We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property, great place to unwind!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Spent two nights there in July 2012. It was an outstanding place to stay. Had a second floor mini-suite, the view from the balcony was beautiful. Very clean, well maintained property. A diamond in the small town of Paradise. Also, very motorcycle friendly, which was a welcome surprise. I'll stay there again when in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside balcony room, you can't beat the view, especially at sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MORoadStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 385 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

Don't believe any other review your read on Paradise area hotels. This is the only place to stay. It's well maintained, clean, and conveniently located. Pay the little extra and get a ground level room that faces the beach. My kids loved the beach and the pool here. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a ground level room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel is good hotel with spacious rooms directly on the lakefront. Our room(suite) had a fridge, macrowave and plenty of room. But not a King bed- just one Queen bed. That was really a pity!
The free breakfast was oké; there were not enough tables and chairs to seat everybody. We had to take te food up to our room.

Room Tip: You have to have a lakeview room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel used to be a Best Western. The quality of the hotel and the friendly staff have not changed! The rooms are large and very clean. The hot breakfast is decent. The hotel is located right in the town of Paradise- great to go for a stroll! The pool is clean, and located indoors. The WIFI is not the best, but if you walk around you can get a signal.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake are more expensive. The other rooms are just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YarnDragon02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hotel was very clean, the pool was nice and clear, the water at the beach was crystal clear . The sand was so soft. The breakfast was good.. There is a very good restraunts within walking distance. The view is remarkable.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms with the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Pros: spotless, nice breakfast, beautiful view of the lake, nice little beach, clean pool/sauna/hot tub area, great customer service, close to Tahquamenon Falls State Park and Great lakes Shipwreck Museum, nice lobby,

Cons: small laundry room (2 washers & 2 dryers), spotty wifi service in rooms (but works fine in the lobby)

I can't say enough good things about the place, it almost looked brand new. We spent a week in the UP and this was by far the nicest place we stayed. I would definately like to go back. Check out the little restaurant out in front of the hotel for some great food and wonderful small town hospitality.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room, you'll love the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnehams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed in the Magnuson Grand Hotel for one night. The best thing about the hotel was that it was immaculately clean, even behind and under furniture. There wasn't a speck of dust or dirt anywhere. The bathrooms were well-lit, spacious, and clean with good water pressure in the shower and lots of hot water. The decor was neutral with some locally relevant artwork (sketches of boats) and room-darkening curtains. There was a lot of space to set out our suitcases and bags. The front desk and breakfast staff were friendly and helpful. The beach was pretty and clean with lots of Adirondack chairs for guests. It's not a big beach, but it is sandy (not rocky), and you see nothing but trees in both directions, so it's a relaxing place to spend some time. There is a place to rinse off your feet when you come back into the hotel. The pool area is enclosed in glass windows and nice and warm. The water in the pool was warm, the pool area was clean, and there was a spacious whirlpool as well as a small sauna. There is even a little deck outdoors off the pool room that looks out over the lake. Pool towels were replenished regularly and never ran out. The breakfast room also looks out over the lake and the sun shines in beautifully in the morning. The breakfast was typical of this kind of hotel: DIY waffle maker, cereals, muffins, scrambled eggs and sausage, fresh whole fruit, milk, coffee, tea. etc. The breakfast wasn't anything special, but it wasn't gross. Anybody who complains about the breakfast in these reviews is being too picky. The one reviewer who gave this hotel one star because of a waitress must have been thinking of a different hotel, since there is not a restaurant at this hotel. The gal responsible for the breakfasts was diligent about making sure all the breakfast foods were in full supply. There are ample carts for loading up your luggage and there is an elevator.

Down sides: As another reviewer mentioned, the beds were quite hard. I like a very soft bed, but I was tired after a long, active day, and I slept well. I would visit this hotel again, in spite of the hard bed and the slightly higher price than we are used to paying. Also, there are not refrigerators or microwaves in the rooms. Perhaps guests could rent one at the front desk. There is a microwave in the dining area, which is accessible 24 hours.

There is a lot to do and see in the area. We went to Taqu Falls, ate at the brew pub at the upper falls, and visited the Shipwreck Museum. All were excellent experiences. The area is remote and beautiful.

Room Tip: East-facing lakeview rooms are more expensive, and we saw some people on their balconies enjoying th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeaceLovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise

Address: 8112 N M 123, Paradise, MI 49768-9800
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Paradise
Price Range: $129 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise! Enjoy convenient access to Tahquamenon Falls, Lake Superior and Whitefish Point Lighthouse while staying at this Paradise, Michigan hotel. Welcome to this lakefront Magnuson Grand Hotel where guests will receive exceptional customer service, unbeatable amenities and a fabulous location all for an affordable price. Guests will enjoy well-appointed guest rooms, some with balconies and water views, featuring satellite television with HBO® and free high-speed Internet access. Every morning guests are treated to a complimentary hot breakfast while looking out at a magnificent view of Whitefish Bay. To make traveling even easier, this Paradise, Michigan hotel comes equipped with an indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub, and sauna. Guest will especially enjoy the sandy beach located right on the hotel grounds plus convenient parking for large trucks and snowmobile trailers. We are also a Biker Friendly Hotel! The Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise is located close to where travelers want to be while visiting Paradise. Nestled on Lake Superior's Whitefish Bay, and with direct snowmobile trail access from their parking lot, guests will appreciate the location of this Paradise Magnuson Grand hotel while enjoying a variety of activities including snowmobiling, canoeing, kayaking, fishing, hiking, cross skiing, snow shoeing, and bird watching. No visit to Paradise is complete without visiting our famous local attractions such as Tahquamenon Falls, Great Lakes Shipwreck Museum, Whitefish Point Lighthouse, and the Whitefish Point Bird Observatory. What's more, we will often host guests in town attending our annual Blueberry Festival, 2 annual winter festivals or to participate in the Tahquamenon Trail Run, or the Tahquamenon Wilderness Canoe. The friendly, knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Paradise, Michigan. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Magnuson Grand Hotel Lakefront Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paradise
Paradise Best Western
Best Western Lakefront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing