We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite places”

Porcupine Mountains Wilderness State Park
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Ontonagon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Consists of 60,000 acres of lakes, forests and rivers.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
“One of my favorite places”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Grew up in the area and love coming back. Must be on everyone's bucket list more than once. Visiting the Porkies in the fall is the best. Many trails to take which can take on short and long term adventures. Some weekends the chair lift is open on the ski hill and you can ride up and see for miles. Easy to get to.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vperr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    62
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Breath-taking views”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was one of our color tour stops. We were traveling with our dog so we didn't walk any trails but we did drive up to Lake of the Clouds. The view was awesome. The color of the trees were perfect. The vastness of the land and lake was endless. Truely a sight to see!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Doubrava1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“wonderful day!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

If you only have one full day, I suggest taking the drive to the Lake of the Clouds lookout area which is breathtaking. Only a 10 minute walk from the parking area to the overlooks.

Afterwards, drive about 25 miles down South Boundary Rd to the 3 magical waterfalls at the western end of the park. Just 10 or 15 minutes walking will get you from the parking area to the two most spectacular of the falls by the river.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank trekkerman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Few great hiking trails, but camping leaves something to be desired.”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Some friends and I traveled to Porcupine in August in hopes of a get-away from the city. Upon seeing our campsite at Union Bay we quickly changed our site since we wanted to feel like we were in the wilderness not in a neighborhood of RVs. The Park Ranger was nice and found a more remote site for us. We camped at Union River outpost campground which is a rustic campground, where there were only 3 campsites, so it was nice and quite. At the site there was no access to water, the site had a picnic table and fire ring, but no grill grate and outhouse. When we arrived we instantly noticed the mosquitos surrounding use and boy were they huge. After we set up our tents we went for a short hike on the Union Spring trail which was nice. Cooking dinner was a challenge as the mosquito to human ratio quickly surpassed us but we toughed it out.

The next day we check out Lake of the Clouds Scenic area which had a beautiful lookout. Then we headed to Preque Isle, which is really what makes this place worth a visit. There's water falls, rocks to climb on, a beach area and wooded areas to hike about. The bugs were not bad in this area either. I could of spent our whole trip here in this area. After those hikes we had a very late lunch over by the Union Bay picnic area and we noticed the mosquitos were not a problem, which led us to believe we could do a late dinner in this area. We hung out on the beach the rest of the afternoon skipping stones, relaxing and tossing a frisbee. When dinner time came we discover the mosquitos were still present in this area and they drove us out and we ended up skipping dinner. After this experience we realized why so many people camp in RVs and learned we have to cook before the sun goes down if we don't want to get attacked.

Our last day there we planned much better since we packed our lunches to eat on the trails and planned to start cooking before it got dark. We hiked the Summit Peak trail area. This area the mosquitos were attacking my friends. They ended up running over a mile to get out of the trail.

We learned a few camping lessons on this trip. Our only complaint was the bugs, really everything else we could deal with. If you need gas go into Ontonagon, don't bother looking in the other towns. Also bring lots of bug spray!! Be aware of the cost too...if you've camped on the west coast it cost more in the midwest for some unknown reason.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Alisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Forest & Views”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great place to hike in the mountains. "The Porkies" are not as high as the Rockies, but they provide great views of old forest. Lot's of waterfalls and Lake Superior shorelines. Lake of the Clouds is a must see if you're in the U.P.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porcupine Mountains Wilderness State Park also viewed

Ontonagon, Upper Peninsula
Ontonagon, Upper Peninsula
 
Ontonagon, Upper Peninsula
Ontonagon, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Porcupine Mountains Wilderness State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing