We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mai Tiki Resort
Nearby Hotels
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$95
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camp Inn Lodge(Oscoda)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Internet
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
55
13
6
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
13
6
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottageslake huronel cortezbooked for next yearcondobonfireweddingcharcoaltheresa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 84 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2011

In June 2011 we had an AMAZING beach wedding at Mai Tiki. The staff there went out of their way to make our day a success. Anything that we asked for or needed, they were willing to provide. The owner was even the one to help my wife with the train on her dress before she walked down the aisle. They even lit paper lanterns to wish us luck.

We had just shy of 250 people attend and the resort was able to accommodate (even the parking). Vendors were able to access the beach with relative ease and the natural beauty of the lake served as a breath-taking backdrop. With most rooms being newly renovated with their own characteristics, most guest seemed to be very pleased. Many guests approached us and said that they plan to return to the resort for a family vacation at a later date. Ourselves, we are going to definitely plan to revisit.

Whether you are looking for a great spot to have a beach wedding or just want to go on a family vacation, I highly recommend Mai Tiki and its 500 ft sugar sand beach. Between the staff and the location, we could not ask for a better place to enjoy our special day!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rrpeter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We attended a wedding at this resort. The weather started out overcast but the wedding was beautiful. The owners did everything in their power to see that the couple had a beautiful problem free day! The beach was clean and groomed. The owners set off lanterns over the lake and had a beach bonfire going. The children that attended the wedding appeared to be having a great time running and playing on the swing set. All in all we had a fabulous time and will consider this sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flowers7273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Our experience with Mai Tiki started with a friend’s recommendation based mostly on the resort's location/lake access. We went to their website and reserved a room for a weekend (3 night) stay. Because the resort is small, we thought it a good idea to confirm the reservation via telephone. Sure enough, we discovered that, even though the reservation was complete and we had our confirmation, the cabin we reserved was already booked. Luckily, another cabin was available.

I think it's important to understand what you're getting into when staying here. Several of the cabins are in the tradition of Michigan lakeside summer vacation rentals. I guess what I'm saying is they're rough. It's clear they've been buttoned up for 8 month of the year and they're a bit musty. There are no frills; even standard items were in disrepair (broken lawn chair, sink faucet, lighting, table umbrella...etc.) There was no A/C and towels were not provided. The cabin had a fridge, range and microwave. Silverware, flatware and pans were included. Each cabin had a full size charcoal grill available.

It may be the case the resort is undergoing a slow, cabin-by-cabin renovation. Though several cabins looked just like ours, some of the others were clearly superior. We noticed updated interiors and flat screen TVs in some. I would definitely attempt to secure one of these updated models for a future visit. There's a motel style building on the property as well, but we didn't see those rooms.

Access to the beach and lake is outstanding. The cabins are oriented such that they face the lake, providing great views all day. Only a couple hundred feet of clean beach stand between your front door and the water. An evening bonfire is regular event. On Saturday night, the staff played a movie (Up!) on a large, outdoor scene for the kids. For the most part, things on the property were quiet. We met the owners/staff during our visit and found them to be very friendly.

Room Tip: Don't rely on internet booking!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FourThought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgirl1, Owner at Mai Tiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Thank you for you review! This is the way reviews should be written, articulate and honest. I happen to agree with this reviewer to a point. #17 has not been remodeled yet, just new windows and a new door. This cabin is not like the other ones that have been remodeled and some may consider this cabin in comparison to others rough. However this cabin is the exception. #11, 12 ,14 , 19, 20, 21, 22, and 23 have all been remodeled along with condo's 1-10. #"s 15, 16 and 17 have not yet been remodeled this year, they are slated for next year. Hope this helps. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

First I would like to thank Erin, Chelsea and Bruce for really making our stay just that much better. Yes, the water was beautiful and I really enjoyed being able to roll out of bed and jump in my kayak and just go. But mostly I really enjoyed being able to hangout with some friends for this birthday getaway and meet some really cool people who made this trip even better. All of the staff was really friendly and down to earth. The campfire that Bruce built at night was great and he really is such a nice guy! They even lit a chinese candle and sang happy birthday to the girls whos birthday it was. During the day Chelsea recommended the Fatboy sand pillows which was a great touch and now I recommend the to you. Mai Tiki resort is a must see, we are aleady planning our next trip there later this summer! Thank you to everyone working and interning there for making this long weekend full of good memories.

Room Tip: Stayed in Condo #7, cottages 12 and 14 are my fav
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heidimac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Had a great time. Great view. Clean cabin. Accommodating owners. Highly recommend! Much nicer than some other "resorts " in Oscoda!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmoroschan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews