We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to eat in Paw Paw.”

120 Taphouse & Bistro
Ranked #17 of 37 Restaurants in Paw Paw
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Jackson, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Paw Paw.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

They served excellent food with a good beer and wine list. Dishes seem prepared from scratch with some thought. Soup and Oyster Rockefeller were awesome. The service was pleasant and timely. The decor needs updating. Parking is in rear of building. When in Paw Paw make Bistro120 your choice for dinner. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank svanwass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    13
    6
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago Suburbs
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Heavenly Salad”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My cousins live in the area and said I had to try The Bistro for lunch. Ordered a Chicken Blueberry Banana Salad ... so tasty ... it also had strawberries, carrots and pineapple in it. (Menu says onions but I can't imagine adding onions to that salad so I recommend ordering without onions). All meals come with soup - the chilled blueberry soup is definitely the one to try. They also offer gluten free soups, which are very good too. My cousin had a club sandwich so large he could only eat one third and took the rest home. BBQ pulled pork is wonderful! Their homemade rolls with cucumber dill spread completes a fabulous meal. Definitely will get back there soon to try other yummy sounding items on their menu!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiTown_Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had read about and heard really good things about this restaurant so wanted to try it while vacationing in the area. My husband made a reservation via the website and he got two replies back, but when we arrived at the restaurant no one knew about the reservation, so we had to wait a bit to have a table cleared. Also, I must say the restaurant is confusing -- there is a small sign over the door saying Bistro 120, but the large windows facing the street reads "O'Farrell McGuire's Irish Pub." So not really sure what they want to be - an Irish pub or a Bistro. We wanted to sit in the Bistro section, but they insisted on seating us in the pub area -- not exactly the atmosphere we were looking for. Also, there was one server for the entire pub area so the service was very slow and a little unprofessional. Now to the food -- there were four of us -- three ordered white fish and one ordered the Sticker in the Tongue. We were later told there were only two orders of white fish left, so I chose perch as my second choice. The servings were large and the fish was delicious as were the mashed potatoes and fresh local green beans. As for the "Sticker in the Tongue" which the fourth person in our party ordered -- it was hot and spicy to the point of ridiculous. I noticed on the on-line menu this dish is labelled as SPICY, but this was omitted from the menu we received. My friend could barely eat this dish and he is no stranger to spicy food. When we mentioned to the server that the menu should note just how spicy this dish is, or that servers should mention that the dish is very spicy when someone orders it, she was quite put off by our comments and said that we should have known the dish was spicy by the name. Well ... none of us had ever heard the term "Sticker in the Tongue," and we thought her indifference was quite rude, so we left the restaurant with a bad taste in our mouth -- especially our friend who ordered the "Sticker in Tongue." I would like to give this restaurant a higher rating, but the overall experience fell flat for us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Soups!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The highlight for me is their wide selection of Soups. They usually have 7 or more soups and have a "sampler" as a menu option.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank larry218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“popular spot”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Friday night so we thought we'd have to wait, but it didn't take long to get a table. Food is excellent and menu has interesting choices.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 120 Taphouse & Bistro also viewed

Paw Paw, Van Buren County
Paw Paw, Van Buren County
 
Paw Paw, Van Buren County
Paw Paw, Van Buren County
 

Been to 120 Taphouse & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing