We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“get there early”

Brown Fisheries Fish House
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Check out urbanspoon.com. Brown Fisheries Fish House (906) 492-3901 32638 W M28 Paradise, MI 49768
Restaurant details
Description: Check out urbanspoon.com. Brown Fisheries Fish House (906) 492-3901 32638 W M28 Paradise, MI 49768
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
151 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“get there early”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We never actually ate there. We stopped there several times, but they were always out of fist. Because of the weather, the catch has been small, and they are open only till the fish run out. We figure it must be pretty good, though, because there are always a lot of people parked there when they are open.
However, we did buy some smoked whitefish to take back to our cabin. They had smoked whitefish, lake trout, and lake salmon. We were really looking forward to the whitefish, but we were very disappointed. It was extremely saltly, as if it had been soaked in heavy brine and not rinsed off. It was way too salty to taste the fish itself, just the salt. We ended up throwing it out, and we NEVER throw food out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Edam231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    52
    19
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
No Name Key, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wrong street name”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

36238 Hwy M-123 Paradise Michigan, NOT Highway M-28, the phone book and web site have it wrong. Great fish great atmosphere its a must do in da U.P

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 9064ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best food”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is one good resturant which serves fresh fish.. We had lot of Whitefish while we were there and We enjoyed it. They sell smoked as well as fried whitefish. Its a must try while in Paradise.. Keep in mind that they do not accept cards, only cash or personal cheque

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Saju84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center
Level Contributor
109 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Whitefish”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had a recommendation about this place and thought since we were in the area, we would give it a try. We are soooo glad we did!!!! It is not a fancy place and probably we wouldn't have tried it if not for the friends recommendation.
We ordered the Whitefish and chips, and the fish was as tasty as any we have had in Northern Michigan. The breading was not heavy as some and allowed you to taste the fish and not breading. The owner goes out and catches the fish each morning. If the weather does not permit, he doesn't go out and the restaurant doesn't open. Now that is fresh!! You can also buy smoked fish to go if that is your taste. However, if you are looking for tasty, fresh fish, go to the Fish House in Paradise!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BobKaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We ALWAYS stop in when we are in the area as they have the best whitefish dinners around. I've traveled the UP of Michigan for over45 years & if you like fish you'll love Browns. It's not the Ritz but if you want good food & friendly staff stop here! Good people.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Fisheries Fish House also viewed

 
Paradise, Upper Peninsula
Paradise, Upper Peninsula
 
Paradise, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Brown Fisheries Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing