We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ontonagon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife refers to this hotel as my second home. I come every year in May, August, and often in October to do some serious geology,photography, and to see old friends---and have beeen for over twenty years, The area is a relief from the hurried and crazy larger world. The people are great. The hotel is clean, quiet, and situated on a beautiful Lake Superior Beach. If you want to get away, experience nature, and meet some great people, this is the place!


Older Explorer

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room--you will enjoy the view, the breeze, and the sound of the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 413 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

The only downside to this hotel was that it is slightly outdated. However, who cares??! It was very clean, comfortable, quiet and had a well stocked, fantastic continental breakfast. I didn't try the restaurant because we brought our own food. The location was great: 5-10 min from the Porkies.
I loved that they had a nice beach front location with plenty of seating and even fire pits if you felt like sitting around a fire on the beach.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRTravelers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed one night for a getaway. The restaurant re-opened in May and we had a good meal Fri. night. They had a prime rib special, but I had one of their house specialties- Walleye, which was delicious. My hubby had a cheese pizza. Limited selection of beers and basic salad, bread, and side veg of corn (ugh). They also have something I've never heard of a "Boston baked potato" which is basically a deep-fried baked potato, which we passed on. Continental bkfst had waffles with fruit and the usual pastries,yogurt, etc. We were in a hurry though, so couldn't check it all out. Looked very clean and lots of seating. Beats driving 10-15 min. to the nearest restaurant.

Enjoyed the steam sauna very much Nice pool & hot tub, although neither felt warm enough to me. We had our 2 small dogs with us ($20 extra per stay for dogs), so we really enjoyed the big backyard, beach, and small park next to the motel. There is an elevator as there are 3 stories. We had an AARP rate of $79.99 plus tax + $20 for the dogs, which I thought was well worth it, especially since the Porcupine Mt. State park is only 10-15 min drive to Lake of the Clouds Trailhead (a must-see). There is a park store up the road to the west that is open til 6:00 pm in summer for snacks and milk (if you get it before the many hikers!),ice cream, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a rm on the west side of the hotel & you'll likely have a partial lakeview & a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraEscanaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I was here for a conference in April. The location is perfect...Silver City is a tiny little hamlet and is very quiet, at least in April. The hotel is right on the shore of Lake Superior, and also next to the Big Iron River, where it flows into Lake Superior. Minutes away down a quiet road is Porcupine Mountains State Park. The hotel was basic...clean and comfortable with a nice lobby/sitting area. There is a gift shop and a bar that serves pizza. There are no other restaurants in town, you need to drive 5-10 min. away. The hotel breakfast was pretty standard. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vagabondmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you think there are no truly beautiful places where you can get away from the crowds - well, you are wrong. This is a clean, basic motel. However, its location is fantastic. It is located right on Lake Superior just down the road from the entrance to Porcupine Mts. It has its own little beach with a swing, and fire rings. A gorgeous place to watch the sun set over the lake, get away from the summer heat, and use as a base camp for hiking or kayaking, which is organized in the parking lot.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel was nice overall. It was really quiet considering how full it was with snowmobilers and skiers. The whirlpool hit the spot after riding snowmobile all day. The restaurant staff was great and the food was good! Breakfast was good and well stocked. My only issue was the mattress. It was a tad to firm for my likings. Beautiful views of Lake Superior. We would stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenk67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for over a decade and it is an awesome place on the shore of the most beautiful lake and sunsets in the world. We have been working in this area for many years and always look forward to the treatment we get from the staff, they are just the best. We drag in all our gear from our mining trips and make a small mess sometimes and never a complaint. Even had a flat on my trailer on one trip and Maintenance rolled a air compressor out and filled it up for me. I always get a room on the opposite side of the the parking lot, because I don't hear snowmobiles or bikes leaving. Also you can leave a window open on that side and hear the waves crashing on the beach. The staff has always gone out of their way to make sure our meals have been great and even when we arrived late we were able to get fed.
And...the coffee is the best I have ever had in a hotel, bar none. I have many stories to tell with all good experiences. Turn the sauna on early when you get there and it will cook you!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ontonagon
0.7 mi away
Mountain View Lodges
Mountain View Lodges
#1 of 6 in Ontonagon
167 reviews
16.9 mi away
Walleye Lodge
Walleye Lodge
#1 of 2 in Bergland
54 reviews
10.9 mi away
Peterson's Cottages
Peterson's Cottages
#2 of 6 in Ontonagon
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City

Address: 120 Lincoln Ave, Ontonagon, MI 49953-9681
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ontonagon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ontonagon
Price Range: $147 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge And Suites Silver City
Americinn Lodge & Suites Silver City Hotel Ontonagon
Americinn Hotel Ontonagon
Americinn Ontonagon
Americinn Silver City Mi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing