We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting right on Lake Superior!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ontonagon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Superior Shores Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ontonagon
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting right on Lake Superior!”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

If you like old Ma and Pa type lodging, then this is the place for you! The owners are very friendly and the cottage with kitchen and loft bedroom we stayed in was cute. It is old and not at all fancy, but we loved that about the place. The beach is literally just outside the cottage and we enjoyed campfires on the shore every night. If you want to be totally alone, you will not like this resort---neighbors are very close and we shared our campfires with other guests. We loved getting to know the other guests. Pets are welcome too and our dog loved playing on the beach. Not fancy, just cute, old and the beatiful lake and sunsets!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pipcarolinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    32
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
28
36
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This is where I wish I could stay forever! So relaxing and so beautiful. We were there for an extended stay and saw multiple faces of the Lake. Clean and quiet, comfortable. Friendly and helpful hosts. Porcupine Mountains Park is a short distance away and has a lot to offer to Nature lovers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LakeSuperi0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Stayed here September 13-14. It was one of the most relaxing places I've stayed. The rooms were very clean and quiet, except for the waves. Had a fridge and microwave and dog. Very comfortable place to be.

Room Tip: Lake view is great. I was in #7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Get into last-century -- way-last-century -- mindset and spend a night at Superior Shores. It was one of the most enjoyable evenings of our UP road trip.

Our stay had an inauspicious beginning, as there was a plumbing problem in the motel building and we had no water. It was the perfect time to explore the beach. The repair was finished shortly after our return (with no need for the emergency bucket of water Linda provided at my request, just in case).

The two rooms in our unit are connected via the bathroom, and travel between them required a jog around the toilet or a trip outside through one door and in through the door in the other room, and we had some suspicions about the dark tweed upholstery on the pull-out sofa. And sure, the screens don't fit tightly on the old windows and the ceilings are low and the furniture basic at best, but it was the authentic atmosphere we expected.

Its beauty is the view and sound of Lake Superior just steps away. In the evening all the guests brought out their drinks and dogs and cameras, and pulled up chairs for the sunset show over the water. Some of us lingered to watch the constellations come out in the black, up-north sky.

The resort has wi-fi but the signal was never strong enough for us to get connected, and there was no AT&T cell service.

Don was enthusiastic about promoting the attractions in the area, and at his urging we altered our travel route the next day to visit impressive Bond Falls, and we're grateful to him for the tip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mannekb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed in the Lake Cottage and the only reason I didn't give it five stars is that the cottage is in the process of being renovated, so it's part new and fresh and part old and tired, but still quite comfortable. Linda, the host, was very friendly and helpful, with lots of reference books and advice on the best hikes in the Porkies, which local restaurants and when they had specials. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EarthmanByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farwell, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We found this resort online and made reservations for 3 nights just going by reviews and the pics we saw online. Our vacation ended up being during a week when heat records were being broken all over the US. We were worried that we probably wouldn't have air conditioning. The room normally doesn't have AC but they had brought in a portable unit and our room was already cooling when we checked in! We had been traveling on a motorcycle and were so thankful for the cool room! The owners were so hospitable and helpful. They gave us directions and information on the different hiking trails etc., The beach area and sunsets were beautiful! I found several agates just walking along the beach. It was a great vacation despite the record heat and we look forward to returning to Superior Shores in the future. Lee and Kathy

Room Tip: We had the small one bed unit which was perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leeka73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Great place to relax, unplug and reconnect. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Hosts Don and Linda are wonderful. State park amazing for hiking. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn29297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ontonagon hotels
5.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver City
6.0 mi away
Peterson's Cottages
Peterson's Cottages
#2 of 6 in Ontonagon
88 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mountain View Lodges
Mountain View Lodges
#1 of 6 in Ontonagon
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Superior Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superior Shores Resort

Property: Superior Shores Resort
Address: 26156 Highway 64, Ontonagon, MI
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ontonagon
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ontonagon
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing