We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
Review of The Apple Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Apple Tree Inn
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Sadly, we were quite disappointed in our stay here. We went off reviews from other people here on TripAdvisor but didn't find it to be as wonderful as others did. Our room was clean enough, but we found bugs crawling around in several places. The continental breakfast was less than mediocre. We don't plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MotherDaughterDuoFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
125987, Owner at The Apple Tree Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We would like to thank you for staying at the Apple Tree Inn of Petoskey. We are disappointed that your stay did not totally meet your expetations. We continually strive to exceed expectations and will take your comments to heart. We did note that your stay was in the 2nd week of June, after a cold spring, the May Flies had a late hatching. If a guest leaves their Balcony Screen open, it can let an occasional Winged intruder in. We apologize for any inconvenience. Larry Badgerow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    107
    38
    12
    12
See reviews for
103
194
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ontario
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Other properties could take a lesson on hospitality from this place. The Apple Tree is spotless and very homey with helpful, friendly front desk staff. We had a balcony room with bubble tub room facing the bay and the balconies are a generous size. The price was excellent and I can't imagine anyone thinking that this place doesn't offer great value. We really enjoyed the walk along the paths by the river to the downtown for dinner two nights in a row. The bed was super comfy and the hotel was full but very quiet. Can't recommend this place enough. Breakfast was pretty slim but adequate. Love Petoskey!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorOnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Apple Tree Inn located in Petoskey is a nice place to spend a night. The Inn is a little dated and the furnishings could use a little updating, but the property is very well maintained and the staff seem to take a lot of pride in their jobs and the facility itself. The included breakfast was better than I expected, there was not a wide selection of hot foods, mainly breads, muffins and cereal. The pool was cold, I think it is not used much therefore the temp is probably turned down a bit. All in all it is a nice place to stay, the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mwb31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very clean, bright, comfortable, friendly. we had a great room with a balcony overlooking the bay and this jacuzzi right in the open of the room, but so nicely framed in. we just loved it!!! the grounds, rooms, and all areas we saw were meticulously clean. owners on site and working and very helpful and friendly. will definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

In Petoskey for the weekend and was going to stay at the Hampton but based on recommendations from family we stayed here.
Better price and very nice. Each room has a balcony/patio. We were on 4th floor and you get a great view of Little Traverse Bay.

I highly recommend the Apple Tree Inn

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SinginJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have always stayed at the flag hotels in Petoskey, so I thought I'd try the Apple Tree. Rates were cheaper than the others. I found the hotel to be just as good if not better than Holiday Inn or Hampton. Very pleasant staff. Very clean and the beds were wonderful. Sometimes when I stay in hotels the bedding feels cheap and/or unclean. This bed had linens that were crisp and clean. Nice furnishings. I didn't try the breakfast, but will next time. Free wi-fi was a must and it worked with no problems.

Room Tip: I believe they all have views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over the Memorial Holiday weekend. We were really impressed. It was one of the nicest places that we have stayed. There was a huge wedding party staying that same weekend but if we hadn't seen them at breakfast and boarding their ride to the wedding location we would never have known. It was that quiet. Our room was more impressive than I had anticipated. The spa tub was large enough for the two of us, and the king size bed was very comfortable. The staff added special touches to provide us a perfect retreat after a day of enjoying the area. We didn't use the pool, Jacuzzi, or exercise room, but they were impressive for this family run hotel. Oh! And Breakfast! I loved the waffles!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
1.1 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Petoskey
Super 8 Petoskey
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Apple Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apple Tree Inn

Property: The Apple Tree Inn
Address: 915 Spring St, Petoskey, MI 49770-2854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Petoskey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
#6 Business Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Apple Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Apple Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apple Tree Hotel Petoskey
Apple Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing