We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and view”
Review of Bay Inn Petoskey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Inn Petoskey
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent location and view”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. The view of the bay, especially from the second floor, is amazing. Rooms are clean and well cared for. Location is easy to find and very convenient for all local areas. Will definitely be staying there again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    36
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
24
49
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

In October 2012 I had the pleasure to attend a wedding and stayed for two enjoyable nights at the inn. The room was spacious and the staff very helpful and responsive. The immediate area interesting and enjoyable with shops and beautiful views. I had never visited the area but would clearly love to go again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room with a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D c
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Nice small motel and stayed there twice for husband's surgery at suggestion of hospital. Really. Reasonable rates first time but on return visit-charged 3O.00 more per nite on same nights of week. Strange. But even worse, the night before surgery arrived to find hotel had NO WATER after checking in room and still had To Pay Full Price. Imagine being handed a jar if water to wash your face and brush your teeth and then getting up at 6 am with still no water. Stayed at Holiday inn express next two times.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marydruppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley O, Owner at Bay Inn Petoskey, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Verne and I work hard to provide a clean and comfortable stay at reasonable rates for

all our guests.

When notified late in the evening of a problem with the water a emergency contractor came over

and by midnight all guests rooms had water.

We are sorry for any inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Shirley and Verne Osterlund, owners Bay Inn of Petoskey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently on a trip to the area, and would highly recommend it to everyone. The price was so reasonable, and the view was tremendous (Little Traverse Bay), seen from every room since the hotel faces the bay and is across the road from it, with no obstructions. The room was lovely and clean, although the fixtures (bathroom sink) could possibly use an update. But that was a minor thing, and helps to justify the lower price, I'm sure. I didn't realize there was a continental breakfast, as one reviewer mentioned, but we were offered breakfast bars, tea and cocoa packets when we arrived. The owner recommended making reservations with them directly rather than using a third party online. It increases their profits and may reduce the price from the very reasonable rate we paid, even with reserving online.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

If I were to own a hotel, this would be how I would want it. Very clean, comfortable and well situated. It was every bit as nice as in the photos though I might lose the red plastic table cloth in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgraham505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effingham, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic view of the lake. Rooms were clean and accommodating even though the facility was showing some age. Owners were super nice and prepared a very nice continental breakfast. We were with a bus tour and since there was no elevator to the second floor several had to be helped with their luggage. The owner was very helpful to get the luggage to these rooms. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley O, Owner at Bay Inn Petoskey, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for staying at Bay Inn of Petoskey.

Verne and I are hands on owners and work every day to provide our guests with a clean,

comfortable guest rooms. We enjoyed visiting with your bus tour group and hope to see you again soon.

Our charming little Inn over-looking Lake Michigan is unique and provides views of Lake Michigan

with a terrific value and reasonable rates.


Best Regards, Shirley and Verne Osterlund, owners

Bay Inn of Petoskey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our room, on the second floor, looks out on Lake Michigan. The sunset was fabulous and nothing obstructed our view. When we arrived, I found we had reserved a room with just one king sized bed. When traveling, we prefer two beds, so I asked the owner if we could have a room with two beds. He quickly assured me that we could. I asked if it would be at additional cost and he told me that we could have it at the same price as the single bed room. Our room was clean, the beds were comfortable and the towels were fluffy and plentiful. When I asked for advice on dinner that night, the owner made a recommendation which turned out to be excellent.

Room Tip: Take a room upstairs for a sweeping view of lovely Lake Michigan. Rooms all open to the outside. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarclaySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
1.0 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
433 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
623 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
1.2 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
722 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Inn Petoskey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Inn Petoskey

Property: Bay Inn Petoskey
Address: 2445 Charlevoix Ave, Petoskey, MI 49770-9795
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Inn Petoskey 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the hillside above Lake Michigan with million-dollar views and an ideal location, this Magnuson Hotels affiliate is within minutes of the most spectacular sights and activities that northern Michigan has to offer. Beachfront hiking, sailing on Lake Michigan, skiing, and world-class golfing are all minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bay Inn Petoskey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing