We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Refreshing"”
Review of Twisted Olive

Twisted Olive
Ranked #8 of 102 Restaurants in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Coastal Mediterranean with a Northern Michigan twist. Sunday we open at 8AM
Tawas City, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Refreshing"”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Lunch time is popular so plan accordingly. I had the grilled peach and goat cheese salad which was picture perfect and delious. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MyAbbeyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    111
    36
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 702 helpful votes
“Big Big Breakfast!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is not your usual size morning breakfast. I had the Omelet of the Day which was a 3 egg size, very fluffy and full of cheese and bacon. Add to that the truffle roasted potatoes and large piece of sour dough bread. And a breakfast fit for a King! Great value here and we really enjoyed the service and food, a very friendly staff and nice lake view.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Love2TrvlMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Timing is everything”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

After reading reviews, we decided to time our visit to arrive just before 2 on a weekday - cut down wait time to under 10 mins to sit inside ( best for viewi). It was a beautiful fall day so lots of folks enjoying the wonderful city of Petoskey. They serve breakfast and lunch til 3. The menu is varied and full of interesting choices. One of us ordered the omelette of the day and one of us ordered fresh veg soup and chicken kabob with cipollini onions on a bed of greens. The winner was the dessert - a key lime cake with macadamian nuts. A cross between a cookie and scone. Yum. Would try again for sure.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbST_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, TX
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A step up from fast food and burgers”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

An oasis of calm on a busy, Petoskey summer weekend. Delicious and healthy food, as is true next door at Palette. I recommend that you try them both!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hillcountrytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good but could have been so much better”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stopped in for lunch on our way back from the Harbor Springs Classic fall bike tour. The Twised Olive has an interior setting that is almost as good as some of the restaurant views in La Jolla California, and on the beautiful early fall Michigan day we were there, it more than gave those views a run for their money at a far more reasonable price.

The service we had, sadly, did not do the view justice. While initially friendly, we were never asked if we wanted more coffee or saw our water refilled. Once the food landed on our table we were mostly I felt on our own. The food itself was very good. The pancakes, bloody mary omelet, and bacon were all wonderful. The omelet was unique and "twisted" as the name implied. The sourdough toast was clearly artisan and not commerical and accompanied by what I perceived was house made jam. I also got a dish of the house made hot sauce to add to the truffled potatoes that accompanied the omelet. The potatoes were the only disappointment of the meal. Undercooked and underflavored, I left half on the plate. Portions were large and delivered hot right from the open kitchen 10 feet from our table. My coffee was much better than the average, clearly a carefully thought out selection of fair trade beans.

We both wished the service had lived up to the food and the view. It is worth another try the next time we are in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank dwynep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twisted Olive also viewed

Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
 

Been to Twisted Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing