We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, quaint, unique, one of a kind”

Chandler's A Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Chandler's A Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 101 Restaurants in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Located in the heart of downtown Petoskey, Chandler's - A Restaurant is a cozy and inviting place nestled behind Symons General Store. Chef Tommy creatively crafts seasonal menus and daily specials which offer a delightful selection of local fare, fresh fish, sushi and entrees prepared to perfection. We also proudly feature an extensive wine list and fun and unique cocktails such as the "Howard Street Punch" and "Awesome Coffee", that is sure to please any palate. For a change of scenery, guests can enjoy dining in our Wine Cellar where they are surrounded by the 4,000 bottle collection that serves both Chandler's and Symons General Store. Our Wine Cellar seats up to 54 guests and is available for private parties and special events. Enjoy live music every Friday and Saturday evening and in the summertime, dine on our outdoor patio and enjoy evening, live music every night of the week.
Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Small, quaint, unique, one of a kind”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Just happened on this place. Food was prepared perfectly, like a 5TAR RESTAURANT.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary2273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    76
    25
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a pleasant surprise”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stopped into Petosky to do a little shopping and got hungry and wanted a bite to eat. This restaurant is located in the lower floor (basement?) of a building. You walk in and it almost looks like a wine cellar. I had a grilled cheese , swiss, feta, cheddar?, with grilled onions and tomatoes. My sister had the 5 dragon sandwich. Both were fabulous and had a unique spin on them. One had a great sauce, both had a lovely presentation. I would definately go there again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nacho67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner: Highlight of our romantic escapade!”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We were recommended Chandler's by a dear friend. Managed to a get a reservation the day of at 830pm, which was fine by us. Split a bottle of Pinot Noir. Enjoyed some Foie Gras for appetizers. Wife had the Barramundi and I had the Veal. Both being exceptional. Loved the cosy open kitchen concept!
Would definitely return when we visit Petoskey again!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluelight77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, MO
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“wonderful breakfast/lunch on a Sunday in Petoskey”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband and two friends reached Petoskey around lunchtime on a Sunday. Chandler's was the first open restaurant we found, and we were very happy with it. Two of us had sandwiches, and two had breakfast items (French toast and frittata). All of us were very pleased with our meal. By the time we left, all tables were full. This is a small restaurant, and the cooking smells from the griddle were a slight negative. We would definitely return.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrugalTraveler95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great food fun place in northern Michigan”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

one of our favorite places anywhere! food is alway great with seasonal changes to menu. the staff is very friendly with a fun lively atmosphere! Mark and Lisa Grand Rapids MI

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marco155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chandler's A Restaurant also viewed

Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
Petoskey, Emmet County
 
Petoskey, Emmet County
 

Been to Chandler's A Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing