We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“February ski weekend”
Review of The Apple Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Apple Tree Inn
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Very nice facility. Well maintained with usual upscale amenities - flat screen w/HBO, VCR w/movie library, frig and microwave, coffee in room and lobby. Breakfast is well stocked with everything from muffins to waffles. Rooms are large and clean. Employees are very friendly and courteous. We had an excellent four day, three night experience.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Al E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 461 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Apple Tree Inn on Nov. 11, 2012. Not likely to stay at an "off-chain" property, the Apple Tree definately gave us an entirely fresh perspective. The hotel is very clean and the check-in staff was very accommodating. After an early evening out, we came back to the hotel wanting to use the hot tub, only to find out that it was covered. When we inquired if it was out of service, the desk staff told us that they cover it as an energy conservation measure and she would be happy to uncover it for our use. The breakfast area was small, with limited selections but was clean and sufficient for our needs. After arriving home we discovered we had forgotten something in the room and called the hotel to check and see if they had found anything. The owner said he would check, and called us back later, saying he found it and made arrangements to mail it back to us. We were very happy with the clean comfortable accommodations as well as the great price. We would definately stay here again and highly recommend making the Apple Tree Inn a travelers choice while in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JnJ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Apple Tree Inn on a quick ski getaway. The staff was very friendly & helpful. The room was very clean and quite pleasant. Our room, like all of their rooms, had a balcony and a view of Little Traverse Bay. Best part of the room: it was so quiet! We know there were people in the rooms on either side, but we never heard a thing. The included breakfast was nice - we love the make your own waffles with white & chocolate chips.

The Apple Tree Inn is within a 20 - 30 minute drive of three great ski resorts: Nub's Nob, Boyne Highlands and Boyne Mountain. The front desk has discounts available for all three.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kristy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband & I just spent the weekend at The Apple Tree Inn and loved it! Our room was spacious & very clean. We had a fridge & microwave. Breakfast included nice amenities such as multiple toppings for waffles or oatmeal. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The halls and lobby were nicely decorated for the holidays. The hotel is ideally located for additional sightseeing in Charlevoix and Harbor Springs. The ski slopes were only 20 minutes away. One extra nice surprise was the beautiful view we had of Little Traverse Bay. We have stayed at several hotels in Petoskey and have never had a view of the Bay! Great Value. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: You probably have an even better view of the Bay if you are on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beenthere73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were called to emergency from 3 hours away when My father was taken to McLaren hospital in Petoskey. We checked in to the Appletree with no notice, the rates were wonderful, the room was clean and smelled fresh (a big deal to me), it was large and decorated very well. They we so thoughtful and gave us a room right by the outside entrance because stairs are difficult for my mom, they worked with us everyday on our checkout time because everything was up in the air as far as my fathers discharge. The Breakfast was good, waffles, bagels, fruit and cereal, with a nice dining area and fireplace. The pool and Hottub were clean and got very little use while we were there. (off season) But I would recommend this hotel to anyone I know who was going to Petoskey. Very Nice! Cathy DuBois 810-348-3078

Room Tip: Every room has a partial view of the bay, but its partially blocked by the next hotel. This hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catdubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hotel is no way rated #1. Room we had was over priced, bed post came off, vhs in room? no dvd player when questioned owner became upset. when taking shower water was filling up in tub, not draining,table next to bed was very worn should be thrown out. Why fill out survey when owners become upset? Again no way this place should be rated # 1. What a joke!!!! Never again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Fortunately other hotel was full and referred us to this marvy accomodation.
Amanda and the owners are so concerned for guest comfort.
Our beds were comfy.S.
The breakfast was beyond expectation.
Property is squaky clean and beautifully decorated for Halloween and autumn season.
Price is reasonable.
We couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: They gave us the last room,#104.A spacious,bright family suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDiegoEl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
1.1 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
776 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
0.7 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
204 reviews
1.2 mi away
AmericInn Petoskey
AmericInn Petoskey
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Apple Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apple Tree Inn

Address: 915 Spring St, Petoskey, MI 49770-2854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
#6 Business Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range: $86 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Apple Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Apple Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apple Tree Hotel Petoskey
Apple Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing