We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain View Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Yes, everybody writes reviews BUT we all have varying degrees of what is considered "great" or "acceptable" Coming from a self-professed diva (at times), Mountain View is beyond a cut above the rest- The cabins are well-appointed and "eat off the floor" clean. The owners are friendly, considerate, truly concerned about guest experience. There was nothing better thanh coming home from hikling to such a QUIET and RELAXING place. If you are seeking a relaxing place, this is it. I would highly recommend this for couples, those looking to "rock the casbah" so to speak, pitch a tent and party somewhere else - we cannot wait to get back and would never even consider staying anyplace else, I would sooner not even come to the Porkies if I could not stay at Mountain View

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank historiangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVarecha, Manager at Mountain View Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Thank you! It was great to meet you both! We are so glad that you found Mountain View Lodges to be all that you exected and more...we aim to please! We will look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Mountain View Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 166 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

Mountain View Lodges has been a special part of our family's summer going back several years. This year we stayed for a week in August and as usual we had a great time. Rick and Jeni, the owners. are so personable and welcoming. The cabins are clean, spacious, well-stocked and only steps from the beach. The setting along Lake Superior is simply awesome, with its beautiful sand beach, numerous beach swings and fire pits. We spent the days hiking in Porcupine Mountains State Park or on day trips, and nights watching the sun set and enjoying a beach fire late into the evening. In this hot, dry Midwest summer we have had this year, we really loved enjoying the cool breezes off Lake Superior! This place, in this quiet, beautiful corner of Michigan, is special and we always leave feeling rejuvenated.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisconsintraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVarecha, Owner at Mountain View Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We always enjoy seeing your family and we are so glad you enjoyed your time again this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was the first time my wife and I have been to the area and we had the time of our lifes! I don't know if we can add anything else to what they other reviewers have said. All the positive comments are TRUE! Mountain View Lodge is a perfect location for your "Yooper" vacation. The cabins are great! My wife and I have been to many park lodgings all over the country, and we would consider them TOPS!
The owners, Rick and Jen, were very responsive to our needs. We broke a glass in the cabin, and almost lost their kayak to Lake Superior, but they were totally cool about it. They left us alone to do our own thing when we needed to, but were always there for conversation or help whenever.
Also, Rick and Jen are talented artists in their own right, as we left with one of Rick's handmade benches and a carved wooden pumpkin.
If you are considering this area for a vacation, Mountain View Lodges should be your #1 choice for lodging.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garrett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVarecha, Owner at Mountain View Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

It was great meeting you both and we are so glad that nothing and no one was lost to Lake Superior! So, we are pleased that you had the time of your lives and we are thankful we could be a part of that. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I just returned from a tour of the western half of Michigan's Upper Penninsula.
We stayed 3 nights at the Mountain View Lodge, and I would recommend it to anyone. Great location for visiting the Porcupine Mountains or just laying on the beach - enjoying Lake Superior. The owners and wonderfull and very organized. They seem to have anticipated every question you could ask before you asked it. They provide dus with great recommendations of what to do around town and where to eat. I hope to get back next year and bring a few more people!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhenCanWeLeave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVarecha, Owner at Mountain View Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed you trip to our little corner of the world. And now you are hooked and know that three nights just isn't enough time...the draw of Lake Superior will be forever calling. Looking forward to seeing you on the next trip UP.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our family of four stayed here in July 2012. The grounds and buildings are very attractive and well-kept. The units are all so close to the beach, which was wonderfully clean. Provided on the beach are bench seats/swings and fire pits - so nice for watching the sunset! Also provided by MVL are kayaks and life vests which can be signed out - these were so much fun to use!! The cabin had everything we needed for making dinner and was like a home away from home. Very nearby is Porcupine Mtn State Park. If you like woodland hiking you are in for a real treat here. We would love to come back to Lake Superior and MVL. In the meantime, we'll just have to remember our great experience with the trio of carved trees we bought at the nice gift shop in the manager's office.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueFromBroomfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVarecha, Owner at Mountain View Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Glad you were able to take a little bit of our "forest" home with you. We will look forward to seeing you on your next trek to the Porcupine Mountains!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

MVL was everything you need on a 'quiet' vacation, Rick helped us out anytime we needed it.

We will come back again and stay longer.

Clean, quite, relaxing, safe, everything you need when you need to get away.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVarecha, Owner at Mountain View Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

We are so glad you found everything you "needed" for a relaxing vacation. We are always pleased to hear that our guests enjoy this little slice of paradise away from the daily grind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

If you are looking for a sandy beach, beautiful waters, very clean cabins, up to date cabins, friendly people, secure, quiet within reason, the grounds are very well kept, a verity of places to visit and most of all wonderful Owners always ready to make things comfortable then this is the place. This was our first visit to the Mountain View Lodges which lasted a week. Fantastic experience and absolutelu no complanits. The Owners are certainly sculptures in a verity of aspects. I even purchased a standup bear amoung other things that the Owner curved with a chainsaw. It is certainly a must see visit again. We enjoyed our stay in every way. Ken & Rita

Room Tip: All cabins are situated perfectly for privacy. Most of the cabins have a front row seat when viewin...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spensters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVarecha, Owner at Mountain View Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

It was a pleasure meeting you both. We are glad that yogi and the forest have found their home with you. We will be looking forward to meeting more of your family in July 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ontonagon
0.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City
11.6 mi away
Peterson's Cottages
Peterson's Cottages
#2 of 6 in Ontonagon
95 reviews
16.6 mi away
Walleye Lodge
Walleye Lodge
#1 of 2 in Bergland
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Lodges

Address: 34042 107th Engineers Memorial Hwy, Silver City, Ontonagon, MI 49953-9085
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ontonagon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Ontonagon
Price Range: $315 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, fully equipped, condo style cabins right on the sandy shore of Lake Superior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mountain View Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing