We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful beach

This state park has a beautiful beach on Lake Michigan. Beautiful sandy beach, fabulous sunsets... read more

Reviewed October 2, 2018
Culture206141
via mobile
Worth Every Bit of the $9 Out of State Fee

We went to Pentwater, MI as a halfway point between our home and Mackinac Island. It just so... read more

Reviewed September 24, 2018
JosephatFremont
,
Fremont, Ohio
via mobile
Read all 128 reviews
  
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
98
18
5
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
18
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful beach state park lake michigan ice cream concession stand paddle boards watching the sunset nice campground bike ride beach store every summer for sale great setting wife's family a special place walking distance to downtown a lot of fun
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 128 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

This state park has a beautiful beach on Lake Michigan. Beautiful sandy beach, fabulous sunsets! Heaven on earth.

Thank Culture206141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

We went to Pentwater, MI as a halfway point between our home and Mackinac Island. It just so happened that the Art and Craft Festival was on for that weekend. After touring that wonderful event we found the park and so glad that we did. The beach front is beautiful, the bath facilities are very clean (cleaner and more accommodating that some hotel rooms) and the views are incredible. We love to walk beaches. While the parks beach is relatively small, the State of Michigan has reserved pedestrian access to this area of Lake Michigan Beach. We walked for nearly 2 hours and sat to advise the lake views for another half hour. This park was used heavily, even on a cool day, by families and couples. We were very impressed. A huge upgrade from the comparably shabby way Ohio parks treat their beachfront properties on Lake Erie.

1  Thank JosephatFremont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

We stayed with our extended family who were camping here, so happy we came up for a visit. We drove to Silver Lake one day and spent another day at the beach, can’t wait to return!

Thank Angie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

A wonderful family beach. It was very clean and we enjoyed our day! Nice restroom facilities, a concession stand, etc.

Thank DesertWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Charles Mears State Park is on Lake Michigan at Pentwater, MI. It's an easy walk from almost anywhere in town, and an even easier bike ride. The parking lot and campsites require a state park pass, but everyone can use the beach and beach facilities, walk out on the channel pier, use the handicapped ways down to the water, swim or sit on a bench watching the sunset with a House of Flavors ice cream cone dividing your attention. This is a white "singing sand" beach with a sandy bottom. Lovely.

1  Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

Quite crowded but family atmosphere, nice clean sand good facilities. Water is shallow and safe bathing area clearly marked with bollards. Excellent beach for family outing.

1  Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018

Beautiful, clean beach. Lovely view. Public parking and bathrooms within easy walking distance. My only gripe: the wind! It blew constantly. I ended up getting sand in my eye. The water temperature is also very hit or miss. Very comfortable one day and freezing cold the next.

Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018

Loved the hiking and the light house..there are inner tube you can use and do a lazy river float which is very fun if the weather is nice.

1  Thank Rhodesian14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

we live in Pentwater \but are not fortunate enough to have a lake view. we ride our bikes down to park (1/2 mi) and do not miss the payments for a lake view house at all. we often spend the whole day there. very friendly staff. Chris especially.

Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

This park Is mainly for Rvs & camping. Lots of parking. The beach is small. But u can walk along like Michigan & enjoy the waves rolling in. But this one just wasn't for me

Thank Randym344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews