We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good breakfast”
Review of Syl's Cafe

Syl's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Ontonagon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Midland, michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Good breakfast great apple fritters. Great service. Even the oatmeal was good but could have been thicker.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    76
    23
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worth a stop while in Ontonagon”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Good food. Efficient service. We stop every time while in the area for good burgers, pastys, homemade shakes, pies. All the comfort food you could ever want, Syl's has. Breakfast all day too. Great place for lunch after a morning hike in the Porkies. Bring home a few pastys for dinner later on.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BlondieTTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“great vacation food”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

While hiking Porcupine Mountain State Park, we drove back to Ontonagon to have lunch here almost every day of our vacation. Good service and really good food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMoon5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Is a 5 if you compare it to the other restaurants in town.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

It is a dated old restaurant but the service is fairly prompt, they have an okay selectio. Compared to ther metro restaurants the food is not great, but this is the best place to eat in Ontonagon. The baked goods are slightly dry, but I would give it a try if you are in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
425 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“If you love to eat Pastys, this is the place!!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Did my annual swim in the Big Pond and was hungry afterwards. When I filled up with gas, I asked where to get a nice Pasty and Syl's was recommended. I was huge and wonderful!! Had a side of slaw washed down by ice tea. Waitress was overworked but very efficient and helpful. I'd go back in a minute. BTW, the crust was just superb!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TLV007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Syl's Cafe also viewed

Ontonagon, Upper Peninsula
 
Ontonagon, Upper Peninsula
Ontonagon, Upper Peninsula
 
Ontonagon, Upper Peninsula
Ontonagon, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Syl's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing