We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, fun atmosphere.”
Review of Papa Lou's - CLOSED

Papa Lou's
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great staff, fun atmosphere.”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were just here for some drinks on this occasion. Friendly service, nice staff. On other occasions food was delicious. This time we heard people raving about the pizza. Its known you can't get a bad pizza here. Nice bar, lots of tasty (local) beers on tap.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregandkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    34
    19
    7
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland County, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

A few of us headed up to Petoskey for a girls weekend. We ended up here for dinner one of the evenings and were not disappointed. The pizza was good and the beer cold. We shared a Della Donna and a Good Fella pizza for a very different taste and combination. We weren't disappointed in our selections. Wish it would have been a little busier, so the upstairs bar would've been open! The bar upstairs is lined with swings, fun little twist to a night out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmacnmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Don't eat here if you want a pleasant experience”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

If you enjoy food and appreciate good service, don't give them your business. There are too many nice places to eat in Petoskey. We tried to have lunch here and had problems with the hostess, busboy, and eventually, the manager and who seemed to be her assistant. I have never complained in a restaurant before, so I was shocked that when I complained to the manager that we had been at a table over twenty minutes without so much as a hello from a server, that the manager and her assistant told my friend and I to our faces that we were lying and that never happened. We had been polite up until that point and repeated our story and she just repeated that we were lying, that never happened. So we left. Don't waste your time and money on very rude staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Papa Lou's has great pizza and cold beer. It is great after a long day of skiing or adventuring through downtown Petoskey.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jtwmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“French onion soup bowl”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We each ordered the french onion soup bowl. Only $5 per bowl and a meal in itself. We also ordered the spinach artichoke dip in a bread bowl at the same time not realizing how huge they would all turn out to be. We figured that only being $5 the soup would come in tiny bread bowls. We were so full we took the spinach bowl with us for later.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2livoniatravelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Lou's also viewed

Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing