We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the middle of nowhere.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ontonagon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It is right on the shores of Lake Superior. My room was clean and well kept. The food and drinks surpassed my expectations for this part of the UP of Michigan. The real plus is that it is seven miles from the most beautiful place in Michigan, Lake of the Clouds, absolutely breathtaking..

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Blakester76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverCityAmericInn, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review, we are very happy that you enjoyed yourself. We agree with the view at Lake of the Clouds, breathtaking. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
There are newer reviews for AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 398 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

This hotel is located right outside the Porcupine Mountains State Park and the Lake Superior shoreline is right outsie the door offering the most beautiful sunsets I ever seen. The rooms could use a bit of updating but quite comfortable. Breakfast is alright. Great customer service by friendly employees.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverCityAmericInn, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank You for taking the time to review us on here. I have to agree about the sunsets, breathtaking. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Everyone friendly and helpful with any questions we had about the area and the hotel. The lake view is WONDERFUL and the contanentel breakfast is outstanding we have stayed here numerous times and have never been disappointed.Just got back this weekend from there :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Candy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverCityAmericInn, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoy our area and keep coming back. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel was clean however, the bed was a hot mess! I woke up so sore I could not sleep, not so good since I have a long drive. I see that management is aware that the beds are horrible so, change them NOW, not next year. As well, I needed to call home and had no cell phone service. Had I known, I would have just stayed in Houghton and drove in the morning. The $20 and the one hour that I saved this morning was definately NOT worth it.

Room Tip: Look at the room first. Pull back the mattress pad and look for black stains in the seams. If there...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverCityAmericInn, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for your review. As you stated, yes we are aware the beds do need to be updated and we would like to do them now but next year is when they are scheduled to be replaced. I can assure you that we have never had bed bugs here. Cell service is something we cannot control but would all love to have, including us, maybe in the future we will have some.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was recommended this hotel by a friend for a quiet get away and it was perfect. Saw the fall colors and relaxed. Right on the lake with benches and tables and grills by the lake if you want.Great breakfast. Everything clean and friendly staff. Will definetly go again!

Room Tip: I only wish we would have asked for a lake view room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverCityAmericInn, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for such a wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Americinn in Silver City Mi is a very convenient and affordable lodging right outside the Porcupine Mountains State Park. We have stayed there two years in a row as the Porcupine Mountains State Park is an incredible place to visit and the Inn offers a very convenient and affordable place to stay. The rooms are clean and a good size for a couple. Comfortable and quiet. You get cable TV, free Internet, a free breakfast and the hotel has a good bar and restaurant that is attached. The staff is friendly and courteous and there is a small gift shop in the lobby.

The property is right on Lake Superior with spectacular views and places to watch the sunset. grill, etc Be advised that this is a fairly remote area and the choices for lodging and dining are limited. Even so the Americinn offers a comfortable and pleasant stay. You are not at the Ritz but you more than get your money's worth.

Ask for the rates on a suite as they are very roomy and affordable and if you stay a while you'll appreciate the room you have to spread out.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverCityAmericInn, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review so happy to hear you are enjoying the hotel and the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed at the AmericInn in Silver City, MI. Hotel is located directly on Lake Superior and offered great sunset experiences. Location to Porcupine Mtns very convenient.

Bed was VERY uncomfortable. The hotel could otherwise would be considered a great value because of its location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daytrippers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverCityAmericInn, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You will be happy to know that we are going to be updating our beds at the beginning of next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ontonagon
0.7 mi away
Mountain View Lodges
Mountain View Lodges
#1 of 6 in Ontonagon
166 reviews
10.9 mi away
Peterson's Cottages
Peterson's Cottages
#2 of 6 in Ontonagon
95 reviews
16.9 mi away
Walleye Lodge
Walleye Lodge
#1 of 2 in Bergland
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City

Address: 120 Lincoln Ave, Ontonagon, MI 49953-9681
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ontonagon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ontonagon
Price Range: $148 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge And Suites Silver City
Americinn Lodge & Suites Silver City Hotel Ontonagon
Americinn Hotel Ontonagon
Americinn Silver City Mi
Americinn Ontonagon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing