We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This visit fell quite a bit below my expectations.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We've stayed here on previous trips and this hotel was very nice, but this time the room wasn't clean and even when we mentioned this to the hotel staff and pointed out the specific issues, it was still not corrected (hair in tub and food under beds). The first night I thought that cleaning staff had just been interrupted, but after the issues weren't corrected the second night, I have to think its a bigger issue altogether. Breakfast was typical, parking was pretty full. Lobby was wet and VERY slick upon our arrival and three of us nearly fell, no luggage carts available for our use, but front desk staff offerred to help us which was nice. Some outlets didn't work and we had to keep an eye on the door when the kids left, as it didn't always shut behind us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2kidsMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you that I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve our in-property experience. I am so sorry that for this visit you found our hotel to be unclean and that our staff did not respond to your requests immediately. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel and have a pleasant stay. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in Petoskey.

Rebecca Loney
General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites
231.348.9555

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 584 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Clean, comfortable rooms for a reasonable price. Nice decor, especially in common area for breakfast, television lounge. Kids love the pool. Workout room is not huge, but contains two types of cardio and weights. Rooms overlooking the bay have great view. Close to restaurants & downtown and nicer than motels that are closer to ski hills. We come here at least once a year, and it is reliably a great experience.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidlandMom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Very nice hotel. The suite was large enough for my family of 5. We never felt we were "tripping over each other." The staff was pleasant, the room was clean and the breakfast was what you expect from Hampton not your typical juice and danish. We will be back.

Room Tip: First floor rooms on east end are near a secure entrance and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDaddyGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stay at allot of motels around the country and if you are in Northern Michigan don't miss this jewel .The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable The rooms are clean and comfortable The breakfast area is nice with a great assortment of hot breakfast food The management has done a great job with this motel. A must stop in your travels in this area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TC1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Almost close enough to walk downtown it sits just off the road to minimize road noise. Rooms were extremely clean and looked brand new.

Breakfast area is one of the nicest Hampton Inn's we've experienced! Staff was very attentive to making sure items were always stocked!

Room Tip: Request a room with a bay view, if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kstark12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here with family for two nights.

Check-in when smooth and were allowed to get into a room early without any issues. Front desk staff was accomadating.

This hotel has only one elevator. I always anticipated an issue with space or having to stop at every floor, however this was not the case. Only had one issue with having to wait because of overcrowding and elevator ran fairly quickly, again being that there was only one to use.

Breakfast was very good with a great view. Nice selection of food and the quality was excellent.

Exercise room was just okay. The view was great but the room was small. An elipical maching and a treadmill was pretty much all there was. A floor mat and medicine / exercise balls were available for use however I did not use the them. The room was always pleasantly cool and the water maching was a nice touch. Towels were there for our use but there was always a very limited number.

The rooms were nice with only the bare essentials - thus the "consistent with brand name" title. I stay at many different Hilton Hotels, each with their own identity. This room was exactly how it was described online. The beds were comfortable, view was great and seating was pretty nice as well (as there were four of us in this room). Television was a nice touch with HD stations available. No microwave or fridge and the coffee pot was in the bathroom next to the sink. The room and bathroom / shower were clean.

Checkout can be done over the phone or at the front desk. I did not see a checkout option on the television.

Parking was convenient and the alternate exits / entrances other than the main lobby were also convenient.

More likely than not, I would stay here again. The hotel is conveniently located near downtown and with a small strip mall with a grocery store and pizza place across the street.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dilligaf462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great place to stay while leaf peeping in the northern Michigan area. Breakfast room has panoramic views over Little Traverse Bay as do the bayside rooms in this hotel. Clean rooms with all the facilities you would expect from a Hampton Inn. Staff were efficient and very helpful as well as knowledgeable about the local area.

Room Tip: A bay-side room will guarantee you wake to a wonderful view each morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
0.1 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
470 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#1 of 15 in Petoskey
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
AmericInn Petoskey
AmericInn Petoskey
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
692 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
208 reviews
0.6 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey

Address: 920 Spring St, Petoskey, MI 49770-2855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Petoskey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
#4 Business Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range: $98 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy beautiful bay views from the Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey hotel, located near Little Traverse Bay in Petoskey, MI. Stroll around the historic gaslight district, explore the marina or Bayfront Park and discover more than 95 unique shops and boutiques in the downtown area. Visit the Crooked Tree Arts Center or if you’re here in winter, if you're here in winter, make sure to stop by Nub’s Nob Ski Area, just eight miles from this Petoskey hotel. Nub’s Nob boasts 53 ski slopes and trails on three peaks.You’ll always get the complete package of amenities at the Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey hotel - from the clean and fresh Hampton bed® in each guestroom to free high-speed internet access, great leisure facilities, and friendly service with a smile. Each morning, enjoy a tasty Hampton Free Hot Breakfast or if you’re in a rush, pick up Hampton on the Run® Breakfast Bag, available Monday to Friday. And it’s all backed by our 100% Hampton Guarantee™. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Petoskey
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey Hotel Petoskey
Hampton Inn Petoskey
Petoskey Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Hotel Petoskey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing