and great toppings. Keurig coffee maker! You can borrow movies to take to your room too. Nice couple who owns and operates the hotel. Rooms are clean and roomy. Grounds and hotel well maintained, very homey. Can't bring skis inside hotel... probably to maintain how nice the hotel stays. Can't really walk downtown but not what we were looking for. Close to hospital and bay access to look for Petoskey stones or take a walk along the trail. We would highly recommend staying here and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTraveling86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

From the time of our check-in to our next day departure, we can only rave about this special place. The courtesy at the Front Desk was more than matched by the cleanliness of our room plus, as promised, we had a spectacular view of the Bay and a lovely porch on which to sit to enjoy it. Then came the next-morning's breakfast. We've had many 'luxury' presentations in our travels but none come close to what was provided to us that day. We drove away wishing we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. While it never hurts to ask, you will be rewarded.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews