We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paradise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
USCG Crews Quarters Accommodation
Ranked #2 of 2 Paradise B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have been to the Whitefish Point Light Station several times and have always wanted to stay at the Crew Quarters. We finally got the chance for our 15th anniversary. We were not disappointed! We stayed in Room 3, and had a view of Lake Superior and the light tower. For a couple of lighthouse and ship buffs, that was heaven! We were able to see the ships go by and hear them sound their horns in the fog.

Because it was chilly outside, even in June, they had the heat on. This made the room quite warm, but we just opened our windows and let the cool air from the lake come on in. It was refreshing and allowed us the chance to fall asleep, listening to the waves. There was plenty of food for breakfast. Since this isn't a typical B & B, they stocked the kitchen with things like microwaveable breakfast burritos, prepackaged muffins, granola bars, bagels, oatmeal, yogurt, juice boxes, cereal, and milk. There was also a coffee maker. So while some of the breakfast items weren't exactly healthy (I hate prepackaged, processed food), they did have some healthy choices like yogurt, oatmeal, and certain cereals. We knew this was the type of food when we booked, so as long as you make yourself aware, you can't be disappointed or upset as some other reviewers were. The breakfast setup was perfect for the type of facility they were running, and it also allowed for a quick breakfast, which often isn't the case at a B & B!

The entire complex was very clean, including our room. It was comfortable, with a nice bathroom, a closet, and a small TV. There is a larger TV in the shared living room, along with a library that has videos and books.

The grounds can't be beat! Once the tourists are gone for the day, you have the whole place to yourself. We went out each night to look at the ships, the lighthouse, walk on the beach, enjoy the moon, and just soak in the feel of Whitefish Point.

The staff was wonderful. Each person was polite and helpful. I found that they recognized the overnight guests throughout the day and made a special point of asking how our stay was, regardless of where they worked in the complex.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a comfortable and unique place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 3 has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earthmom31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 69 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the crew Quarters in mid-May. The first night only one other couple was there so really we felt like we had the place to ourselves. "Duke" checked us in and showed us the kitchen where we make our own breakfast from ample supplies whenever we want to eat. Nice living room and library with many DVD's with history of the shipwrecks and area to watch.

We stayed in room 2, "Surfman" upstairs. The room was kind of warm as the screens were not yet on the windows from winter but there was a ceiling fan. Has a view of the lake and we were there during the songbird migration so a million birds right outside our window!

Staff was helpful, very clean and cozy. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: The downstairs room is handicap accessible, they all seem to be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kheltzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I decided to stay somewhere unique for our first anniversary, we chose the Crews Quarters at Whitefish Point. We were not disappointed. With the stay you also get entry to the museum and everything that goes with it and a 10% discount on any purchases.

My wife previously worked at a historic hotel for many years and was very impressed with the crews quarters. They have done a great job restoring the building. It is very clean and well maintained. We chose Room #3 the Assistant Chief's room. What a great view! The bed in the room was very comfortable. The bathroom was very spacious and clean.

Surprising with the waves and the wind that you don't hear any of it in the room. No drafts. Very nice.

Breakfast was included and is self service. There was a good variety and plenty of food available.

Once the staff leaves you have full run of the grounds. The view and stars at night are amazing!! I was out at night taking some photos and I heard the grounds keeper and his dog but they stayed well away from me. Kind of nice not to be disturbed.

I would recommend the Crews Quarters to anyone planning on heading up to Paradise/Whitefish Point and looking for a place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cgauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you are looking for a spacious room with people to wait on you- this is not for you. If you do want to stay is a very unique setting with few frills- go for it. You don't stay here for the room. It's basically a bed and bath with common rooms with a big tv and computer. Also, a nice kitchen with self serve breakfast. You actually can sit with your housemates over coffee and meet new people. The quarters are clean and nice and after all the museums,etc. close up for the night you can enjoy the grounds in quiet. Make sure you get some fudge first-yummy. Bring a flashlight and sneak out after dark for an awesome look at the stars.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovesaroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was such a unique and wonderful place to stay. The setting is really unlike any other. You are right in the same area as the lighthouse, museum, store, etc.. And right at the beach. We stayed in 2 different rooms as we were not able to get one room for the 2 nights. It was no problem changing rooms. We still had access to the home with the changeover. Beth was super helpful!

The room rate includes entry into the museum , a 10% discount to the store and a year membership to the Whitefish Historical Society. Half is tax deductible..

Breakfast is a self serve. Cereal, oatmeal, milk, bagels, muffins, yogurt, coffee, tea, hot cocoa and juices is provided. Also the condiments. There is a toaster, fridge, microwave and coffee maker. No stove is available for use. 2 coffee makers would be better so one could be used for decaf and the other regular. We did not know which we were drinking as someone before us had made a pot. We were not sure but we think you clean your own dishes, so we did. No dishwasher, you wash by hand.

The rooms were clean. Room 3 did have blinds that did not work but had curtains.. Also the bathroom did not have a curtain or blind for privacy at night. We kept the light off in there for nightime use. I am sure this is just a temporary situation as there were brackets there for a blind that had been there. A hair dryer, shampoo and soap is provided. Along with the linens of course! Both rooms we stayed in were on the 2nd floor. 5 rooms total in this home. 4 up and 1 down. Each room has a bathroom. We liked room 1 for the brightness of it and had view of the lighthouse. Room 3 we liked for the freighter view. There is a small tv in the rooms. The living room has a big tv and you can play DVD's. There is another area with a large table, a piano and a computer desk with a computer.

The home is locked at all times to keep the visitors of the grounds out. Your room key opens the front door.

After 6 pm and before 9 am you practically have the grounds to yourself. The beach has great rocks! Lake Michigan has grey rocks, Lake Superior has colored rocks.

Take a side trip to Crisp Lighthouse. The beach is beautiful there. You can go up to the lighthouse tower for free. It is a long dirt road with nothing but woods and lakes so be sure to have plenty of gas for the trip.

We recommend a stay here at the Crew Quarters.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
6  Thank ob1rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed in the Station Engineer's Room which has a queen bed and full bathroom. Everything was new and so very clean. We spent half the day touring the buildings on the property and in the evening after everyone left except for our fellow housemates, we walked down to the beach to watch the sunset and the full moon rise. A family from Alabama joined us and their son played the bagpipes as we watched the sun disappear. It was magical for sure. At 9:30 pm there was a nature talk on owls. We headed back to our room to a very comfortable bed. We slept with the window wide open and could feel the breeze from lake all night long. It was truly heavenly. There is a breakfast which you fix yourself in the common area. The fridge is stocked with yogurt, milk, bagels, muffins plus there were cereals, oatmeal, tea and coffee.

Room Tip: If you are in the Paradise Whitefish area this is something you must do. It's surreal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandy0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was an amazing place to stay. The stay includes access to museum etc during open hours. Being on the beach made for fabulous sunset and ship viewing. Incredibly relaxing - can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to USCG Crews Quarters Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USCG Crews Quarters Accommodation

Address: 18335 N Whitefish Point Rd, Paradise, MI 49768-9618
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Paradise
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Paradise
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in comfort in the adaptively restored 1923 Coast Guard Lifeboat Station Crews Quarters offering five themed rooms. Included in your stay is a Continental Breakfast. Your donation grants you admission to the Great Lakes Shipwreck Museum and Whitefish Point Light Station, a 10% discount in the Shipwreck Coast Museum Store, and a one year membership to the Great Lakes Shipwreck Historical Society.* No additional charges for double occupancy or extra lodging taxes. A portion of your donation is tax deductible. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing