We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Review Highlights
Checking out the upper peninsula

Tahquamenon falls is about two hours from Sault Ste. Marie, there is an upper and a lower Falls I... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Ben P
via mobile
Beautiful Falls

My wife and I visited these falls 38 years ago on our honeymoon, and had an opportunity to be in... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Mike B
,
Mineral, Virginia
Read all 1,515 reviews
  
Reviews (1,515)
Filter reviews
1,515 results
Traveler rating
1,184
283
39
8
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,184
283
39
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tahquamenon falls state park row boat east of the mississippi brew pub gift shop root beer bug spray mile hike small island paved path day pass upper peninsula fall colors pure michigan hiking trails short walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,515 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2019

So beautiful and peaceful. Nice path to walk. One of our favorite places. Will make an annual tradition.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank sandyD70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2019

It was a cold, rainy day in fall when we went but I am so glad we did! Breathtaking views of the upper and lower falls. Since it was October, it was not super busy. I was shocked at how small the fee was to get in! We have some spectacular photos from our visit!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Jules D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2019

The falls are beautiful. Was able to catch the sunset that day. Enjoyed the brewery for dinner afterwards.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank plgillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2019

We finally made it to the U.P. to see frozen waterfalls and ice caves. Upper Tahquamenon Falls did not disappoint!! There was a good size area still open with lots of water flowing over but the other half was beautifully frozen. It reminded me of a root beer float with the colors of the water. There was even blue ice along the rock walls lining the river. The path to get to the falls was packed snow and easy to walk on. The lower falls was only accessible by hiking a mile down the hill from the ranger station to the parking lot. We decided maybe that was best for another day.

Date of experience: February 2019
3  Thank wellerMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2019

Hiding in the forests of upper Michigan are the Upper and Lower Tahquamenon Falls. They may not be as big as Niagara Falls, but they certainly are more beautiful from the colors in the water. Parking and displays are excellent and the paths to the falls are well kept and wheelchair accessible. There are steps so you can get down close to the falls. We took them on the lower falls but stayed on top for the Upper. You get excellent views either way for postcard ready pictures.

Date of experience: September 2018
5  Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews