We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach Campground”

Charles Mears State Park
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Pentwater
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Canton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Beach Campground”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The sites are close together like they are at most state park beaches, but it is a short walk to the water.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelerAdvisor43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    13
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pentwater, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous camping”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Clean- friendly- fun. Easy walk into town. Great beach and swimming. All ages. Don't miss it!!! It's a gem!!!! Lake Michigan. We were a couple but lots of families plus you get your own fire pit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank proach1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Should keep this a secret”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Honestly, should I really share with all the world to see what a great park this is? I would say it is the nicest between Chicago and Pentwater!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ABBohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“Lovely Beach”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We got lost and ended up finding this beautiful state park. We had gone to Pentwater for breakfast, and made a wrong turn on our way back to the Silver Lake area when we saw this park. We decided to stop, and once we saw the beautiful beach our plans for the day changed. Instead of going back to Mears, we parked our car and spent two hours enjoying this lovely beach. There are dunes, a large, sandy beach area, and easy access to Lake Michigan. This is the best beach we've been to in Michigan, and we'll be back again. It is truly a hidden gem, and I am so glad we accidentally stumbled upon it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Skye9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dirty Bathrooms- Nice sunset”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Like: Pentwater beach is so beautiful! The pier is fun to talk down. The sunsets are amazing.
Dislikes: The bathrooms are tragic. There was about an inch of standing muck on the floors. No toilet paper, a clogged sink. I mean...
Overall Pentwater is beautiful and I understand it's a state park, but c'mon!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles Mears State Park also viewed

 
Pentwater, Oceana County
Pentwater, Oceana County
 

Been to Charles Mears State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing