We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ants in my Pants” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pellston Lodge Magnuson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pellston Lodge Magnuson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pellston
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ants in my Pants”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

A beautiful lobby and nice rooms, but don't get a room on the ground floor. SERIOUS ANTS!!! In the bed, on the walls, counters, everywhere. Very hard to sleep when you feel all crawly!When I informed the woman at the front desk about it, her response was "its Northern Michigan." Which was great, because I didn't already know where I was! Ha!

Room Tip: Don't stay on the ground floor if you want to avoid the ants!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raybait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PellstonLodgeGM, General Manager at Pellston Lodge Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
I am very sorry that you had that problem when you were with us, and that you were given such a flippant response. Last year was a bad one for ants but, we may have been able to assist you in moving upstairs to a room where you didn't feel "creepy crawly" I don't think I would have gotten a good nights rest either. I do want to assure you that they are under control now and hope that you will try us again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    53
    38
    12
    14
See reviews for
59
60
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We booked late for the 4th weekend so there wasn't much choices but this worked out great. The staff was very friendly and even gave our daughter a cookie. We used the pool area and it was just what we needed after a long drive. We did get in late and the staff pointed out places to eat and times they closed (not much of a choice of restaurants in the area). The breakfast was very good even for a typical breakfast that's normally offered but they did have a waffle maker. The only down side was the bath fan was a bit loud so once our daughter went to bed you couldn't turn the light on in the bath or risk waking her.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PellstonLodgeGM, General Manager at Pellston Lodge Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you, I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am hoping that next time we will be your first choice when you visit Northern Michigan. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapeer
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hotwire overcharged me 20 per cent more than normal rate for this motel. Staff told me upon arrival, when i contacted hotwire about this staff lied to them about our conversation it was the manager carrie who now denies telling me about overpaymrnt. Put damper on trip to find i over paid. The motel is way out in middle of no where, no food except airport, way over priced for location.staff not helpful at all. If you want to be away from everythtng. Everything is far away,this is the place for you! Beware of hotwire not always best price, check location real good and ask about food!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pryor, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

The staff, room, pool, breakfast, and all I experienced were very very nice. They provided a shuttle to and from the airport as well as a generous and nutritious breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel when in the beautiful area of northern Michigan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGurley592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PellstonLodgeGM, General Manager at Pellston Lodge Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you get to come back to Northern Michigan when the weather is better and it is beyond beautiful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over Presidents weekend for a winter getaway. Although the hotel is on the older side,( Loud bathroom fams) the room was extremely clean as was the lobby and pool area. The desk staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The lobby could use a few more tables during high peak breakfast times. We loved the fresh fruit during breakfast and great coffee. We will definitley be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PellstonLodgeGM, General Manager at Pellston Lodge Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you Jeannine, I am glad you had a good stay and enjoyed the coffee. Next time your visiting family we'll save you a room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I only stayed one night to catch an early flight in the morning. This hotel is literally right across the street from the airport so it is a great location for travel. The staff is friendly and room was clean. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AppsMan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PellstonLodgeGM, General Manager at Pellston Lodge Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you, I'm glad we were a nice place to start your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
179 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Nice Rooms, Great Staff, Big parking lot, and right on the Snowmobile Trails. 35 members of our snowmobile club stayed at the Pellston Lodge last weekend. The hotel and staff were very helpful and accommodating allowing us to gather as long as we liked in the lobby...playing cards, sitting in the over stuffed furniture, visiting the pool. On Saturday evening, the staff opened up a meeting room right off the lobby so we could have a "pizza party", play cards again and visit with fellow members. This is the third time in the past four years we have returned to the Pellston Lodge and have been pleased each time. With any luck, our club will return again next winter to enjoy a weekend of snowmobiling with our family and friends. Thank you!!! Chuck C.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so rooms on the main floor are more easily accessed by older patrons like me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PellstonLodgeGM, General Manager at Pellston Lodge Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
We are so glad your snowmobile club stayed with us, you all were alot of fun to have at the Lodge. We are looking forward to seeing you all next year! Or..... there is still plenty of snow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pellston
8.6 mi away
Crooked River Lodge
Crooked River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Alanson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
14.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#5 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
17.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pellston Lodge Magnuson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pellston Lodge Magnuson Hotel

Property: Pellston Lodge Magnuson Hotel
Address: 1600 Highway 31 North, Pellston, MI 49769
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Pellston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pellston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pellston Lodge Magnuson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Pellston Lodge Magnuson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Pellston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing