We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful spot...a bit pricey...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stafford's Bay View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stafford's Bay View Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Petoskey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A beautiful spot...a bit pricey...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Did not stay here, as it was a bit pricey for our budget, but attended the wedding of good friends' daughter...the wedding was gorgeous...the staff went out of their way to make sure the set up and the wedding went without a glitch...the food served may have been the best wedding food EVER! My daughter and her family stayed at the hotel...their room was small, but, oh well, it is an old hotel. My only complaint is that when the mother of the bride asked for a carafe of coffee and some cups for guests meeting on the porch, she was told they were too busy to accommodate her...really? at the amount of money she was spending there that weekend?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowescapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVI1886, Manager at Stafford's Bay View Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Snowescapers,

Thank you for taking the time to write both the positives and concerns about your recent visit with us. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your wedding.

Our guests’ opinions and needs are of utmost importance to us. We deeply apologize if your wedding experience was not 100% positive. We hope you return someday and give us another try. I would like to contact you by phone or contact me direct at 231-347- 2771 and I look forward to hearing from you soon.


Sincerely,

Corey Ernst
Innkeeper
Stafford’s Bay View Inn
231-347-2771
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    40
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
40
136
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Roselawn dining room at Stafford’s Bay View Inn is a very well-appointed venue with a partial view of the bay and the Inn’s garden.

We ordered the coconut shrimp and the cirrus barbecue salmon. The former was the best we ever shared. It was a perfect marriage of the two dominant flavors. Not greasy at all. Order it! The salmon was very flavorful. It came with rice and broccoli. It was perfectly cooked. The six dollar cabernet was smooth, and less expensive than Stafford’s own label.

Karissa was our server. Tips to server: when we keep a wine/alcohol list to peruse, it is expert salesmanship to inquire later whether we want to order; when diners order pie, inquire if it should be served hot/warm for heaven’s sake; at bill presentation time always ask if patrons would like to charge the meal to the room; and finally DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES return to the table to pick up the leatherette folder with money or whatever until guest(s) leave.

We had to request pie to be warmed/heated after it was presented with ice cream on the plate! We were reconfiguring one billfold (putting ones, fives, tens, etc) in order and endeavoring to discern the tip when Karissa came to the table to take the payment. It was more than obvious that money was laid out in front of one of us and, there is never a time to come for the payment until we are done and depart from the table!

So food great; server needs training. Total rating therefore will be Average. If server had been thoroughly professional this rating would be Excellent.

Roselawn Restaurant within Stafford’s Bay View Inn is the site of the breakfast part of this B & B. We enjoyed our breakfast. We received a voucher for breakfast in lieu of a standard B & B breakfast. This worked, but we had to get coffee (free) from the sunroom to not go above the $25 (as I remember) voucher!

Sirius station played loudly enough in the room to be annoying and also for the selected station: 40’s music. The Love or Spa channels would work and played at a lower audible level.

This venue provides partial view of bay and of the Inn’s garden.

Our server was John. He was excellent from top to bottom! We ordered the ham and cheese omelet, French toast with Michigan cherry preserves including ACTUAL maple syrup and butter, plus a large glass of juice. All within the voucher amount not including tip. All the food was excellent.

Our room at the Stafford’s Bay View Inn was a bit small for the “king” bed. Partner, though thin, had to squeeze into and out of bed!

Nice touch was a CD player in the room. We had a partial bay view from the room and could see the garden of the inn from windows. The garden and the green space just to the west with swings were very nice to watch the sun set and bay.

The bed was very funky and that is not a compliment. It appeared to be two twin mattresses covered with some soft material like memory foam. There was a definite crevice in the middle running head to foot.

No TV in the room but televisions exist in the library on the second floor and in the sun room on the first. This was not an issue for us.

Nice touch: complimentary iced tea, coffee, lemonade and Pepsi products in the bar adjacent to the beautiful sun room. The restaurant on site served the breakfast for this B & B. A set dollar amount voucher was provided in lieu of a standard bed and breakfast meal. This was not an issue. See separate reviews of the evening meal taken at the Inn (Roselawn Restaurant) and the breakfast at the inn.

The porch for the Inn is entirely too small with severely limited seating and should be extended around the facility on the north side to accommodate the large number of guests that could be at the facility. It should not be covered as that might restrict views from the restaurant.

(We ate at Julienne Tomatoes Deli & Bakery for lunch and the Roselawn Restaurant within Stafford’s Bay View Inn while in Petoskey. See separate reviews.)

It did not take us longer than one, perhaps, two times hauling large suitcases up one or two flights of stairs at B & B or other lodgings to learn how to pack for such ordeals. At home plan appropriately for the different days: secure bags (plastic?) and place folded clothes and socks in bags labeled Saturday, Sunday, whatever. Place in order in large suitcase. Then, provided you’re driving, (this only works in this context!), simply pull from the large suitcase the appropriate bag for the specific day and take that bag along with whatever carry-on luggage you need (medical equipment, shave kit, makeup kit etc) up to your room via the stairs or elevator. Makes life much simpler!
(In context like Mackinac Island, simply put bags in second carry-on.)

Room Tip: Get a room with a bay & garden view. See packing tip in verbiage above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idemandthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the inn, in fact, we enjoyed it so much we extended our stay to a second night instead of going on to Traverse City. The only problem was that the rooms varied so greatly at the same price point and our second room (room 8) was a real disappointment--thus the four stars instead of five. Our first room #36 was very inn-like and charming--it was on the street side but it was a cool evening and we kept the windows closed so it was not an issue at all.
The inn is old so you need to embrace the old school styling and enjoy the wonderful old school service that you just don't get anymore. All the staff could not have been any better!!!! We were there Labor Day and I fully expected Johnny and Baby to come out for the end of season dance--it just has that feel. Next time I will take my pearls and a cardi for dinner in the dining room, (hahaha, just kidding).
The porch with white wicker rockers were so welcome after a day of biking to Charlevoix and just perfect to catch the last few rays of sunshine.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 36 which was street-side, economy priced. We did not enjoy room 8 which was also st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked this Inn because Petoskey, a prime summer vacation spot, was booked to the gills (Walleye gills). It's not our usual place, almost a bed and breakfast, though the rooms are spacious. When did they start calling single rooms "suites?" Still, it was a large room with a bay window looking out on the actual Bay, and a giant bathroom with Jacuzzi tub (very hard to work). The whole Inn, began in 1886, is pristine. Flowered wallpaper and warm color paint everywhere. We had blue hydrangeas. No phones or TVs in the rooms add to the from another time atmosphere. We picked a less than special night, as it was Saturday and the Inn hosted a big wedding...of course they must have weddings most Saturdays in summer. The little ones were kind of loud, running the halls like bulls far into the night.
The staffers were uniformly kind and helpful (shout out to two very young women who helped us get all our stuff in, when parking was an issue), though for some reason we did not hit it off with our brunch server. Breakfast is included and this Inn is well known for its spectacular Sunday brunches. I think if I'd put less food on my plate the first round, it would have tasted better. You will be amazed at all the selections.
I'd tell them to get bigger towels. Otherwise, I would say bravo to this venerable institution. It's special despite our visit night!

Room Tip: The Inn has 2nd and third floors, 31 rooms. We'd have preferred 3rd floor. Try a suite! And a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan, Usa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stafford's Bay View Inn is a wonderful Victorian inn on Little Traverse Bay in Bay View/Petoskey, Michigan. My wife and I have been staying every year for many years. We always try to get Rm #43, which has a Jacuzzi, fireplace, A/C and a wonderful view of the bay and the gardens. The breakfasts are great - try to stay on a Saturday so you can enjoy the Sunday brunch. On a nice day there is nothing we like more than reading a book while sitting on the porch enjoying a beverage and the view of the bay. You may see a wedding on a Saturday afternoon! The inn is on the biking/running/walking path that runs from Charlevoix through Petoskey on to Harbor Springs - great for a morning walk. It is an easy walk up to the hill to Hall Auditorium for Saturday or Sunday night programs (verify the schedules). The rooms have no TV or phone, although TV is available in the library and sunroom and WiFi is provided throughout. If you're not staying at the inn, you can still enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner there (remember the Sunday brunch). Note that this is not the place for you if you want all the modern conveniences, but it is a wonderful, relaxing inn with great food and drinks.

Room Tip: Bay-side rooms are quieter and a bit more costly. You receive vouchers for breakfasts (including br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 18038Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our first trip to Petoskey and we are always a little concerned about the hotel we choose on that first visit anywhere. We chose the right place! Our room was small but beautifully appointed and without a doubt, the cleanest room we have ever had anywhere! The common areas of the Inn are just as nice with beautful decor. The staff is so accommodating and friendly. The breakfasts and dinners were wonderful and the view of the Bay from the dining room makes every mealtime special. It was a real treat to sit on the porch and just relax afterward and enjoy the scenery. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceDublinOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is the first property for Stafford's. Stafford and his wife acquired the Inn over 50 years ago and have made it a real treasure. We stayed at Stafford's Crooked Creek Lodge but went to the inn for dinner twice. The dinning room overlooks Little Traverse Bay and a garden full of flowers where a wedding had just finished. The dining room is part of the Inn but is open to the public and is well worth the trip. Had their Inn Special of Planked Whitefish following a delightful spinach dip appetizer and it was the best meal of our trip which included dinner at the Grand Hotel. The price was very reasonable and the service was great.

Room Tip: Tripadviser should list this under retaurants as well as Hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackorrcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petoskey hotels
1.4 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
2.9 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#5 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stafford's Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford's Bay View Inn

Property: Stafford's Bay View Inn
Address: 2011 Woodland Ave, Petoskey, MI 49770-5069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Petoskey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stafford's Bay View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stafford's Bay View Inn offers guests the grace and romance of a bygone era, set against the exquisite views of Little Traverse Bay. Some of Northern Michigan's finest dining can be experienced in our Roselawn Dining Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Stafford's Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford`s Bay View Hotel Petoskey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing