We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable, relaxing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Peterson's Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
New Lisbon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable, relaxing stay!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights here in cabin #8 "Spruce Valley" which is located directly across the driveway from the main office. As most will tell you, Wendy is the person that you will more than likely make your reservation's with and she will also be the one to greet you and get you checked in. Wendy's husband Chuck for the most part plays a supportive role taking care of miscellaneous daily tasks that would otherwise probably overwhelm Wendy. We found both of these folks very accommodating and more than willing to ensure you enjoyed your stay.

THE CABIN: Wow! Small cabin, but very nicely decorated. It had a very comfortable relaxing air to it. We soon realized that we had over-packed as just about everything you would need is provided, including dishes, silverware and even some pots and pans. The cabin was furnished with a stove, refrigerator, microwave oven, full size coffee maker, television (with cable), Wi-Fi, and air conditioning. It consisted of three rooms; the kitchenette and living area were combined in one room, a bedroom, and a full size bathroom with tub & shower. The bed was absolutely amazing. While it took up most of the space in the bedroom the headboard sat just below a sliding window which was easy to close at night if you got too chilly. It was one of the most comfortable beds my wife and I had slept in, in quite some time!

THE GROUNDS: All the cabins sit nestled in the tree's and harmonize well with nature. We did not see any trash, uncut grass, or unsightly brush or overgrowth. Chuck and Wendy keep up with this very well, justifiably so as it's a great breeding ground for biting insects. Still we were occasionally visited by one of these pests, but not near to the degree one would expect in a wooded area like this, especially around sunset.

THE BEACH: From our cabin to the beach was a bit of a walk, perhaps the equivalent distance of two average size city blocks, but it's an easy walk UNTIL you get close to the beach. Within about 70 or so feet of the beach is a pathway that is almost like quicksand, it's very difficult to walk in, thankfully though, it's a short walk. The beach itself is fantastic! Very clean and set up with two fire pits and some lawn chairs/recliners (if you didn't bring your own). The beach is almost entirely all fine sand until you get right up to the water. At the edge of the water is a band of small rocks of all colors and shapes that make for a nice hunting ground for Agates. The sunsets here are exceptional. We were lucky to have clear skies on both nights we stayed.

ACTIVITIES: If you want to do more than just sit on the beach soaking up the sun, you can always check out a Paddle boat, Canoe, Kayak or Tubes. They are provided at no extra charge. All that they ask is that you return every hour and a half to see if someone else would like a turn with what-ever you checked out. There is also a small playground for children located about center of the resort. You can cook out here too with the Weber grill provided with each cabin and if you forgot your charcoal or lighter fluid, they have some available for a small charge.

THE RULES: It would seem upfront that Wendy does have a lot of rules, and I can understand where some people might find this a bit intimidating, but the bottom line is that they are all based on common sense and respect. Respect not just for the Peterson's property, but for others around you and those that would like to enjoy themselves AFTER you leave. If you leave the place in a shambles then you deserve to be charged extra, for you have just set the clock back for the next incoming guest while Wendy and her husband clean up or fix your mess. RELAX, the rules are there to protect you too. Exercise some common sense & consideration for others and you will not have a problem.

FINAL THOUGHTS: My wife and I got to see first hand a day in the lives of Wendy & Chuck. Running a resort is no easy proposition. They were both constantly on the move. Wendy in particular was like the "Energizer Bunny", she rarely stopped moving. When she did though, she shared some of her time with us and we found her to be a very pleasant, caring person with a very good sense of humor. We will definitely return next year, we very much enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    11
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
37
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owosso, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed four nights at Peterson's cottages and found it very comfortable and relaxing. It was great to come back and unwind after a day of hiking in the Porkies. The first day we arrived, Wendy showed us all of the features of the cottage and was very helpful. The cottage was clean and cozy. We did not use the beach much, but it is beautiful white sand. If we are ever in the area again, we would definitely stay here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sloopytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We only spent one night but it was a very nice clean and comfortable cabin. The cabins have everything you would want or need. There is even a Laundromat on the property, boats to use, and games for the family at the office. John and Chris

Room Tip: Each cabin is different so view as many as you can before you choose. Eat at Syl's, great food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We were camping until the weather turned cold and wet and we needed a place indoors. We were so pleased to find Peterson's Cottages! Each one is unique and ours was charming. Having a clean, pleasant, warm place to stay was a life saver for our vacation. We loved having a refrigerator and a stove with an oven. A previous reviewer complained about lots of little rules, but we did not find the rules to be much different than for other cabins we have stayed in. We swept up and washed dishes before we left.

The cabins are located conveniently between Porcupine Wilderness Area and Ontonagon where we purchased groceries. It's on the lake, and it was a fairly short walk from our cabin down to the beach. It's back a block or so from the highway so it's quiet. All in all, a very nice stay and we would most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We took the littlest cabin because there are just two of us and we don't need so much space. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negaunee, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We paid for 2 nights $310 at Petersons and ended up staying for 1 because the beds were like sleeping on picnic tables...and we feared breaking one of the ladies many rules..and facing even more expense...If you stay here you will find lists of things that need to be done and list's of things that you can't do...Must sweep ,mop and scrub everything before departure or face a $50 fine for each violation..and make sure all garbage is removed along with hand drying tub,shower,dishes,and counters...If they have to clean anything you will be charged !!! Make sure fridge is set at 3 and heat is set at 50 or else!!, fold all blankets and place neatly on bed! and pay us $155 dollars per night to boot!!!!...oh and if you want coffee she will charge you...you would think they could at least cover that in the extreme price they charge....very bad!!! Felt scared too move in fear of wasting my vacation on cleaning their cabins....Exactly what did we pay for?????

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We just had a mini-getaway of 5 sisters and our spouses. We all rented our own cabins at Petersons. From the beginning to end we had excellent service from Wendy and Chuck. We arrived on Thursday afternoon and left on Sunday morning. The set up of the resort was nice, all cabins were close so traveling from sister to sister was easy for visiting!The walk to the lake was nice and the lake was of course beautiful. We enjoyed our day in the Porcupine Mountains and spent a few hours in town shopping. Wendy was very helpful to our family and very accommodating to us Saturday night. Every family get together we have a community meal. There were 10 of us so we needed space to grill out and eat together and Wendy set up the pavilion for us. It was a vacation that gave us many wonderful memories. My spouse, my daughter and myself will be going back to Petersons for a winter weekend in the snow! We loved Petersons! Thanks for the memories!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelizak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at the Peterson Cottage Cabin #2 and loved it! We walked the beach and enjoyed cooking in the cute kitchen. Wendy and Chuck were gracious hosts and we have connected since we stayed (I forgot something!) and Wendy is so accommodating. Dave and Sue from Rice Lake, WI.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hildes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peterson's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peterson's Cottages

Property: Peterson's Cottages
Address: 22608 Lakeshore Rd, Ontonagon, MI 49953-9005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ontonagon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Ontonagon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Peterson's Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing