We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outward appearance nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has nice rooms and is clean. I travel for business and the one thing that matters about a hotel is the bed. If you like rock hard beds, this place is for you. I don't happen to be in that category, so I didn't sleep well at all. The breakfast needed a little work. Milk and juices were sitting out not very chilled any longer. I've had better.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goodhsi_admin1, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear guest,

I thank you for leaving feedback. It’s a value to hear feedback so that we may become well rounded for all our guests needs. We were excited to receive our new mattresses but we understand not all beds may be to everyone’s liking and we are sorry that you found deficiencies with our breakfast items. I will be sure to discuss with our staff, as breakfast is an integral part of your stay with any Hampton. We hope you may consider us again when you are in the area. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Angela, McClanahan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 549 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

My wife and I arrived without a reservation and since it was off season, there were plenty of rooms available. The price of $114 was very reasonable considering the room and amenities. Our room had a king bed, a kitchenette and bar fridge. The room was spacious and the surrounding area was very scenic.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve-n-Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

really liked this hotel, nicely done dining/common area and great service. The pool/hot tub are in an odd location in my opinion, however still enjoyable. The beds, as with all Hampton hotels were wonderful. Had no issues with giving us a later checkout, and all questions/recommendations were fantastic. Complimentary hot breakfast as well.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simply07sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I travel for work and stay at many Hampton Inn's. Upon my arrival, I received a call to make sure everything was OK. The rooms are as expected. Comfy beds, clean rooms, WiFi, flat screen TV, and that's really all I need. The blow dryer in my room didn't work so I went downstairs and the front desk agent gave me a key to another room. I know that these aren't checked each time a guest leaves but I hope the agent reported it so the next guest doesn't have the same issue. The area around this Hampton is very beautiful. Make sure you ask for a room with a view of the lake. Unfortunately, I was on the side without the view.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaterfallsLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goodhsi_admin1, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased that we met all the expectations of an avid Hampton traveler. We appreciate you alerting us that the hairdryer in your room was not operating properly. We did make note of your findings and after checkout, your room’s device was fixed. We hope that using an alternate room’s device, was not too much of an inconvenience. Again, thank you for letting us know about your issue, so we may be able to provide an exceptional environment for all who stay with us. We hope that you consider us on your next trip.

Thank you,
Angela McClanahan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Another visit, another good night's sleep in a great bed package. We never mind staying in the Petoskey Hampton Inn and can recommend it in good conscience to other travelers. Jonathan on the front desk recommended we eat at Southwoods across the street; he steered us well.

Room Tip: All rooms here are good
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essexofwessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goodhsi_admin1, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Dear Roerk,

I’m Angela, GM at hotel. Thank you for constant feedback! We value your loyalty and continuing patronage. I’m delighted to find out that you consider our hotel to be very dependable when you are traveling, and that we are meeting all of your expectations during your stay. It is a goal of any Hampton. I will let Jonathan know was that you were pleased with his recommendation. See you next time.

All the best,
Angela McClanahan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in late February. After making reservation with Hilton points, faxed request for quiet room, view of lake if possible, upgraded room if possible. Called day prior to verify receipt of fax, and was told we had been upgraded to a third floor King Jacuzzi suite. Rec'd apology, in advance, for flooring work going on during our stay (new flooring replacing carpeting on ground floor only).

Upon arrival on a Tuesday afternoon, quick check-in. Used two luggage carts, one had a flat tire which I reported. Room was very large (hence the name King Jacuzzi suite). Large jacuzzi tub right in the room. King bed, view of lake, albeit over the roof of a strip mall. Sitting or laying on bed gives a great view, standing up you can see the roof of the mall. Room was fairly clean although we did find spots on wall near sink and toothpaste residue on towel bar. Tub was nice, room had a refrigerator and bar sink also, although this is not standard in hotel. Bathroom sink drain was slow, and cabinet door under microwave was falling off.

Standard Hampton breakfast, nothing special, standard Sysco cuisine that most hotels serve at these types of breakfasts. No "On the Run Breakfast" bags were visible either day, we didn't ask for one, but most Hamptons I've been in have them on the front counter. On the first evening we got back after dinner (8PM) and went for a cup of decaf tea and decaf coffee. Hot water decanter was lukewarm, decaf coffee was very weak. Luckily our room had a microwave and a coffee brewer, we zapped the hot water and made a cup of decaf coffee. I find that most hotels that have coffee out 24 hours either don't ensure it's hot, don't ensure it's not empty, or put new coffee in with old - so I wasn't surprised at the 8PM issues, either not on the list for the desk clerk or he didn't do it. On the 2nd morning at breakfast (8AM) the regular coffee was empty (robust had some in it), I knocked on the door of the kitchen and she came out and made some. Waffle batter also was almost out, pointed that out to her. She remedied both situations AND apologized to me, no attitude or anything. Just lost track of the coffee status I guess.

I did note that I didn't get a copy of USA Today at my door (lousy paper anyway), on 2nd day most doors had one but mine didn't again. No issue, on way to breakfast and copies in the lobby by breakfast.

Staff was friendly, maid service was good.

All in all, this is an average Hampton at which we received an above-average room due to a Hilton Diamond upgrade, so I can't comment on the normal rooms. Minor things wrong, all corrected (or they said they'd correct them when brought to their attention). I have a lot of Hilton points, so I only stay at a Hilton properties when traveling if at all possible, and in Northern Michigan they only have Hamptons, which of course is the economical Hilton brand. The problem with TripAdvisor ratings is that you're comparing high end properties with more economical properties - a Hampton Inn isn't Homewood Suites which isn't Embassy Suites, which sure isn't a Waldorf Astoria - yet they all get compared together in these ratings. My rating of 4 out of 5 is to try and keep it relative to the market in Petoskey.

Room Tip: Third floor gives view of lake on one side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickTravelingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goodhsi_admin1, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Dear rickmktg,

I’m Angela McClanahan General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites in Petoskey. Thank you so much for staying with us and leaving positive feedback. We appreciate the time you have taken and also for pointing out areas for us to improve upon. Our on the go breakfast bags should have been available and I apologize if there were none on hand. I will discuss with our staff this concern as well as the other points you have mentioned. I am glad that my staff was able to assist with your issues quickly and politely. We hope you’ll stay with us again.

All the best,
Angela McClanahan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Rarely do Hampton Inns have any type of view, so we were pleasantly surprised to see Lake Michigan from our window. We were on the bottom floor, and they only have rooms on the lakeside at that level, yet we still had a view.

The room was quite fine, and the windows even opened for fresh air. We used the coin laundry and found that all went well, despite the fact there was one washer and one dryer. We also used the pool, and were able to prop the door for some fresh air there as well. There is a sun deck outside...an outdoor patio of sorts.

We enjoyed our stay here, and especially enjoyed our first trip to Petoskey. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MySheWasYar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
0.1 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
457 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
1.1 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
199 reviews
0.6 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
745 reviews
1.1 mi away
AmericInn Petoskey
AmericInn Petoskey
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey

Address: 920 Spring St, Petoskey, MI 49770-2855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Petoskey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
#4 Business Hotel in Petoskey
Price Range: $128 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy beautiful bay views from the Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey hotel, located near Little Traverse Bay in Petoskey, MI. Stroll around the historic gaslight district, explore the marina or Bayfront Park and discover more than 95 unique shops and boutiques in the downtown area. Visit the Crooked Tree Arts Center or if you’re here in winter, if you're here in winter, make sure to stop by Nub’s Nob Ski Area, just eight miles from this Petoskey hotel. Nub’s Nob boasts 53 ski slopes and trails on three peaks.You’ll always get the complete package of amenities at the Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey hotel - from the clean and fresh Hampton bed® in each guestroom to free high-speed internet access, great leisure facilities, and friendly service with a smile. Each morning, enjoy a tasty Hampton Free Hot Breakfast or if you’re in a rush, pick up Hampton on the Run® Breakfast Bag, available Monday to Friday. And it’s all backed by our 100% Hampton Guarantee™. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey Hotel Petoskey
Hampton Inn And Suites Petoskey
Hampton Inn Petoskey
Petoskey Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Hotel Petoskey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing