We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ruddest people and dirtest hotel i have ever been to.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oscoda - AuSable River
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Oscoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My family went to Oscoda again and didnt make reservations early enough to stay at the hotel we usally stay at so we had to stay at the americinn. From checking in to getting to our room which had someone already in it was not bad enough . When my husband went to tell the front desk person that someone was already in that room they said well i see if i can find an empty room . so off we go to the second room. Which was so smelly it smelled like rotton feet and the floor was not clean. We went back to the front desk and told them that the room was not clean. They said that is all they had and we seemed like we could not be satified so they asked us to leave. After getting our money back we called around and got a room at a hotel south of them right on the lake and had a wonderful room that was very clean. The staff at that hotel was very friendly and the beach was great. we will go back to that hotel again but never again will we go to Americinn.

Room Tip: ask to see the rooms first . it might have people in it already. Or it might smell horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank heyuguys52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinn09, Owner at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oscoda - AuSable River, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

I am very sorry to hear of your experience at our hotel. Your comments are a surprize to be because we pride ourselves on being both extremely friendly and clean. As you can see by the other reviews our guest rate us highly in both of those areas. Over the summer we have new mattresses, new linens and flat screen TVs. Again I am very sorry and believe that if you would give us another opportunity you would be pleased with our accomodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 251 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just stayed one night in a suite which was spacious and clean. Enjoyed the free internet in the room. A little off the beaten path so it was a quieter location. Close to the main road and near other restaurants if needed and the lake. Nice to have the breakfast included, too!! Much nicer than just a continental breakfast. Fresh waffles. Not a lot of room to sit and eat, but you could take it back to your room if you chose to do that. Didn't stay long enough to use the pool, but it looked like something a family would really enjoy. Would stay there again!!

Room Tip: We had a suite which was just a larger room with king size bed. Cost was reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAM48044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Rooms are very clean, bathroom is very clean, the beds are comfortable, its a nice quiet hotel, and breakfast was good...including the coffee. We had waffles, but I didnt see any sausage or eggs like they say they have. I was a little hesitant to reserve a room at this hotel based on the complaints of previous reviews saying the beds were not comfortable. But since we decided at the last minute that we wanted to go up north for the weekend, and the hotel we usually stay at in Tawas was completely booked, my husband and I decided to give it a chance. Glad we did. We had a good weekend and when I was checking out, I mentioned to the lady at the desk that we read reviews on the beds being bad, but we had slept just fine. She said they had just replaced all the beds in the hotel about a week ago, and put new flat screen tvs in the rooms. So thats why we slept so good! The only thing I didnt really like was the shower head with an aerator that sprayed a restricted amount of water. We did check out the pool and jacuzzi too. Enjoyed the jacuzzi. All in all its a very nice clean hotel. Our room had a view of the river which was nice. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Excellent accommodation. Just stayed the one night while visiting another attraction. Very personable and friendly staff. Very quiet. Very good breakfast. Didn't get a chance to use the pool but it looked inviting. Would stay there again when I am in the area. It is off the main road but the sign was visible as we went over the bridge so we had no trouble finding it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pabbwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My husband and I visited with friends in Greenbush, who recommended this motel. I was very, more than very pleased,with the King Room and the friendliness of the employees.

I especially liked the friendliness of the tame ducks and their families. What a great motel. What a great bed and what a beautiful area. I lived in Alma, MI for 42 yrs and had never been to this part of the state. What a LOSS. FR

Room Tip: Kng sized non smoking room on first floor was GREAT
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fern R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed at the AmericInn over the Memorial Day Weekend. The hotel was very easy to find. Check in was very fast and friendly. We arrived 3 hours prior to check in time and our room was ready. The lobby area was very warm and inviting, with fireplace, couches, TV , computer/printer, coffee and tea. The room was quite clean, decent sized and comfortable. Our view was the parking lot...not a big deal. We really only were in the room to sleep. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean. Very close to the AuSable River and Lake Huron beaches. The pool, sauna, hottub were very nice and open until midnight! The breakfast nook was fantastic!!! It was delicious!! Waffle maker!!! But you have to wait and fight with hungry people that take advantage of free food! They served yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal, eggs, donuts, bagels, bisquits with sausage gravy, juices, coffee, tea. Great way to start the day. Everybody that worked here was very nice and pleasant. Will absolutely return here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Persophonepb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Tucked away to Oscoda ( a great place to stay while enjoying the Great Lakes) . Excellent value, great location and a really nice staff to provide assistance and knowledge of the area. I forgot important papers and some other items while checking out, called Becky and she was kind enough to ship them to me. How is that for over the top customer service? 5 Stars. Also , nearby is Au Sable Inn, a sportsman like place for really great dining.

Room Tip: They all work fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aviationguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oscoda
2.6 mi away
Camp Inn Lodge
Camp Inn Lodge
#2 of 10 in Oscoda
93 reviews
14.5 mi away
Bay Inn Tawas
Bay Inn Tawas
#3 of 5 in Tawas City
82 reviews
11.9 mi away
Tawas Bay Beach Resort
Tawas Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in East Tawas
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aspen Motor Inn
Aspen Motor Inn
#7 of 10 in Oscoda
15 reviews
2.6 mi away
Huron House Bed and Breakfast
3.5 mi away
Gold Coast Family Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oscoda - AuSable River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oscoda - AuSable River

Address: 720 Harbor St, Oscoda, MI 48750-1115
Location: United States > Michigan > Oscoda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Oscoda
Price Range: $62 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oscoda - AuSable River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AmericInn Lodge & Suites of Oscoda: We have 47 rooms, located on the beautiful AuSable River, with a variety of room types including king, double queen, fireplace and whirlpool suites. Perfect for business or pleasure. Fishing, canoeing and kayaking at the doorstep or jump right on your snowmobile or ORV for direct access to the trails of the beautiful Huron National Forest. Turn at the yellow flasher just south of the bridge and look for us to your right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oscoda - AuSable River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge & Suites Oscoda _ Ausable River Hotel Oscoda
Americinn Lodge And Suites Oscoda _ Ausable River
Americinn Hotel Oscoda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing