We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small town bar atmosphere but food was sub-par”
Review of Roxey's

Roxey's
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Ontonagon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
509 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Small town bar atmosphere but food was sub-par”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The place was recommended to us by the proprietor of the little motel we were staying at. The place had a few people in it (mostly locals) which is usually a good sign, but the service was slow since there was only one person in the place working. She was the bartender, waitress and cook all in one. Unfortunately she did not pay attention to the burgers which came highly recommended and they were badly overdone. That spoiled the dinner for us. On a good note, the prices are cheap and the beer selections were pretty good.

I would be willing to try the place again if we ever return to this out of the way place near the Porcupine Mountain State Park, but would want to see different or more wait staff in view.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BHartMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    29
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Volcano, California
Level Contributor
334 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“My kinda place”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had lunch at Roxey's on a Thursday - it was very quiet, and the whole operation (bar and kitchen and waiting tables) was handled nicely by one woman. It is an old-time tavern, with a long bar and a scattering of tables. My wife's ham-and-cheese sandwich was thick and good, as was my grilled cheese, and the fries (freshly cooked for us) were too hot to eat when served. Two sandwiches, to glasses of wine and a side of fries - all for $17. Good service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rwwaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“roxy burgers”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Arrived late in the UP after a long days drive The proprietor at the Sunshine Motel suggested that we go into town and eat at Roxeys...It was late and nothing else appeared open... We did and the place was quite,but the food was great I suggest if you are looking for a great affoedable burger and beer head on over !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Himnme07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Roxey's Bar: A Place Where the Locals Go”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Roxey's is located downtown Ontonagon, and is definitely a place where locals hang out. Fish fry Friday smelled great with excellent prices for food, we were hungry for burgers and were not disappointed. Fully stocked bar. Excellent food. Hole-in-the-wall type bar, but everything was clean and service was great. The only recommendation I can add is for them to add some music.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MemberP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Late night supper fav”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was the only place in town to get supper after 9pm - good thing, or we may have missed it! Homemade soup...in a bar...Perfect! The burgers were yummy, soup wonderful...even wings and $1 Hamms. Not many people there on a Tuesday night, but I imagine the weekends are busy. Great, friendly service and definitely a small town bar atmosphere - that's what we like.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PickyMidwestMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roxey's also viewed

Ontonagon, Upper Peninsula
 
Ontonagon, Upper Peninsula
Ontonagon, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Roxey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing