We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms with a view of the Bay”
Review of The Apple Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Apple Tree Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our room had a balcony with a view of Little Traverse Bay - and it seems that all rooms at this hotel have some sort of a view of the Bay. The room was spacious and clean and had a fridge (which wasn't cold when we arrived because it was unplugged), microwave, and coffeemaker. There was also a VCR in the room, and you could borrow movies from the video library in the main lobby area. There was an indoor pool and hot tub and you could access an outdoor patio area from the pool as well as from the breakfast room. Breakfast was provided - cereals, fruit, bread/bagels for toasting, danishes/muffins, and you could make waffles. Keuring coffee and tea was available 24/7. The interior hallways were well lit in the evening. Much of the décor had an apple theme, which was very suitable given the hotel name, and it gave the place a country charm! The only negative for us, which wasn't a huge deal, was that we arrived at 2 p.m. to check in. We knew we were early but thought that our room might be ready; we were told that it wasn't quite ready but that it should be in half an hour...and certainly no later than 3 p.m., which was the advertised check-in time. We came back at 3:30 and our room still wasn't ready but it didn't take much longer, and it really wasn't an issue for us. The staff was great, and they were very helpful in providing information about Petoskey. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickelcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
There are newer reviews for The Apple Tree Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 458 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a great hotel, with one particular negative that keeps me from giving this location 5 stars. The hotel didn't have chain locks above the doors, which was a huge problem for me and my family. We felt completely safe in this hotel and the area, but we have a two year old son who could pull on the handle and get out of the hotel room. The only way we could keep him in was to put a chair in front of the door to block it. So if you have small children this is a huge negative.
Other negatives were that this hotel is older so there are some updates that haven't been made such as a VCR and old alarm clock in the room. However, there is a VCR library in the lobby. The rooms have an old air conditioning unit and it didn't have a thermostat so you had to move the dial from cooler to warmer and guess at a temperature. It also smelled musty so we had to keep spraying air freshener.

The positives for this hotel are as follows. First, this hotel is in a prime location. It is right in the middle of everything! Even though it was close to everything it was easier to park in downtown Petoskey then walk around then town. However, all the streets we saw have parking meters. For .25 you got 30 minutes on the meter. Another positive, was that the hotel was spotless! We didn't see dirt or dust anywhere, which is huge deal to me. We even stayed an extra night due to how clean the hotel was. All the staff we encountered were very friendly! Third, the pool was a decent size and it was spotless. Our family enjoyed it while we were there. Fourth, they had a free continental breakfast which included, waffles, cereal, fruits, bagels, breads, muffins, danishes, and sweet breads. They also had coffee and tea 24/7 in the lobby. Lastly, each room had their own balcony which you could see the lake.

All in all this was a good hotel. We would stay here again once our child gets a little older and doesn't open the doors.

Room Tip: All rooms have a private balcony that over look the lake. We had two queen beds and had plenty of r...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great location, service, pool, breakfast, view of the bay from each room, etc. Yummy breakfast with make yourself waffles and great toppings. Keurig coffee maker! You can borrow movies to take to your room too. Nice couple who owns and operates the hotel. Rooms are clean and roomy. Grounds and hotel well maintained, very homey. Can't bring skis inside hotel... probably to maintain how nice the hotel stays. Can't really walk downtown but not what we were looking for. Close to hospital and bay access to look for Petoskey stones or take a walk along the trail. We would highly recommend staying here and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTraveling86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

From the time of our check-in to our next day departure, we can only rave about this special place. The courtesy at the Front Desk was more than matched by the cleanliness of our room plus, as promised, we had a spectacular view of the Bay and a lovely porch on which to sit to enjoy it. Then came the next-morning's breakfast. We've had many 'luxury' presentations in our travels but none come close to what was provided to us that day. We drove away wishing we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. While it never hurts to ask, you will be rewarded.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Nice clean place. Staff very Nice. Breakfast bar is good and well attended. Not a good place to walk attractions from. Just so you know you can't bring your ski equipment inside. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueV_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

So many reviewers have commented on how great the owners are. Here is the proof, I was waiting to check in a man came running up behind me, he proceeded to explain to me they were testing the fire alarms so do not be surprised. I knew from that moment my stay would be "perfect". The hotel grounds were beautiful, flowers everywhere, nothing out of place. We reserved a deluxe king room, it was spacious, with a large balcony overlooking the bay. Our room was 401 top floor end unit. It was very quiet, we never hears a sound. We had a large flat panel TV, large work area, free wireless. The continental breakfast was adequate, I am not a breakfast person but my wife enjoyed it. There is a nice deck off the breakfast room, so you can go outside to enjoy your breakfast. All this for under $100.00 a night (price varies based on time a year). It is clear the owners take great pride in their property, I will be back for many years to come.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMAC1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Everyone that worked there was very nice.
The room was clean and decorated beautifully. The pillows were very soft and the sheets all smelled clean.
There was a great choice at breakfast, with K-cup coffee's, teas, decaf, and regular coffee and flavored creamers. We watched the sunset over Little Traverse Bay from our balcony.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KURTH791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
1.1 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
733 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
0.7 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
199 reviews
1.2 mi away
AmericInn Petoskey
AmericInn Petoskey
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Apple Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apple Tree Inn

Address: 915 Spring St, Petoskey, MI 49770-2854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
#6 Business Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range: $87 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Apple Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Apple Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apple Tree Hotel Petoskey
Apple Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing