We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST WAITERS IN TOWN”

El Ranchero Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #84 of 102 Restaurants in Petoskey
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
petoskey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WORST WAITERS IN TOWN”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The food is good BUT the waiters could not give a defiinition of what a customer is, if they were held up at gunpoint. The waiters speak in spanish about the customers and laugh and are so RUDE that it isn't any wonder why they will be stuck in a 3 dollar job for the rest of their lives. The complete rudeness and disrespect for a customer, far outweighs how good the food is. I've been there 50 times, and been treated rudely 50 times. Go to Seniorita.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank terri h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    33
    13
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent, Authentic Mexican Food at El Ranchero!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I love this local restaurant. The colorful booths (wish I had taken a picture!) and decor comes from Mexico. The food is delicious and the wait-staff is friendly. This was our third visit. We were a group of 4, and all of our dishes were hot, delicious and appealing to the eye.

There is a wide variety of drinks and old staples - Margarita's and much more. They have virgin daiquiri's for the kids, too.

Beats the only other Mexican restaurant hands down! You won't get a bad meal here - and they had posted a Trip Advisor sticker on the door. Way to go!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Mi
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Decor is super”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The tables and booths are very colorful and interesting to look at. Service was very good. Food was good too but does not compare to Sagebrush Cantina in Lake Orion, MI.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bikingkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Thank goodness for real mexican food in Petoskey”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Having lived in the southwest, I really missed good Mexican food, and the long-time local chain here (no names) is a joke (don't ask me why it's always crowded). El Ranchero is excellent, quick, and mostly authentic. I wish they advertised more; I'm afraid with their location they don't get as much business as they could, and I don't want to lose them. The only complaint is that the beef is dry.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal w/ A Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My family and I had a great meal with great prices, great atmosphere, and a very friendly staff. A place where I would definitely go back to without hesitation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjclmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ranchero Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 

Been to El Ranchero Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing