We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I hadn't done it!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paradise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Curley's Paradise Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Paradise
Fennville, MI
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wish I hadn't done it!”
Reviewed August 17, 2007

Well I read the reviews and decided to take a chance since there isn't much available in Paradise. Paid $80.00 for a non-smoking room that smelled pretty smoky - plenty of cigarette burns in the carpet to confirm it was not a non-smoking room, lots of flies in the room, bed linens are really worn and didn't smell the greatest. The A/C worked sporadically but was louder than heck. We weren't lucky enough to have a quiet night as biker's who liked to party and get up really early and make lots of noise were common place. Don't look for any amenities, it's basically a place to sleep one night and move on. The view and beach area was really nice but that's about all I can say for it.

  • Liked — Nice beach area and view
  • Disliked — Old worn linens, loud a/c, smoky smell
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rootentooten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    27
    18
    25
See reviews for
36
35
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Joseph, MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2007

We stayed in Curley's 4 bedroom house (#6). The house has a nice sun porch that overlooks the lake, has a nice full sized kitchen with a micorwave. A dining room table that seats 8. Big TV in the living room. Two bathrooms. There is a nice, large grill and nice table and chairs in the back. You have a fabulous view of the lake. The beach area was so quiet, hardly anyone around, definitely a private beach. The only downfall, the house wasnt as clean as it could be. We took lysol and clorox wipes. It was well worth the price and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmsportsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2007

We just returned from a trip to the UP which included two nights at Curley's in Paradise, MI. We rented a large 4-bedroom house for 295/night. We were disappointed when we first arrived; a window without a screen had been left open and there were a ton of flies in the house. We also found some rolls that someone had left in the refrigerator. When this was brought to the attention of the owner the next day, though, she was on it right away, sent someone to clean out the refrig, although we had already done that. They also, while we were gone siteseeing, moved the the outdoors table/chairs to the center of the yard where we could enjoy the view of the beach better. Aside from those two issues, it was very nice. We practically had our own private beach. It appears that a back porch has been glassed in, so we could sit and watch Lake Superior from inside. We have never rented a house like this, and didn't really know what to expect. We were very pleased to return after our first day of sight-seeing, they had come in to set out the fresh towels, made the beds, etc. There was a grill in the back yard that we utilized both nights, and a fire pit perfect for making smores. The morning of the first day a couple of us managed to get up to watch the sunrise over Lake Superior; it was definitely worth the effort. The location was centrally located for our plans, which was to visit the shipwreck museum at Whitefish Point (a must if you are headed up that way), and Tahquamenon Falls. The kids had fun in the lake each day. The bay was shallow enough to be warm, despite Lake Superior being the coldest of the Great Lakes.

I would love to go back to the area, and would want to stay at Curley's again.

  • Liked — Being right on the beach.
  • Disliked — It was a disappointment at the beginning with the flies, etc.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Catservant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, MI
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

We just recently stayed at Curly's and had a great time! It isn't the Ritz, but it is right on Lake Superior (my boys swam...brrrr!) The views are beautiful, the location is great for Tahquamenon and Whitefish Point. They don't have a continental breakfast, but we walked up to a restaurant called Little Falls Restaurant for breakfast (and dinner too) and loved it! The room we had was very clean, they are wireless for computer users, and it was quiet. Our rate was great...a bargain! We will definitely stay here again the next time we're in this area.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank ntsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2007

We had stayed at Curley's years ago, and it wasn't great but was adequate. It is no longer even that! The only good thing about it is the location. We love the UP and don't expect the Ritz for accommodations, but the bathroom was filthy and so was the kitchen. I'll pay extra to stay at the Best Western next time.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo, IN
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2006

We spent four days in the Paradise, MI area. We actually decided to go for the annual Blueberry Festival, and Curley's was one of very few places that had a room available on short notice. Curley's is rather pricey ($95/night) compared to most other places.

Upon arrival, at about 11:00pm, we were greeted by the owner. It must have been past her bedtime because she seemed rather cold towards us. However, after spending quite a bit of time the next day in conversation with her, I realized that it might just be her way, and once you accept that everything is fine.

We stayed in one of the motel rooms. It had two double beds, a seating room area with a table, two chairs, and a fairly large dresser. The bathroom is rather small, the water pressure is terrible, and the water is pretty hard.

The room we stayed in looked as though there had been some work done recently. The air conditioner/heater unit looked brand new and worked flawlessly, and the bathroom looked like it had a new tub and toilet, with new tile on the walls and floor. The towels and wash rags, however, looked very poor. They were dingy, stained, and we even had a couple that my wife refused to use they were so bad.

The carpeting in the room was pretty dirty as far as hotel/motel expectations go. It was stained, had several spots that looked like it was wet (even though it was not), and you can defintely tell they allow pets in their facility. The smell is difficult to get rid of, and there is tell-tale signs such as pet hair. We had asked for a non-smoking room, but got stuck with a smoking room. We are not smokers so the smell is unpleasant to us and very noticeable.

I would rate Curley's as a middle-of-the-road motel. We have never stayed at any other places in the Paradise area, so maybe they are all this way. I will say, the location is fantastic. Being right on Lake Superior and being able to watch the sun rise and set is a beautiful site that I would never get tired of. We also were able to see the Northern Lights during our stay.

I have posted pictures of Curley's Motel showing the room, outside around the buildings, and the view over the lake.

  • Liked — Location - right on Lake Superior with a fantastic view
  • Disliked — Value for price - Room cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay in one of the cabins or rental houses
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JDeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2006

The Paradise Michigan area is great--Taquamenon Falls, Whitefish Point and sandy beaches where you can walk out 800 feet and have water only up to your waist. On a clear, starry night go and watch the stars at the Whitefish Point lighthouse--it's amazing!

Curley's is an old-school motel and cottage operation on the waterfront. The rooms are larger than we expected and clean enough. We paid 95.00 a day for a lakeview motel room.

There are restaurants and grocery stores within walking distance.

If you stay at the motel, pay the extra 10 dollars a day for the lakeview rooms. You park right in front of your unit and you have a great view of the lake.

There are rocker-type swings scattered around and some bonfire pits if you want to have a fire at night.

If you want to pay forty dollars a day more you can stay at the Best Western down the street. It's about five years old and has an indoor pool.

All in all, Curley's is just fine for the price.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — the six channels of cable television
  • Tips/Secrets — bring some small garbage bags--the wastebaskets are way too small!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Curley's Paradise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curley's Paradise Motel

Property: Curley's Paradise Motel
Address: M-123 at Whitefish Point Rd, Paradise, MI 49768
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Paradise
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Paradise
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Curley`s Paradise Hotel Paradise
Curleys Paradise Hotel
Curleys Hotel Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing