We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but not in town!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Days Inn Suites
Ranked #3 of 11 Pentwater B&B and Inns
Midwest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice, but not in town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

Rooms are spacious, well kept and even on a weekend when my family was there, the place was quiet. Can't complain about the room at all. Breakfast was adequate...no bread other than bagels but, they did have a waffle maker.

My only complaint is that this place is sometimes listed as 0.0 miles from Pentwater. It is NOT. It is 3.5 miles into Pentwater, so if you want to stay within walking distance of downtown and the beach, this is not the place for you as it's located off US 31, the main north-south freeway.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BobCMIdwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    45
    33
    21
    11
See reviews for
70
60
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Okemos
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2008

I travel alot for work, and can confidently say that this hotel is pretty average for one built within the last 5 to 10 years: newer furniture, full cable options, nice pool. I'm writing this during my stay, so can't really contest any of the previous reviews that state that the breakfast is underwhelming, I'll have to report on that tomorrow; however, I'm compelled to write to you now, gentle reader, while sitting in the hotel lobby, which is necessary in order ot access the hotel's wi-fi.

Yes, you just read that correctly -- there's wi-fi available here at the hotel, but it can only be accessed while sitting in the hotel lobby. In this day and age, how is it possible that a "new" hotel's wi-fi cannot be accessed from every room? Yes, I am spoiled; but c'mon, I was just in Clare, MI at a Days Inn (DAYS INN, people!!) and had wi-fi in my room!! So, if you are travelling for business (like I am) and need to check in on your messages before you're knee-deep and days behind when you return to the office (like I would be) and are planning staying at this hotel, either bring your own Internet cable so you can go on-line from the comfort of your room, or plan on setting up shop in the lobby. Sure, there appeared to have been the opportunity to check out cables from the front desk, but by the time I got over my stupification over not having wi-fi access from my room, the cables were all checked out. (Who really knows how many were on hand in the first place?)

As for the comments on this hotel being over-priced: I'm staying here b/c it was one of the more reasonably priced hotels around. I'm here at the AAA rate of $81/night for a non-smoking, king-size bed room. Granted that it's a Tuesday evening, but that's better than the $100-plus per night at the Ramada in Ludington (the RAMADA!!; it's no longer the 70's folks, you're no longer that special!).

  • Liked — Just off the highway; reservations were easy via Best Western website
  • Disliked — Wi-fi available only in lobby
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank geoknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2007

Me, my husband and 2 kids stayed here for the Pentwater Oktoberfest weekend and it was great. The staff was extremely helpful (especially Jennifer), the breakfast was great and the pool and exercise area were great as well. They had fresh coffee in the lobby 24 hrs a day. They even have real live tortoises and koi ponds in the atrium area that the kids loved to look at. We also loved that they had a late check out of 12:00.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ekalsraes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2007

Our family has stayed at the Best Western in Pentwater at least five times. The kids really love the swimming pool and the manager was so kind as to offer the kids pool toys to play with. We really enjoy our stays although we have been to the hotel in bad weather and the internet was out, but they assured us it would be back and it was. The signal for internet is nice and speedy. I take my laptop with me for I’m a very hooked computer person. The manager is a very dear friend of ours now. Its a very lovely hotel where everyone is very friendly I've never had a problem with staff members. I think the best part is their indoor atrium with a water fall and the African Sulcada tortoises. Like other hotels this one dose not have a simple hallway it has much more space. In the middle of the hotel you can look up and beautiful light shines through the windows above letting light sparkle upon the waterfall. Even the outside of the hotel is wonderful. They have two ponds on which pet ducks swim in. Also you can go fishing in the pond. The scenery is filled with trees and landscaped so beautifully is the only was I can put it. I cant even tell you how much I hope you come visit this hotel. I have a great time there and am shocked to hear that someone hasn’t its very surprising although I've only heard it once and that’s of one report found on this sight "I strongly disagree". I guess everyone just has their bad days some times and make things seem worse than they possibly could have been. Also the hotel is wonderful at giving good prices (unless its busy time which is highly understandable) if you call and talk to the manager (the man) I’m sure he would help you out as much as possible. His wife is also a dear friends, but she’s not as easy on really low rates although she’s a sweet hart and makes me smile. This is a very EXCELLENT Hotel for family because its owned by a family, and they understand. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Scenery
  • Disliked — Room is cold at first, but heaters work good. (Winter)
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WellTraveled82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2006

Very nice new hotel. Had a two room suite with mini kitchen.
Nice for our family of 4. Staff very kind. Breakfast okay.
Hope to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank valbth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2006

This is an over-priced motel with little service, hostile staff, and when we were there, the Internet was not working and no plans to fix it, the hot tub was out-of-order, no telephone books in the rooms, and the breakfast area is tiny with little to offer. And all this for over $200 a day. Really, stay clear, clear, CLEAR of this place.

Helpful?
4 Thank FloatingBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pentwater hotels

Pentwater, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2006

I had my 50th birthday party at the Pentwater Trace Inn & Suites (Best Western). The hotel is a beautiful addition to this community -- I should know--I live here. The rooms are well-appointed with nice furniture. The hotel just opened in June of 2005 and is complete with outside water falls and inside rock gardens and falls with some beautiful tortoises that give a great performance!

The hospitatlity room holds up to around 200 people and has a beautiful kitchen area and floor area.

The breakfast is good and comes with the price of the room. It has a nice swimming pool, exercise room and whirlpool. This hotel is all non-smoking but ashtrays are provided for people who want to step outside for a smoke.

This is a really nice place!

Helpful?
4 Thank jega5547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pentwater
9.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 17 in Ludington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
9.3 mi away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
10.4 mi away
Nader's Lakeshore Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#12 of 17 in Ludington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
9.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lakewinds
BEST WESTERN Lakewinds
#3 of 17 in Ludington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
9.5 mi away
Viking Arms Inn
Viking Arms Inn
#8 of 17 in Ludington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Suites

Property: Days Inn Suites
Address: 7576 S Pere Marquette Hwy, Pentwater, MI 49449-8787 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Pentwater)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Pentwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pentwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Days Inn Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Pentwater
Comfort Inn & Suites Pentwater Hotel Pentwater
Best Western Pentwater
Pentwater Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing