We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 4 Week End”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Onekama
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The room was clean and the shower was excellent. They had a breakfast for us in the morning. We greatly enjoyed the Manistee area. Had a very nice dinner outside along the River Walk.

House Keeping helped keep the vacation enjoyable. They went over and beyond.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwandfriends, Owner at Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

We are very glad you were happy with their room and our area. Manistee County is a beautiful area. We look forward to having you come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 46 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

I chose this Motel because of its location right on Hwy 31. Easy access to the sand dunes and riding up the Leelanau Peninsula. The room was clean and the shower was excellent. They had a breakfast for us in the morning and if they had a little more I would have rated 5 stars. All in all not a bad place at all to hang your hat for a couple days.......The pool was very nice also.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonaldandMarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwandfriends, Owner at Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

We are glad you were happy with your room. Hopefully the weather was good for the rest of your trip. We look forward to having you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel has been a part of our annual vacation for nearly 10 years now! We always rent the corner room to accommodate our massive family, and Barb and Jerry are a part of the family too! Exceptional service, comfortable beds. I love the pool, the little playground and the putt-putt. This place is a real home-away-from-home and I regret the years my kids force me to camp because I miss out on the Alpine!

Room Tip: The corner room is huge and has four beds, great for big families, and could easilly fit a full-size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AGwaltney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwandfriends, Owner at Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

That room is very popular. It seems that everyone staying there has a good time. We like to treat our guests as family. It's unbelievable how many of our guests come back year after year. That is what makes our job fun. I hope you are pleased with the room this year. It has been completely redecorated. Thank you and we look forward to having your group again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My colleagues and I have stayed at this motel several times for business. For those looking for a very clean and comfortable room..with a very pleasant host (Barb and Jerry).. in the Manistee area this is the place to be. The rooms are no frills, but the bed is comfortable and the room is spacious. There is a in-room coffee maker, and for the ladies, no hair dryer.. ( I packed mine this time).

While I have stayed here for work...There is a outdoor pool, and it looked very clean to me, though I didn't get the time to use it...and a mini-mini putt-putt... several BBG grills and picnic tables.. looks like a good place for a family to spend a few days.. grill and chill and enjoy Manistee.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank verandagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwandfriends, Owner at Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Since we own and live at the Alpine Motor Lodge ourselves, we are very conscious about the condition of our rooms. We do have hair dryers in the office any time you need one. You are right, we are geared toward families. We have a playground, pool, small mini golf and plenty of room to play. (You'd be surprised at how many adults play the mini golf!) Thank you for the great review. We do appreciate it and please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

It was absolutely horrible that we could only stay a couple nights. Had to return to work. Service was great. Price was reasonable. Close to SBD which was our main reason for the trip. Only complaint I had was I didn't notice the biscuits and gravy till the second morning. If you've coming from the north watch closely for the drive. It's not hard to pass.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwandfriends, Owner at Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

We are glad you were happy with your stay. Returning to work is always a problem isn't it? We do try to have a 'special' item on the breakfast every weekend. You just never know what it will be. Hopefully you enjoyed your trip to Sleeping Bear Dunes. It really is one of the most beautiful places on earth. We'd love to have you back again, and plan on staying longer next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We look forward to the Sleighbell Victorian Christmas weekend in Manistee Michigan because that is the time of year when our family and friends gather at the Alpine Lodge for the first
full weekend in Dec. The Lodge Is the perfect place to stay. The owners are awesome people that make you feel right at home.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busia_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwandfriends, Owner at Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you. We love having your group here. I'm sorry we didn't have snow while you were here. It started snowing after you left and hasn't stopped yet!! Merry Christmas to you and yours. We hope to see you all again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have the opportunity to stay at the Alpine Motor Lodge a few times a year. We like the facility and use is as our base for the annual weekends of fishing in the Onekma & Brethren, Michigan area every summer and fall. The rooms are clean, have AC & a televisions. Yes the rooms may be a little dated but the affordable rates & friendly staff and service more that make up for it. If you are looking for something upscale there are lots of private lodges & lake homes available in the area for $200 to $400 a night. Jerry and Sandy are great owners & even have a freezer you can put your "catch of the Day" in til you are ready to return home. We had never fished on the rivers in the area and were new to salmon fishing and they put us in touch with Rob McMurray Fish of A Lifetime Guide Services. (248) 930-2 8 1 7 Great Guide & Great Experience http://www.fishofalifetimeadventures.com or https://www.facebook.com/rob.mcmurray.77/about Great place will will continue to stay at!!!! Thanks Jerry & Sandy!!! PS: Andy's Tackle Box in Brethren is a must see too. They have a fish cleaning service & the Hog Wild BBQ Stand is the best!

Room Tip: They have rooms that sleep up to 8 people so it depends what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roccavivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwandfriends, Owner at Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thanks for the great review. We are so glad you had a good time. We enjoy getting to know our guests and quite often they turn into friends for a lifetime! (There is no Sandy here, I assume you meant Barb.) Glad the fishing worked out for you. Make sure you send me pictures, I will post them on our wall and/or our website. Andy's does a great job cleaning fish (much better than doing it yourself). We look forward to seeing you again. Barb & Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onekama
9.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee
11.8 mi away
Days Inn Manistee
Days Inn Manistee
#4 of 10 in Manistee
623 reviews
19.5 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
171 reviews
13.9 mi away
Crystal Mountain
Crystal Mountain
#1 of 1 in Thompsonville
752 reviews
10.3 mi away
Super 8 Manistee
Super 8 Manistee
#1 of 10 in Manistee
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host

Address: 8127 Chippewa Hwy, PO Box 366, Onekama, MI 49614-9451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Manistee County > Onekama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Onekama
Price Range: $92 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love to have you at the Inn at the Alpine (Formerly the Alpine Motor Lodge) just north of Manistee on US-31 and one mile east of Onekama and Portage Lake. Located in the country, our all ground-floor property has 25 spacious air-conditioned rooms with at-your-door parking, queen beds, in-room coffee and refrigerators. Bring your toys: we have plenty of free parking! We can create a package for you with golf or charter fishing, or you can relax with our playground, outside pool, picnic tables and grills, and our very own little miniature golf course all available for your use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing