We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
Review of The Apple Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Apple Tree Inn
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Beautiful, very clean room--and a huge jacuzzi! Room was immaculate, with a great view of the bay for a beautiful sunset. Breakfast was pretty standard--the usual cereal, sweet rolls, and also a waffle maker. (Tip to hotel--get rid of the TV in the breakfast area and let people eat in peace. Guests all have a tv in their rooms if they need to watch the news.)

Room Tip: I believe all rooms face the bay for a nice view of the sunset. Rooms have a balcony as well. Our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    107
    38
    12
    12
See reviews for
103
194
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Collegeville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I stayed there several times for business and felt like I was on vacation. Great view of the water, the rooms are very clean, and the beds are comfortable. Good selection for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veggeeCollegeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Wow! Where do I start! We booked this hotel based on other glowing reviews. We stayed 3 nights. Our first impression was that we were walking into a New England Inn. The front desk staff was VERY friendly and helpful. ALL the rooms have a balcony. ALL the balconies face west so you can get a beautiful view of the sunset. The entire property was very well maintained and clean. Our room was very quiet and comfortable. We were on the fourth floor, which probably gave us an even more spectacular view of the sunsets and also helped with the quietness. The breakfast was very nice. They had a great assortment of options that varied each day. They had three kinds of fresh fruit ~ the oranges were organic!!! They had fruit/nut breads along with other pastries. Oatmeal. Cold cereal. Wheat (real) bread. Kuerig coffee and a regular coffee machine. We'd definitely stay here again if/when we return to the area.

Room Tip: Upper floors give better sunset views, but I don't think there'd be a 'bad' room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biking_Couple703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
157 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The rooms here are very clean and pride of ownership is shown. Most rooms have a view of the bay (a couple blocks away). Usual continental breakfast but w/fresh fruit, nut breads etc.
Nice place to stay if you're in Petoskey.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, IL
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We are a middle aged couple - just stayed two nights. Enjoyed the balcony and the view. The hotel is very clean and quiet - well run. The staff is extremely helpful and accomodating - provided great tips for dining and getting around. Bed was very comfy. Prices are much lower than "downtown Petoskey" - and it is a very short and easy drive. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Hot tub in the room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler062010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I have stayed at this Inn many times in my business travels. With reasonable expectations, this is an excellent place. Spacious rooms, WiFi service and a simple breakfast in the Morning. It truly works for me!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LehighLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a 4th floor room, which I highly recommend for the great views of the Bay. Clean room with a balcony to sit on. This is our second stay at Apple Tree in 3 years and it has retained its fine quality. Read the other reviews. There's a reason for all the good ones. This is a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmodor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
1.1 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Petoskey
Super 8 Petoskey
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Apple Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apple Tree Inn

Property: The Apple Tree Inn
Address: 915 Spring St, Petoskey, MI 49770-2854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Petoskey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
#6 Business Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Apple Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Apple Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apple Tree Hotel Petoskey
Apple Tree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing