We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very clean place. The rooms are a decent size (we had 2 young kids & snowmobile gear) and still had plenty of space. We stayed on the 2nd floor and had a nice balcony. Convenient for snowmobiling because the trails are right down the road. We requested a fridge and they sent one to use within a 1/2 hr. We did have a problem with the fridge not working, but the staff took care of the situation quickly. There is not a microwave in the rooms (except maybe the suites) but there is one available to use in the lobby. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The pool & hot tub are clean and large. The breakfast was decent, eggs, sausage, bagels, etc. The only downside, it is not the hotel it is the area, everything closes at 9:00 P.M. We just brought stuff to eat in our room or hotel lobby breakfast area. Would definately stay here again. Just remember to bring snacks.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is actually main floor, so you get a balcony. First floor downstairs has a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welovefun4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovestotravel1964, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you so much for posting such a great review. We are flattered that you took the time to mention all of the areas of our hotel that are the most important to travelers. Our staff takes great pride in providing the best possible service, in a clean comfortable setting. Your review will be shared with our entire staff. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Laurie Winkler
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    83
    20
    2
    4
See reviews for
107
133
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elliot Lake, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We chose this place as it was central to places of interest we wished to visit. It was a wonderful quiet location. Our room was thoughtfully designed and the walk out to a patio and a view of Lake Superior. Also a small beach which was lovely to sit and read a book and listen to the waves. We could see the sunrise and also the moon rise. Absolutely perfect. Dining was a little limited but only a walk across the parking lot and the food and the service was great.

Room Tip: Definately choose a room overlooking Lake Superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovestotravel1964, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for posting such a great review. We are flattered that you took the time to mention all of the areas of our hotel that are the most important to travelers. Our staff takes great pride in providing the best possible service, in a clean comfortable setting. Your review will be shared with our entire staff. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Laurie Winkler
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clio, Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night because it was close to Tahquamenon Falls. We were in room 101. It was a nice room, spacious and clean.The bathroom was clean and included nice toiletries. We liked the view and the fact that we could walk out and go right to the beach area, even though the weather was too cold to use the beach. After hiking around the falls we took advantage of the jacuzzi. The breakfast included juice, coffee, cereal, fruit, muffins, bagels, eggs, sausage, and waffles. The ladies at the front desk and the lady keeping the food stocked for breakfast were all very friendly. We would definitely recommend staying at this hotel if you are in Paradise, MI.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a lake view. If you want one that walks out to the beach get a room on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovestotravel1964, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for posting such a great review. We are flattered that you took the time to mention all of the areas of our hotel that are the most important to travelers. Our staff takes great pride in providing the best possible service, in a clean comfortable setting. Your review will be shared with our entire staff. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Laurie Winkler
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastpointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We love Paradise, and finally found THE place to stay! Staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms clean. A full breakfast is included! Very nice experience. We were there in the fall, but I bet in the summer the beach is perfect.

Room Tip: The lake-view rooms are so nice! Sunrise is spectacular!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BunnyEastpointe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovestotravel1964, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for posting such a great review. We are flattered that you took the time to mention all of the areas of our hotel that are the most important to travelers. Our staff takes great pride in providing the best possible service, in a clean comfortable setting. Your review will be shared with our entire staff. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Laurie Winkler
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

On September 28, 2012 we traveled to Michigan's Upper Penninsula for the Fall color tour. Paradise is one of the closest places to get a room near Tahquamenon Falls. Indeed the Magnusen Grand is the best place to stay for miles around. It is relatively new, and resides behind one of the only restaurants in the area, the Little Falls Restaurant. The staff was friendly, the hotel was clean, and breakfast included made to order waffles, scrambled eggs & sausage, etc. After a long hike to the falls, the hot tub was welcoming. The hotel overlooks the bay just south of White Fish Point for breathtaking views from the beach or balcony. We will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandLover2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovestotravel1964, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for posting such a great review. We are flattered that you took the time to mention all of the areas of our hotel that are the most important to travelers. Our staff takes great pride in providing the best possible service, in a clean comfortable setting. Your review will be shared with our entire staff. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Laurie Winkler
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We liked everything about this property, especially the peace and quiet. Our room was lakeside on the first floor. We enjoyed being able to just step outside and be right on Lake Superior. The sunset was beautiful. The room itself was immaculate as was the rest of the hotel. Even at breakfast, there is staff that cleans the table as soon as someone vacates it. She actually sprays it down and wipes it clean for the next guest.

The staff at this hotel was super friendly and helpful. I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Spring for a lakeside room. The few extra dollars are definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovestotravel1964, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for posting such a great review. We are flattered that you took the time to mention all of the areas of our hotel that are the most important to travelers. Our staff takes great pride in providing the best possible service, in a clean comfortable setting. Your review will be shared with our entire staff. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Laurie Winkler
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed 2 nights (9/20/12 & 9/21/12) and it was absolutely wonderful! We were greeted by Valerie when checking in and I cannot say enough about how absolutely wonderful she was. Even though we had our vacation already mapped out she gave us alot of great information about places to dine and things to do. We had a lakeview room which was very welcoming upon entering the room. Very clean. The view of Lake Superior was just amazing. The whole experience with the hotel was awesome! Be prepared though if you stay in Paradise there's only a couple places to dine and every place (market, gas station, diner) all close early (around 8:30pm). The pool was big, clean and had a nice jacuzzi which we took advantage of. Continental breakfast was decent with waffles, cereal, bagels, donuts, muffins, eggs and sausage. It's a nice central point if you're making a trip to Tahquamenon Falls (only about 11 miles) or Newberry.

Room Tip: I would definately stay on the third floor if you can. You have less noise. If you want a mini frig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geminigal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovestotravel1964, General Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for posting such a great review. We are flattered that you took the time to mention all of the areas of our hotel that are the most important to travelers. Our staff takes great pride in providing the best possible service, in a clean comfortable setting. Your review will be shared with our entire staff. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Laurie Winkler
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise
24.9 mi away
Bay Mills Resort & Casino
0.0 mi away
Chapel Hill Motel
Chapel Hill Motel
#1 of 1 in Moran
3.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise

Property: Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise
Address: 8112 N M 123, Paradise, MI 49768-9800
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise! Enjoy convenient access to Tahquamenon Falls, Lake Superior and Whitefish Point Lighthouse while staying at this Paradise, Michigan hotel. Welcome to this lakefront Magnuson Grand Hotel where guests will receive exceptional customer service, unbeatable amenities and a fabulous location all for an affordable price. Guests will enjoy well-appointed guest rooms, some with balconies and water views, featuring satellite television with HBO® and free high-speed Internet access. Every morning guests are treated to a complimentary hot breakfast while looking out at a magnificent view of Whitefish Bay. To make traveling even easier, this Paradise, Michigan hotel comes equipped with an indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub, and sauna. Guest will especially enjoy the sandy beach located right on the hotel grounds plus convenient parking for large trucks and snowmobile trailers. We are also a Biker Friendly Hotel! The Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise is located close to where travelers want to be while visiting Paradise. Nestled on Lake Superior's Whitefish Bay, and with direct snowmobile trail access from their parking lot, guests will appreciate the location of this Paradise Magnuson Grand hotel while enjoying a variety of activities including snowmobiling, canoeing, kayaking, fishing, hiking, cross skiing, snow shoeing, and bird watching. No visit to Paradise is complete without visiting our famous local attractions such as Tahquamenon Falls, Great Lakes Shipwreck Museum, Whitefish Point Lighthouse, and the Whitefish Point Bird Observatory. What's more, we will often host guests in town attending our annual Blueberry Festival, 2 annual winter festivals or to participate in the Tahquamenon Trail Run, or the Tahquamenon Wilderness Canoe. The friendly, knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Paradise, Michigan. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paradise
Paradise Best Western
Best Western Lakefront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing