We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Huron House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Oscoda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kalamazoo
1 review
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Very clean and comfortable room, with fireplace and hot tub on deck. The breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Had a wonderful relaxing two day stay while enjoying the local fall colors. I would highly recommend and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeKalamazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett H, Owner at Huron House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you had an "awesome experience." I will let the staff know that you commented on how clean the rooms are. They all work very hard to ensure that everyone has enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    34
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
462
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

What a treat to visit the Huron House Bed and Breakfast! I was able to stay in the Huron Room... it had a great view of Lake Huron, shoreline, and gardens as well as a contemporary theme with clean and comfortable amenities. The breakfast was great... the staff delivered it to the room and the variety of foods was a great mix. The snack basket was a nice touch after driving to get there on the night of arrival. I will recommend this B&B to all of my friends and family and look forward to staying there again soon!

Room Tip: balcony was a nice feature
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hornet2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett H, Owner at Huron House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. I'm glad you made the journey from West Michigan to enjoy the beauty that Northeast Michigan has to offer. The snack baskets help hold off the hunger until you can make it to out to dinner. I hope that you will be able to help spread the word in Kalamazoo that there is a wonderful place in Oscoda to stay. We look forward to seeing you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Beautiful rooms, very clean, on Lake Huron, gorgeous deck with tables, chairs and loungers, beautiful beach and views. Breakfast is delicious and delivered to your room. No plastic glasses or plates - glass cocktail and wine glasses and china plates and silverware in your room for your use. What else could you ask for! Our 3rd time there. Will definately go back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett H, Owner at Huron House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and stay at the Huron House. I will be sure to let our housekeeping staff know that you noticed how clean our rooms are. They take great pride in what they do and love when our guests notice. Our guests love that they can relax in their room as we deliver them a gourmet breakfast at their selected time. We all look forward to your 4th visit to our "wonderful place."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We run a family business from our home, have 2 adult sons and a granddaughter living with us, so we needed an escape. As my family used to have a cabin on a small lake a few miles from Tawas, we started looking for a place to stay in that area, and found the Huron House. It might have been the best find we've had in a long time. It's gorgeous, landscaped beautifully, well taken care of, breakfast brought to your door at the time you choose, a hot tub for 2 either in your room or on your private deck, fireplace in the room for ambiance, a wet bar, fridge and microwave, snack basket, patio set (if the weather cooperates - ours didn't), and really friendly people that worked there. We were escorted to our door and given a tour. There's cookies in the lobby, and area menus to look through. The beach is wonderful, clean sand that even in October, tempted us to tiptoe into the whitecaps on Lake Huron. We watched paragliders sailing by over the lake on a cold, windy and rainy evening...brave souls!

Breakfast was delicious, and more than filling. Anyone who needs more should make a trip to town, because this was more than adequate, and nicely presented. From previous reviews, I think new owners have added meats to the breakfasts to satisfy those who claimed it was filling enough. Stuffed french toast with yogurt, fruit, and bacon should be plenty.

Only thing we thought would be nicer is if there were thick robes to use to go back & forth to outdoor hot tubs - those were divine, but you did freeze in the time it took to figure out the on/off & uncovering the tub. Next time we'll be sure to bring robes - and there will definitely be a next time!

Room Tip: Lower level was perfect for us, because I have replacement knees and trips back & forth up the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett H, Owner at Huron House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thanks for wonderful review and looking forward to welcoming you back. No need to bring your robes as we are in the process of ordering them and waiting for your return. Thank you to our wonderful guests who have encouraged us to search out the best robes for your enjoyment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have been coming to the Huron House for over 10 years and have seen the changes over time. The small changes just made the experience even better. We return every few years and always vow to return. I highly recommend the Huron House for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoraJean48221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett H, Owner at Huron House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for noticing the small changes that we have made to make the experience at Huron House even better. We hope you will visit us again soon as we keep focusing on the small details that our guests will love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Before I mention anything, I'd like to point out that the enthusiasm of the owners REALLY drives this B&B to the top of our list. Nothing is left to seed, and the owners are just as eager to lend a hand as the innkeeper. They were always here in some capacity, either to receive guests or do some light painting. Some people may not notice this, but we've stayed at one too many B&B's that have owners check in/out too!

We stayed in the AuSable Room, and we were really rather smitten. The room was beyond clean with no musk or funk that come with some buildings. The color scheme was beautiful and deliberate (actually were our wedding colors!), with a wonderful red carpet that did not feel like it's been trampled by wildebeests. The furniture did not look like it was pulled off a yard sale and hit with a bit of a polish, and the bed was SOOO comfortable. Overall, it felt more like we rented a suite at a hotel than a room with a bed. What really took us aback is that the owner is gearing up to reboot that whole room! Well, consider us impressed with what you got!

If we could make one recommendation to future guests, its this: Use Everything! Snack on their homemade cookies. Use their entrance to the beach for a long walk. Take a look at their flowers, and enjoy the bee's milling about. If its nice out, use their grill. There's a Rogers just down the road, and we had a $$$$ meal for $ (The innkeeper provides the tools!). If its busy, or if you're in a hurry, take a Lunch/Dinner outside. The patio is built right out to their property line, and the view beats any restaurant in the area. We grilled and played cards while the sun set behind us. Awesome.

I'm hoping you stopped reading this review by now and just went straight to their bookings, but if not, don't even hesitate. Thanks, Huron House!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett H, Owner at Huron House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you so much for being our guests! We all loved having you with us. It's guests like you that keep us going and make this the best job in the world. I hope to see you next year so you can check out the AuSable room 2.0. We hope to have it completed before 2014. I'm glad that you were able to take advantage of many of the amenities that we offer and enjoyed our beautiful beach on the sunrise side of Michigan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Huron House for the first time this September. Very nice B&B. Loved having breakfast delivered to us in the morning at the time we specified. Very clean jacuzzi and room. The bed linens smelled so clean and fresh. They also had a bottle of champagne in our room when we arrived, along with a small basket with bottled water and some snacks. The rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave and coffee machine with coffee etc. The view was very nice from the Corsair room, which is on the first floor. Staff very pleasant and helpful, but also give you your privacy. We will be going back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett H, Owner at Huron House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience with others. I am so glad that we have gained a new "repeat" guest. We all look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oscoda
0.1 mi away
Camp Inn Lodge
Camp Inn Lodge
#2 of 10 in Oscoda
81 reviews
2.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oscoda - AuSable River
12.5 mi away
Bay Inn Tawas
Bay Inn Tawas
#3 of 5 in Tawas City
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Oscoda Lakeside Hotel
Oscoda Lakeside Hotel
#9 of 10 in Oscoda
8 reviews
9.9 mi away
Tawas Bay Beach Resort
Tawas Bay Beach Resort
#4 of 4 in East Tawas
202 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aspen Motor Inn
Aspen Motor Inn
#8 of 10 in Oscoda
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huron House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huron House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Huron House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3124 North US-23, Oscoda, MI 48750-9587
Location: United States > Michigan > Oscoda
Amenities:
Beach Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oscoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Huron House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury accomodations for couples on Lake Huron. Large well appointed rooms with king size beds, in-room whirlpool tubs, private outdoor hot tubs, fireplaces and breakfast served to the room. Beautiful gardens, miles of sandy Lake Huron beach. Glorious Sunrises over Lake Huron. Come and experience Michigan's most romantic Bed & Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Huron House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huron House b&b
Huron House Hotel Oscoda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing