We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a snowmobile stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect for a snowmobile stay!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Super friendly! Well set up for snowmobiling. Place is well equipped. Rooms are large and clean. The breakfast is great. Staff is great. Will try to always stay here for our UP snowmobile trips! Easy access to trails and gas for sleds.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kmichellek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnusongrandgm, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I really appreciate it when our guests go out of their way to tell us how much they enjoyed their stay and the Paradise area. This is what we strive for every day, every season, and when we get a great review like this, it just makes us work even harder to get even better!

We do have a snowmobiling Paradise U.P. here with the best trails in the area. I'm so glad that everything was accommodating to you and we look forward to having you back again.

Thank you again,
Laurie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    103
    23
    2
    4
See reviews for
127
153
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Garden City, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My girlfriend (now fiance) and I took a long weekend road trip to the UP in the fall of 2012. Our first stop was in Paradise to this very hotel. Everything about it was perfect. Its also close in proximity to the Shipwreck Museum. Tahquamenon Falls were just a few minutes down the road too, and the locals were awesome. Side note - The Silver Creek Pub and Grill about 15 minutes away from the hotel in Eckerman was to die for. Stopping there again too! Anyways, this hotel had gorgeous Lake views, an awesome pool space and the breakfast was great. We felt very welcome, and knew we wanted to return in the future. We would recommend the Magnuson Grand to all of our family and friends. It was clean. We felt well taken care of. It was a great place to rest our head at night. The only thing we would have changed, was being able to have spent MORE time at the hotel. It really was our own little piece of Paradise.

Room Tip: Anything with a water front view will complete your trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AChambo19A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnusongrandgm, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
First let me thank you for taking the time to send in this wonderful review. I really appreciate it when our guests take the time to let us know, and everyone else for that matter, that you really enjoyed our hotel and your complete stay in Paradise. We hope you are able to make it back and we look forward to meeting you again.

Thank you again,
Laurie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is really a fantastic hotel. The management and staff care tremendously about their guests, the property, and the beautiful area they serve. They treat their guests like family and it makes our whole annual U.P. experiences that much more wonderful. The property and amenities are very well kept, and the rooms are always super clean. The Lakeview rooms have a spectacular view of Lake Superior and it's really nice to sit on the balcony in the evenings, watching the stars. The pool is really nice and they keep it at the perfect temperature, which is especially great during out winter visits. There are so many things to do and see in the area for all seasons. We truly consider the Magnuson Grand in Paradise our U.P. vacation home.

Room Tip: Go with a Lakeview Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakeboatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnusongrandgm, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Oh thank you soooo much for the wonderful comments and we want you to know we feel the exact same about you and your family! It's easy when you have friends like yourselves who appreciate out hotel and our staff and just have such a good time here as well as with each other. It warms my heart to see you making family memories and we are included with that! Can't wait until your next visit and keep checking our facebook page for more freighter pictures!\

Thanks again,
Laurie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

If you are taking a trip to the UP(Michigan)....you most definitely need to stay in Paradise at the Magnuson. It is an absolutely wonderful establishment. The manager, Laurie(hope I spelled it right), is a fantastic manager and does what she can to make the Magnuson feel like home, and she succeeds! The views of the Superior "Ocean" are beyond any words I can put in this review. the rooms are so clean, comfortable beds, and a nice breakfast. We stay here every year.

Thank You for making this place so warm and inviting.

Room Tip: Lake view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KareStev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovestotravel1964, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review! We are happy that you love our hotel so much that you return every year! I appreciate you mentioning that you feel like home here because that is what I strive for the most!

Thank you again and we look forward to your return trip!
Laurie
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My 10 year old daughter and I stayed two nights in mid-September, visiting from Maryland. The service was exceptional: the desk clerk called us by name the second time she spoke to us, and another desk clerk gave us extensive and thoughtful suggestions for our travel itinerary in the area. One of the staff on duty at the complimentary breakfast was extremely helpful and seemed genuinely concerned that everyone had a nice breakfast (and my 10 year old LOVED the automatic pancake maker-- she would love to see that at every hotel!) The location of the hotel (looking right out on the lake) was exceptional, even with the beach having been compromised by erosion this past year. The pool, sauna, and hot tub were large and clean, and the folks in the hot tub were very friendly! The exterior appearance of the hotel was also very nice. My only significant complaint is that the interior appointments of the room didn't match the high quality service and pool complex. They should replace the fluorescent lights in the bathroom with halogen, so that guests don't look purple first thing in the morning, and the formica counter and inexpensive prints on the wall gave the room a dated look. But all that paled in comparison with the overall fantastic experience at the hotel. To top it all off, we left a pair of glasses in the hotel, and after I called it in, I think they must have searched until they found it, and just a few days later the glasses arrived beautifully packed. We will long hold memories of both this beautiful part of the country, and of the wonderful experience we had staying at the Magnuson Paradise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurelmcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovestotravel1964, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review and taking the time out of your day to do it. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the views of the bay from the hotel. I really appreciate knowing the details that make our guests happy and strive to improve where ever we can.

Thank you again,
Laurie
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights & with no reservation we couldn't get a lake view room the first night, but they had one available for the second night & the staff moved all our stuff for us. The lake view room is only $10 more & the view is priceless. Staff was wonderful, rooms were excellent. Breakfast is included in the price & was very good.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms on the first floor have a walk-out patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanjoh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovestotravel1964, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments and that you took the time to write a review. I'm glad we were able to accommodate you on the lakeside as I believe if it is at all possible, it is a must! I hope we have the pleasure of having you as our guest again in the future.

Thank you again,
Laurie
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We like the traditional UP cabins and motels, so we nearly overlooked this modern motel, but it can be hard to get a cabin for one night only. We had not visited Paradise for a couple of decades, but we will try to return more often after a fabulous stay. The motel is very clean, bed comfortable, and if you are able to snag a room on the top floor facing the lake, you are treated to beautiful views and the sound of the waves. The staff is very professional, the pool clean, and the breakfast is the usual self-serve variety. The strict no pet, no smoking policies should mean that there are no smells aside from that piney, leafy, Lake Superior air, and this was true. However, one guest below our balcony believed that "no smoking on balcony" did not apply to him and his really smelly tobacco. The desk clerk was instantly on the case! We will be back very soon, we hope.

Room Tip: Absolutely lake side, and third floor as first choice. Any lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andarcaminos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovestotravel1964, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for giving is such a great review. We are pleased that you decided to give us a try and are happy that we met all of your expectations. I apologize for the smoking incident but was happy to read that one of our staff members took care of it for you. I look forward to your return visit and guarantee you the same memorable stay.

Thank you again,
Laurie
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise

Property: Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise
Address: 8112 N M 123, Paradise, MI 49768-9800
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise! Enjoy convenient access to Tahquamenon Falls, Lake Superior and Whitefish Point Lighthouse while staying at this Paradise, Michigan hotel. Welcome to this lakefront Magnuson Grand Hotel where guests will receive exceptional customer service, unbeatable amenities and a fabulous location all for an affordable price. Guests will enjoy well-appointed guest rooms, some with balconies and water views, featuring satellite television with HBO® and free high-speed Internet access. Every morning guests are treated to a complimentary hot breakfast while looking out at a magnificent view of Whitefish Bay. To make traveling even easier, this Paradise, Michigan hotel comes equipped with an indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub, and sauna. Guest will especially enjoy the sandy beach located right on the hotel grounds plus convenient parking for large trucks and snowmobile trailers. We are also a Biker Friendly Hotel! The Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise is located close to where travelers want to be while visiting Paradise. Nestled on Lake Superior's Whitefish Bay, and with direct snowmobile trail access from their parking lot, guests will appreciate the location of this Paradise Magnuson Grand hotel while enjoying a variety of activities including snowmobiling, canoeing, kayaking, fishing, hiking, cross skiing, snow shoeing, and bird watching. No visit to Paradise is complete without visiting our famous local attractions such as Tahquamenon Falls, Great Lakes Shipwreck Museum, Whitefish Point Lighthouse, and the Whitefish Point Bird Observatory. What's more, we will often host guests in town attending our annual Blueberry Festival, 2 annual winter festivals or to participate in the Tahquamenon Trail Run, or the Tahquamenon Wilderness Canoe. The friendly, knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Paradise, Michigan. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paradise
Paradise Best Western
Best Western Lakefront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing